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Mon 
19th 
N-S   
1st
Bill/Dave
56%

2nd
Alex/Thorlief
55% 




E-W  
1st
Clive/Terry
61%

2nd
Philip/Tomas
59%
Wed  
21st  

1st 
Clive/Gerry
67%

2nd 
Chuck/Terry
65%
Fri  23rd  Individual
1st 
Jeff
69%

2nd
Jan
66%

Contacting Others

It has been suggested that I compile a list of member’s/guest’s telephone/e-mail details. Now I do have most of them in my little book, but it’s not available to everyone all the time! So I have now included a page on our website. When you open the main page, click on ‘contact us’ and then at the very bottom of that page you’ll see a ‘contact members’ link. When you click that you’ll be asked for a password. At the moment it contains just ½ a dozen or so entries), if you would like your details included then give them or e-mail them to me (if I don’t already have them) and I’ll include them and tell/e-mail you the password.
Editorial 

Most players in the club play a strong NT and I recommend that people playing a weak NT either announce the range or else fill in a convention card. I had to adjust one board on Wednesday when the opponents felt that they were damaged by not knowing that the opposition played a weak NT (I gave them an average). It did not affect the outcome of 1st or 2nd place and I let the original score by the ‘offenders’ stand. I suggest that everybody announces the range when partner opens 1NT, whatever it is. I believe that that is the current WBF policy.
The club championship race is hotting up, with Clive charging up the rankings with a few good results. He has now overtaken Ken and leads the Silver Plate (best 10 results) but has some way to go before catching Bob, Dave or Chuck.
Bidding Quiz
     
Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated

Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A RHO opens 1(, what do you do?
( KJ93
( AJ64
With Hand B what do you do if RHO:


( J108
( KQ84
(a) opens 1(?

( J92
( 10
(b) opens 1(?


( A43

( A1054

Hand C
Hand D
With Hand C RHO opens 1(, what do you do?

( QJ83
( A64
( A97
( Q764
With Hand D partner opens 1( and RHO overcalls 1(, 
( K74
( KQ109
what do you do?
( Q95

( 107
Don’t Pre-empt then bid again!
Board 22 from Monday 19th   
I say the same things week after week, but who listens? …..

Dealer:
( 1052


East
( 10742
West

North
East(me)
South

E-W vul   
( A102
-


-


pass

2(
(1)


( K97
dbl


3(

dbl
(2)
pass




4(

(3)
pass

4(
(4)
4(

(5)

( K7
 
N
( 8
pass

pass

dbl
(6)

all pass

( AQ63
  W    E
( K98


( J
S
( KQ843


( AJ10653

( Q842



( AQJ9643





( J5



( 9765
 





( -

(1) Obviously South should open 3(, some may even try 4(.

(2) This is for take – out and generally denies 4 (’s (with 4 (’s, East would bid them).

(3) West is quite happy to show his ( suit.

(4) And this 4( bid tells West that it’s a Moysian ( fit, so choose between 4( and 5(.

(5) What West would have done we will never know – because South broke the golden rule – bidding again having pre-empted. And, what’s more, by doing it so late in the auction E-W have had loads of space to gauge what’s going on.

(6) And East happily doubled – the Moysian fit in (’s was dodgy and the 5 level (5() may well be too high.

And what happened? 4( doubled went two down for a joint top to E-W. 5( was bid and went one down at two other tables. Nobody rested in 4( - I suspect that it would have gone down. 

The bottom lines: -

· Pre-empt to the limit first go.

· Do not bid again having pre-empted. 

Don’t Double with flat hands – part 1
Board 6 from Monday 19th   
I say the same things week after week, but who listens? …..

N-S got a poor score here, who would you blame?

Dealer:
( Q10862


East
( K62
West

North
East(me)
South(A)
E-W vul   
( 107
-


-


1(

dbl
(1)


( Q92
redbl
(2)
1(

pass
(3)
pass




2(

(4)
pass

2(
(5)
2(

(6)

( 4
 
N
( A75
3(
(7)
3(
(8)
dbl
(9)

all pass

( 4
  W    E
( AQ9753


( AK8543
S
( Q6


( K10865

( J7



( KJ93





( J108



( J92
 





( A43

(1) What did you bid with this South hand A in this week’s quiz? I hope you passed – this is a very poor double. Now South later explained to me that they had agreed to double 1( when holding 4 (’s. Maybe they had mis-understood something that I have frequently said – that you should normally have 4 (’s for a double of 1(. But the reverse is not true! I most certainly do not say that you should double 1( simply because you have 4 (’s – you need to be short in (’s (i.e. playable in all other 3 suits) if not very strong. This flat hand is not the correct shape (and is too weak) for a double.

