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Winner




Runner-up
Mon 13th
N-S 
1st 
Clive/Dave
67%

2nd
Chris/Paul Scully
64%

  
E-W
1st 
G. & L. Karlsson
59%

2nd
Lars/Rude
57%
Wed 15th  
N-S 
1st 
Barbara&Bev Estes
61%

2nd
Clive/Hans
59%

  
E-W
1st 
Albert/Dave
61%

2nd
G. & L. Karlsson
59%
Fri    17th  
N-S 
1st 
Benny/Olle
60%

2nd
Clive/Dave
56%

  
E-W
1st 
Trudy/Jennat
56%

2nd
Bob P / Bob Short
54%

Bidding Quiz
     
Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated

Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A you open 1♠ and partner bids 4♠. What do you do?
♠ AK983
♠ J32



♥ AK4
♥ Q10832
With Hand B partner opens 1♣ and RHO overcalls 1♥, what do 
♦ K
♦ A1094
you bid?
♣ J1098
♣ 7
Hand C
Hand D
With Hand C RHO opens 1♣, LHO bids 1♥, RHO bids 2♣, 

LHO bids 2♥ which is passed round to you. What do you do?

♠ KQ104
♠ 1084
♥ J84
♥ J75
With Hand D partner opens 1♠, RHO bids 2♦ and you bid 2♠.
♦ QJ4
♦ A86
LHO bids 3♦ and partner bids 3♠, what do you do?
♣ 962
♣ A972

Hand E
Hand F
With Hand E you open 1♠, LHO bids 2♦, partner bids 2♠ and 
RHO bids 3♦. What do you do?
♠ KQ973
♠ J953


♥ AK64
♥ A52
With Hand F LHO opens 1♣, RHO bids 1♥, LHO bids 2♣,
♦ 107
♦ A765
RHO bids 2♥ which is passed round to partner who bids 2♠.
♣ Q4
♣ 107
RHO bids 3♣, what do you do?
With these 4 hands 
Hand G
Hand H
Hand J
Hand K
partner has opened 1♠, 
what do you bid?
♠ Q765
♠ Q7654
♠ Q765
♠ K765



♥ J3
♥ J32
♥ AJ3
♥ J32



♦ A2
♦ 2
♦ 2
♦ A



♣ A7432
♣ KQ95
♣ A7432
♣ A7432
These 4 hands all concern 
Hand L
Hand M
Hand N
Hand P
opener’s action when
playing negative doubles. 
♠ AKQ97
♠ AKQ9
♠ J32
♠ KQ54
In every case you open 1♣, 
♥ 7
♥ A7
♥ KQ103
♥ 72


LHO overcalls 1♥ and this 
♦ 7
♦ 7
♦ Q4
♦ Q
is passed round to you. 
♣ AKQ953
♣ AQ9532
♣ AQ76
♣ K96532
What do you do?

Bidding Sequences Quiz – A Negative Double summary
For all of these sequences we assume that you play negative doubles
Q
1♣
  1♥
pass

What does the pass mean?
R
1♣
  1♥
pass
pass

What does the double mean?

dbl

S
1♣
  1♥
pass
pass

What does 1♠ mean?


1♠
T
1♣
  1♥
pass
pass

What does 2♠ mean?


2♠
U
1♣
  1♥
pass
pass

What sort of hand does opener have for his pass here?


pass

V
1♣
  1♥
1♠



What does 1♠ mean?

W
1♣
  1♥
dbl



What does dbl mean?

The direct jump to game (4♥/♠) is weak
 

I was asked about this deal. I don’t know which day it was. I was given the exact hand but I have made a minor change of interchanging two cards to make the point very clear.

♠ AK983
 
N
♠ Q765
West(A)
North
East(G)
South


♥ AK4
  W    E
♥ J3


♦ K
S
♦ A2
1♠



pass

4♠
(1)
pass

♣ J1098

♣ A7432
pass
(2)
pass

(1) What did you bid with this East hand G in this week’s quiz? It’s ‘only’ 11 points, but it’s worth much more when partner bids ♠’s. Those two 1st round controls are huge and the shape is great in support of ♠’s. The hand is easily worth a raise to 4♠. But the ‘problem’ is that a direct jump to 4♠ is a pre-emptive bid (such as Hand H in this week’s quiz) There are a few solutions. Best is to play some sort of strong raise (such as Jacoby 2NT or Swiss). The more basic method is to bid another suit (so 2♣ here) and then jump to 4♠ - this is called a Delayed Game Raise and shows a sound raise to 4♠.

(2) What did you bid with this West hand A in this week’s quiz? If you accept that the direct raise to game is weak, than this hand should certainly pass.
And what happened?

