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My home phone is 038 422924 and my mobile number is 083 6066880

16th Nov 2008
It is best to use my home number to contact me unless I am at the bridge club.
My e-mail is terry@pattayabridge.com or pattayabridge@yahoo.com
My MSN messenger ID is tj_quested@hotmail.com
Mon 10th 
N-S 
1st
Jeremy & Sally
58%
2nd 
Lewis & Terry
55%


E-W
1st
Janne & Hans V
61%
2nd 
Alan & Bam Bam
59%
Wed 12th 
N-S 
1st
Janne &  Sally
64%
2nd 

Lewis & Paul Q
63%


E-W
1st
Alan & Jean W
60%
2nd 
Derek & Gerard
59%

Fri 14th 
N-S 
1st
Lewis & Paul Q
66%
2nd 

Alain & Jean-Charles
55%


E-W
1st
Dave & Royd
60%
2nd 
Hans V & Sally
55%

Bidding Quiz
     Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.

Hand A
Hand B
With hand A partner opens 1NT, what do you bid? 
♠ AJ2
♠ A63
♥ Q987
♥ 985
With hand B RHO opens 1♣ and you choose to overcall 1♦. 
♦ K32
♦ AQ1082
Partner bids 1NT, what do you bid?
♣ 753
♣ A9
Hand C
Hand D
With Hand C partner opens 1NT what do you bid? 

♠ AKJ3
♠ Q94
 
♥ KJ65
♥ 74
With Hand D LHO opens 1♣ and partner bids 1♠. RHO  

♦ KJ6
♦ Q10765 
doubles (promising ♥’s), what do you bid?
♣ Q8
♣ KQ7
Hand E
Hand F
(a)
What do you open with Hand E?
(b)
What do you open with Hand E if you play a 12-14 1NT?
♠ A42
♠ KQ10


♥ KJ7
♥ QJ6
With hand F you would bid 2NT if partner opened 1♦. 

♦ QJ64
♦ 653
But what happened is that LHO opened 1♣ and partner
♣ A63
♣ QJ62
overcalled 1♦, so what do you bid in this situation? Still 2NT?
The Club Championships
Here are the latest standings in the club competitions. 
	
	Gold Cup = Best 30
	Silver Plate = Best 10
	Bronze Medal = Best 5

	1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10
	1875.8 Hans Vikman

1843.8 Dave Cutler

1841.8 Sally Watson

1834.0 Lewis Berg

1816.0 Janne Roos

1799.2 Bob Pelletier

1782.5 Ivy Schlageter

1727.5 Jan v Koss
	672.7 Hans Vikman 

663.6 Sally Watson

661.8 Dave Cutler

661.1 Jeremy Watson

653.4 Lewis Berg

646.0 Lars Gustafsson

642.7 Ivy Schlageter

639.2 Janne Roos

636.9 Tomas Wikman

636.1 Bob Pelletier


	347.2 Hans Vikman

342.3 Dave Cutler

341.1 Jeremy Watson

341.1 Sally Watson

337.1 Lars Gustafsson

335.8 Lewis Berg  

335.3 Ivy Schlageter

328.5 Derek & Gerard

327.4 Tomas Wikman

326.2 Bob Pelletier 




Deduct a Point for the terrible 4333 type shape

♠ A42
What did you open with this Hand E in this week’s Quiz? You should deduct
♥ KJ7
a point for the totally flat 4333 type shape. So:

♦ QJ64
(a) open 1♦ if you play a strong NT
♣ A63
(b)
open 1NT if you play a weak NT.
Where did this hand come from? The Christmas 2007 edition 86 of the UK’s BRIDGE.