(2) Redouble shows 10+ points and generally a mis-fit for partner and an ability to penalise at least two of their suits.

(3) East cannot punish (’s and so passes in case partner can. This is a forcing pass.
(4) But West does not have (’s either and so correctly bids his (’s.

(5) And East obviously shows his 6 card ( suit.

(6) Unwise

(7) West shows his shape.

(8) And with 5 (’s North feels happy bidding 3(.

(9) East knows it’s a mis-fit and feels that he has enough defence to double 3(.

And what happened? 3( doubled went four down for a complete top (800) to E-W. 

The bottom lines: -

· Do not double with flat hands unless very strong.

· A take-out double should be playable in the other 3 suits. 

Don’t Double with flat hands – part 2
Board 8 from Monday 19th   
I say the same things week after week, but who listens? …..

The same N-S got a poor score here just two boards later, who would you blame?

Dealer:
( QJ83


West
( A97
West

North(C)
East(me)
South

Love all   
( K74
1(
(1)
dbl
(2)
3(
(3)
3(
(4)


( Q95
all pass


( AK94
 
N
( 752


( Q103
  W    E
( 852


( A1093
S
( J862


( A6

( J73



( 106





( KJ64



( Q5
 





( K10842
(1) E-W were playing a weak NT and so West opened 1(
(2) What did you bid with this North hand C in this week’s quiz? I hope you passed – this is a very poor double. 
(3) Pre-emptive! I guess that East had gauged the ability of N-S in competitive situations and decided to put them to the test?

(4) Very reasonable, if partner had had his bid.

And what happened? 3( went one down for a top to E-W. 

The bottom lines: -

· Do not double with flat hands unless very strong.

· A take-out double should be playable in the other 3 suits. 

· A jump in partner’s suit after a double is pre-emptive (although some may prefer something a little better or more (’s than this actual East hand).

Now N-S were at each other’s throats throughout the session and I understand that they do not wish to partner each other in future. The problem is, who in the club is going to partner anybody who repeatedly doubles with miserable flat hands as both of these two do?
Don’t Double with the wrong shape
Board 16 from Friday 23rd   
Dealer:
( AJ64


West
( KQ84
West

North(B)
East
South

E-W vul   
( 10
1(


dbl
(1)

pass
(2)
2(

( A1054
dbl


2NT
(3)
pass

pass
(4)



pass



( K8752
 
N
( 10


( 2
  W    E
( A107653


( AKJ86
S
( 4


( Q8

( K7632



( Q93





( J9



( Q97532
 





( J9
(1) What did you bid with this North hand B(b) in this week’s quiz? I hope you passed – this is a very poor double. You have no sensible action after partner responds with the all-too-likely 2(.

(2) I would bid 2(. A two-level bid is weakish, generally 6 cards, and non-forcing after a double.

(3) Anyone who regularly reads the news sheets or has attended any of the bidding lessons knows that if you double and then bid NT, that shows a hand that was too strong for an initial 1NT overcall – so 19+ points.

(4) And so I would have bid 3NT if I were South.

And what happened? 2NT made exactly for an average board. Luckily North was not playing with me or he would have been in 3NT.
The bottom lines: -

· If you double and then bid NT then that shows a very strong (19+) hand.

· A take-out double should be playable in the other 3 suits (not the suit opened!). 

Bidding the opponent’s suit

Board 17  from Wednesday 21st  
A cue bid of the opponent’s suit may mean many things and is often asking for a stop for NT purposes. However, when partner overcalls in a major suit then a cue bid by you may have a different meaning. Here is a sequence by Chuck and myself from Wednesday: -

Dealer:
( KQJ94


North
( 52
West

North
East
South

Love all   
( AJ87
(me)





(Chuck)


( K7
-



1(

2(

pass




2(

(1)
dbl
(2)
pass
(3)
pass
( 2
 
N
( A753
3(
(4)
pass

3(
(5)

all pass

( K86
  W    E
( AQJ93


( KQ65
S
( 103


( QJ1064

( 53



( 1086





( 1074



( 942
 





( A982

(1)
Chuck and I have agreed that a cue bid in this situation shows a limit raise or better (a direct 3( bid is thus pre-emptive).
(2)
North wants a ( lead if he ends up defending.
(3)
East could bid 3( here to show no more than a minimal two-level overcall.