An easy (75%) slam was missed. East asked West why he did not ask for aces. I’m 100%+ behind West’s pass.
The bottom lines: -

· The sequences 1♥ - 4♥ and 1♠ - 4♠ are weak pre-emptive raises.
· With a sound raise to 4♥/♠ then bid a minor and then jump to 4♥/♠ if you do not have any other methods (such as Jacoby 2NT).

· With a sound raise to 4♥/♠ and a shortage (singleton/void) then splinter.

Another ‘Negative Double’ penalty missed
Board 2 from Monday 13th 

Dealer:
♠ 108654




East
♥ 5
West(B)
North
East(M)
South
N-S vul
♦ QJ86
-


-

1♣

1♥

♣ 1064
pass
(1)
pass

2♠
(2)
pass




2NT



pass

3♣

pass


♠ J32
 
N
♠ AKQ9
3♠




pass

4♠

all pass


♥ Q10832
  W    E
♥ A7


♦ A1094
S
♦ 7


♣ 7

♣ AQ9532



♠ 7




♥ KJ964



♦ K532




♣ KJ8



(2) (1)
What did you bid with this West hand B in this week’s quiz? With these great hearts sitting over a vulnerable overcaller it is surely best to go for the penalty. So pass and await partner’s ‘automatic’ re-opening double.
(3) What did you bid with this East hand M in this week’s quiz? Double is virtually always correct in these sort of situations and with these great top cards there is absolutely no reason to do anything else. Now I believe that East’s ‘excuse’ was something like ‘I did not know what sort of hand you had’.  Precisely! And that’s why you should double – and partner will tell you. If partner has a penalty hand then he’ll pass for penalties. If partner has a weak hand then he will bid something and you can then bid on strongly to show a very powerful hand.
With this actual East hand you should double, and if partner makes any sort of bid (he usually bids 1♠ in this sort of situation) then he does not have the penalty hand and you can then bid 2♠ to show this very strong hand.

And what happened?
4♠ went one down. The computer says that E-W make 8 tricks in ♥’s, so that is 50 away instead of a cool top for 1♥ doubled minus two vul (500). Note that even if 4♠ makes then 420 is less than 500.

The bottom lines: -

· The situations where you should not re-open with a double (playing negative doubles) are few and far between. But I’ll cover them on the next page.

· Look for the penalty at favourable vulnerability.
When you do not re-open with a double.
I was asked under what circumstances opener should not re-open with the ‘automatic’ re-opening double when playing negative doubles.

Now as I have frequently said, every pair plays negative double differently. I won’t go into my preferred treatment again, but I will answer the question.

When you play negative doubles; you open, LHO overcalls and this is passed round to you, it is usually correct to ‘automatically’ re-open with a double. But there are hands when you should not. The hand types where you should not re-open with a double are: -

(a) Hand L 
When you have a very powerful hand with game virtually in your own hand 

♠ AKQ97
and where you may well make slam opposite very little. With Hand L I 

♥ 7
would jump to 2♠. I guess that some would have opened 2♣, but I prefer the 
♦ 7
natural slow approach with two-suiters.
♣ AKQ953

(b) Hand N 
When you have a decent opener but have so much in the opponent’s suit that 

♠ J32
you know that partner cannot possibly be sitting with a penalty hand. I would 

♥ KQ103
pass with Hand N.

♦ Q4

♣ AJ76

(c) Hand P
When you have a weak distributional hand with little defensive values. I 
♠ KQ54
think that 1♠ is reasonable with Hand P although I would not argue with 
♥ 72
double. Some might argue that they would not have opened, but it does
♦ Q
conform to the rule of 20 and a 1♣ opening would be a popular choice these 
♣ K96532
days.
Just pushin’ ‘em up – part 1
Board 15 from Friday 17th 

E-W got clobbered when they got too high here, who was at fault?

Dealer:
♠ 62




South
♥ KQ1097
West(C)
North
East(F)
South

N-S vuL
♦ 10932
-


-

-

1♣

♣ KQ
pass


1♥

pass

2♣

pass



2♥

pass

pass

♠ KQ104
 
N
♠ J953
2♠
(1)

3♣


3♠
(2)
pass

♥ J84
  W    E
♥ A52
pass



pass

dbl

all pass

♦ QJ4
S
♦ A765


♣ 962

♣ 107



♠ A87




♥ 63



♦ K8




♣ AJ8543



(1) What did you bid with this West hand C in this week’s quiz? I think 2♠ is fine, this is a miserable flat hand but South has denied ♠’s and North has shown 5+ ♥’s. Thus partner probably has ♠’s and as the opponent’s have stopped bidding he also has points. This is called balancing – you are ‘bidding partner’s hand’ in the pass-out seat.

(2) What did you bid with this East hand F in this week’s quiz? You should pass. Partner has ‘pushed them up’ from a great 2♥ contract into an inferior 3♣ contract, he has already bid your hand for you. Bidding here simply converts a top into a bottom. It is the opposite of balancing – it is called “hanging one’s partner”.