There are three bidding panelists, here’s what they had to say (playing a weak NoTrump):

Sally Brock:
“If ever I was going to downgrade a 15-count then I would do so here (4333, no spot cards etc.)”
Julian Pottage:
“… at pairs (what we play at the Pattaya bridge club) I would open a weak 1NT.”
Bernard Magee:
“1NT. With a completely flat hand (4333) I generally take one point off and without a ten or nine in sight there is no reason not to. Hence I would downgrade the hand to 14 points and open a weak 1NT. Those who count losing tricks will notice that there are eight, which backs up the downgrading of the hand.”
So, pretty emphatic eh? – especially by Bernard Magee who simply repeats what Freddie North has previously stated in numerous lectures and magazines.
A note for Jean-Francois Fohrer. He made this blog entry “You have implied that Top English players would deduct ONE point for NT purposes when asked to show your evidences this is not at what they say… - NOBODY has ever mentioned ONE point”. 
So here is just some more evidence that I am correct and your statement blatantly untrue, OK Vincit?? North (in other publications) and Magee are both VERY emphatic about deducting ONE point, Pottage did so by implication.

Deny a 4-card major? – part 1

Board 6 from Monday 3rd
Very ocassionally it works out OK to deny a 4 card major (and miss a 4-4 or better fit): 
Dealer:
♠ AJ2

Table A
East
♥ Q987

West

North(A)
East

South
E-W vul
♦ K32

-


-

pass

1NT
(1)

♣ 753

pass


3NT (2)
pass

pass
(3)
pass
♠ Q843
N
♠ 10965


♥ 105
W
E
♥ 64
 
Table B
♦ AQJ97
S
♦ 84
West


North
East

South
♣ 98

♣ KQJ102

-

-

-

1♥
(1)

♠ K7

pass


3♥

pass

4♥
♥ AKJ32

 
all pass
♦ 1065
 

♣ A64





Table A:
(1)
It’s up to you if you open these types of hand with 1♥ or 1NT. I prefer 1NT as then there’s never a rebid problem, and I hate problems.


(2)
What did you bid with this North hand A in this week’s quiz? There are some who argue that with a totally flat 4333 type hand and game values you should ignore Stayman. I would only do so with points to spare and the points outside the 4-card major. So my answer to question A is 2♣. 
(3) And so the 5-4! ♥ fit was missed.
Table B:
(1)
Most South’s chose 1♥ and then it’s impossible not to bid 4♥ 
And what happened? N-S at Table A have just one ♣ stop, but East has no entry provided South ducks the first round of ♣’s if one is led. What actually happened was that West led the ♠3 won by dummy’s ♠J. A ♥ to the ♥A and a ♦ to the ♦K held and declarer then claimed his 10 tricks (3 ♠’s, 5 ♥’s, 1 ♦ and 1 ♣). A lucky top for N-S as everybody else was in ♥’s making the same 10 tricks.
The bottom lines: - 

-
Sometimes it works to deny a 4-card major, but usually only when you have the points outside the suit.
Deny a 4-card major? – part 2

Board 12 from Monday 3rd
But when you have oodles of points it’s another story...
Dealer:
♠ Q65

West

North
East

South
West
♥ Q7

pass


1NT
(1)
pass

4♣
(2)
N-S vul
♦ A84

pass


4♠

pass

6NT
(3)
♣ AK652

all pass

♠ 107
N
♠ 9842
(1)
It’s minimum with no tens or intermediates,
♥ A1093
W
E
♥ 842
 
but the 5-card suit makes it easily worth 1NT
♦ 107532
S
♦ Q9
(2)
This hand is good enough to bid the small slam,
♣ 109

♣ J743

he bid Gerber first in case partner had a 

♠ AKJ3

good 14 count, there could just be two aces 
♥ KJ65

 
missing.
♦ KJ6
But the point is, what did you bid with this South 
♣ Q8


hand C in this week’s quiz? Did you try Stayman first to look for a 4-4 major suit fit or just launch into slam mode? Most did not bid Stayman, there are so many points that a possible 4-4 fit is unlikely to generate a trick and it’s best to go for the extra ten at pairs scoring.
And what happened? North turned out to have the worst hand possible for South. But the slam is still about 65%; needing either ♣’s 3-3 or the ♦ finesse. Luckily the ♦ finesse worked. Five out of nine bid 6NT making. Two stopped in 4NT and one bid 7NT.
The bottom lines: - 

· With a combined 33+ and relatively flat hands it’s usually best to play in NoTrumps, especially at pairs scoring. With a 4-4 ♥ or ♠ fit there may be a better contract in 6♥/♠, but most of the time 6NT will also make and you will get a terrible score at pairs if both make.
· At teams scoring it’s different of course, and a good (with honours) 4-4 fit is usually safer.