(4)
With a really good raise to 3( West made another try. This had not been discussed but is best played as a help-suit game try (or else a cue bid if West bids on over a 3( bid from partner).

(5)
And East has a minimum with nothing in (’s and so correctly signs off.

And what happened? 3( is an excellent contract and actually made +1 for a top. One other pair was in 3( making for a good score and at the other tables N-S played in (’s for good scores their way.

The bottom lines: -

· A cue bid of the opponent’s suit can mean different things in different situations.

A 50% chance is 100% better than a 0% chance


Board 20  from Friday 23rd 

Dealer:
( J108762


West
( 982
West

North
East
South

Both vul   
( 3
1NT
(1)
pass


2(

pass

(2)

( KJ10
2(


pass

4(
(3)
pass


4(


pass

5(
(4)
pass
( Q93
 
N
( AK54
5(

pass

6NT



pass

( A103
  W    E
( KQJ5
 
( KQ102
S
( AJ5


( A53

( 92



( -




( 762



( 98764
 




( Q8764


(1)
Now you all know to knock off a point for the 4333 type shape, but with two 10’s and a 9 a 1NT opening is just about acceptable, especially in an individual tournament.
(2)
I believe that one South did actually bid a vulnerable (Unusual) 2NT here. A bit rash.
(3)
Gerber.

(4)
5( asks for Kings when playing Gerber.


( 1087
Now the bidding was fairly straightforward


( -
although one pair did end up in a somewhat 

      
( 
DUMMY
optimistic 7NT. But this time it’s all about the 


( K                (
play (or the defence, to be more precise).



I don’t know the exact details but it was pretty 

( Q9
 
N
( K54
much the same at all 3 tables.

( -
  W    E
( -
North led the (J and dummy won and set about
( K
S
( -
cashing the (A and the red suit winners.
( 5

( 9
That left this position, what should North discard

( -

on the (K lead from West?

(
The answer is that he must discard the (K – he 

( 9
 
has a complete count of the ( suit and knows that


( Q87
West has the remainder of the trick if he discards another (. If West has the (Q then North is truly
squeezed and can do nothing about it, but it’s a 50% chance that partner has that card and 50% is a far better bet than 0 %. Also, West may have decided to take the ( finesse if he had held the (Q.
And what happened? Every defender did not look at dummy and threw a ( so that every West made 13 tricks.

The bottom lines.

If you know that you are the only defender covering a suit, then you have to keep your guard in that suit and hope that partner has a guard in the other suit.

The Negative Double

Board 15  from Friday 23rd 

Dealer:
( 97


South
( K2
West

North
East
South(D)

N-S vul   
( J42
-


-


-


pass



( AQJ654
pass


1(

1(
(1)
2(
(2)



2(
(3)
pass

pass

3(
(4)

( J53
 
N
( KQ1082
pass

4(


all pass

( 1085
  W    E
( AJ93
( A76
S
( 853


( K982

( 3



( A64




( Q764



( KQ109
 




( 107


(1)
With a 5 card and a 4 card major it’s generally considered better to overcall rather than double. If you double then you may end up playing in (’s when you have a 5-3 ( fit.

(2)
What did you bid with this South hand D in this week’s quiz? A negative double (promising 4 (’s) stands out a mile.

(3)
Excellent, muddy the waters a little with support for partner. 

(4)
But now South is a little fixed, he has close to opening values but has not even shown his ( suit. He chose a somewhat peculiar 3( bid. 

And what happened? 4( went 1 down for an average.

The bottom lines: -

-
A negative double shows 4 cards in the unbid major and the point count is unlimited (although it is of course limited by a passed hand).

Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
Pass. This flat hand is totally unsuitable for a double.

Hand B:
(a)
Dbl. The perfect take-out double.



(b)
Pass. Double is terrible as you will be completely fixed over partner’s likely 2( response. A take-out double should be short in the suit bid.
Hand C:
Pass. This flat hand is totally unsuitable for a double.

Hand D:
Dbl. A negative double promising 4 (’s and values to at least compete to the two level.
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8