And what happened?

3♠ doubled went for 300 for a near bottom. 2♥ would have scored 140 or 170 for N-S, 3♣ would have scored 130 for N-S. it’s only 10 or 40 points difference but important at pairs scoring.
The bottom lines: -

-
When partner bids in the pass-out seat, he is bidding your hand for you. It is rarely correct to raise him.
Just pushin’ ‘em up – part 2
Board 1 from Friday 17th 
N-S got too high here, who is at fault?

Dealer:
♠ KQ973




North
♥ AK64
West

North(E)
East
South(D)
Love all
♦ 107
-


1♠

2♦

2♠

♣ Q4
3♦
(1)
3♠
(2)
pass

4♠
(3)

all pass


♠ J52
 
N
♠ A6



♥ 1082
  W    E
♥ Q93


♦ Q52
S
♦ KJ943


♣ J1063

♣ K85



♠ 1084




♥ J75



♦ A86




♣ A972



(1)
A gentle nudge

(2)
What did you bid with this North hand E in this week’s quiz? With no more than a minimal opener I would pass. 3♠ is just competing and no too bad I suppose(?). Any other bid (3♥) would be a game try and this hand is too weak.
(3)
What did you bid with this South hand D in this week’s quiz? South has a maximum, but that is not the point. North’s 3♠ is not an invitation, it is simply competing. If North wanted to invite game then any bid other than 3♠ would be a game invitation.
And what happened?

There are just 9 tricks there. Nobody else bid game and so this should have been an outright bottom for N-S. However, this is Pattaya bridge club and N-S got an undeserved total top when a mis-defence let 4♠ through.

The bottom lines: -

-
In competitive situations like this simply bidding one’s suit is just competing, any other bid is a game try. If there is no room (say E-W were bidding ♥’s and not ♦’s) then double at (1) would be the game try.
Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
Pass. Partner’s direct jump to 4♠ is a weak pre-emptive bid.
Hand B:
Pass. And await partner’s ‘automatic re-opening double and pass that. If partner has just a minimal opening then you will get a decent penalty. If partner has a good hand (so that you have game) then you will get a huge penalty. 1NT is a very poor 2nd choice.
Hand C:
2♠. But only if your partner understands balancing.

Hand D:
Pass. You are max but partner is not inviting you to bid on, he is simply competing.

Hand E:
I would pass. I guess that some might bid 3♠ (just competing). Any other bid (3♥) shows a much stronger hand.

Hand F:
Pass. Partner has scraped up a bid in the pass-out seat and is bidding your hand for you and likely has just 4 ♠’s. You will get a better score for defending 3♣ than for defending 2♥ had partner passed. To bid (3♠ here) simply destroys his good work as you are bound to get doubled.

Hand G:
2♣ followed by a jump to 4♠. This shows a sound raise to 4♠. If you play Swiss or Jacoby 2NT then that is obviously best.

Hand H:
4♠. A pre-emptive raise.

Hand J:
4♦. A splinter, showing ♦ shortage and agreeing ♠’s.
Hand K:
Same as hand G. It is best not to splinter with a singleton ace as partner will devalue a king in the suit.

Hand L:
2♠. Showing an enormous two-suiter that is worth a 2♣ opener in the ‘modern’ American style. You probably won’t get enough from a penalty.
Hand M:
Double. No reason not to go for the penalty if that’s what partner has in mind (very likely – where are the ♥’s?).

Hand N:
Pass. You have nothing special and partner cannot have a penalty hand with you holding this ♥ holding. A rare situation.

Hand P:
1♠. Showing a weak distributional hand with little defense for ♥’s. Dbl is also fine.
Bidding Sequence Answers 
For all of these sequences we assume that you play negative doubles
Q
1♣
  1♥
pass
What does the pass mean? Responder either has a hand that cannot make a noise over 1♥ (so presumably very weak) or he is sitting with a ♥ stack and waiting for opener’s double.
R
1♣
  1♥
pass
pass
What does the double mean? That he has 13 cards.


dbl

S
1♣
  1♥
pass
pass
What does 1♠ mean? A weak distributional two-suiter.

1♠
T
1♣
  1♥
pass
pass
What does 2♠ mean? A strong distributional two-suiter.

2♠
U
1♣
  1♥
pass
pass
What sort of hand does opener have for his pass here?

Pass
An indifferent hand with good ♥’s.
V
1♣
  1♥
1♠


What does 1♠ mean? Natural and forcing. Some play it as showing 5+ ♠’s, depending upon you answer to W below.

W
1♣
  1♥
dbl


What does dbl mean? It is negative. I play it as simply showing exactly 4 ♠’s. Others play it as showing ♠’s and ♦’s.
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