Dave’s Column
Here is Dave’s input involving the play of the hand. 
North
South
You are North, declarer in 6♦ and East leads the ♣Q. 
♠ -

♠ AK86
Plan the play.

♥ AQ1098
♥ J


♦ A107532
♦ Q986

♣ 103
♣ AK65




Dave’s Column answer

Board 25 from Wednesday 12th  
Dealer:
♠ -



West

North
East

South
North
♥ AQ1098

-


1♥

pass

1♠

E-W vul
♦ A107532

pass


2♦

pass

3♣


♣ 103


pass

3♦

pass

6♦
all pass
♠ Q109543

N
♠ J72

♥ 7432
W
E
♥ K65
East leads the ♣Q, plan the play,
♦ -
S
♦ KJ4
 
♣ 742

♣ QJ98


♠ AK86




♥ J
 

♦ Q986



♣ AK65


This ♦ slam offers a different problem at duplicate than it does at rubber bridge. At duplicate, one must consider how many others will bid the slam and whether an overtrick will bring profit. At rubber bridge making the contract is the only consideration.
Anyway, we play duplicate. Most declarers won with dummy’s ♣A and rejected the dramatic (and fatal) play of running the ♦Q, aimed at pinning a singleton jack with East. Instead declarer led a low trump from dummy and West discarded. North won his ♦A and led another trump to East’s ♦K and when East led his ♦J declarer has severe problems. He has 4 top black suit winners , 4 trump winners and the ♥A and a ♥ ruff, totalling jus 11 tricks. For a twelfth he must risk the ♥ finesse. If he finesses against West he loses, if he takes a ruffing finesse against East he wins. It’s a toss-up.
A good rubber bridge player takes a different view. He looks for the safest way to collect 12 winners.

At trick two he ruffs a low ♠ and leads a low trump towards dummy (a safety play against KJx in either hand). If East ducks then dummy inserts the ♦8 and holds the trick. After he cashes his ♦A it’s now safe to cross-ruff for 12 sure winners.

If East takes his ♦K at trick 3, North still prevails. He can manage two ♥ ruffs without fear of an over-ruff, and when nothing bad happens in the black suits he makes his slam.
And what happened at the Pattaya Bridge Club? 6NT-3, 6♦-1 three times, 5♦-1, 5♦*=, 6♦*= well done Tomas, but he was helped when East had previously doubled a ♥ bid by North for a lead and then doubled 6♦. So declarer knew which way to take the ♥ finesse and where the ♦’s were. There were the usual few spurious results.
Dave’s 2nd Column
Here is Dave’s 2nd input involving the play of the hand. 
West
East
You are East, declarer in 6♥, and South leads a low ♣. 
♠ KJ4
♠ A9
You win in dummy and play the ♥9 and finesse, South 
♥ Q984
♥ AJ1072
winning with the ♥K. He leads another ♣ which you 
♦ K93
♦ AJ1084

ruff, how should declarer continue?
♣ AJ9
♣ 4

Dave’s 2nd Column answer

Board 26 from Wednesday 12th  
Dealer:
♠ Q108632



West

North
East

South

North
♥ 53

-


-

1♥

pass
Love all
♦ 2

2NT
(1)
pass

3♣
(2)
pass

♣ KQ76


4NT
(3)
pass

5♣
(4)
pass
6♥

all pass
♠ KJ4
N
♠ A9
 
♥ Q984
W
E
♥ AJ1072
(1)
Jacoby 2NT 
♦ K93
S
♦ AJ1084
(2)
singleton (or void) ♣
♣ AJ9

♣ 4
(3)
RKCB 

♠ 75


(4)
3 (or 0) keycards
♥ K6
 
 
♦ Q765


South leads a ♣ which dummy wins. He plays the ♥9 and
♣ 108532
finesses, South winning with the ♥K. South leads another ♣ which you ruff, how should declarer continue?
In an average game, East ruffs the second ♣, draws trumps, and tries to guess the ♦Q. But an expert is in no hurry to take a two-way finesse. He draws trumps and ruffs dummy’s last ♣ and next cashes the top ♠’s and ruffs a ♠.

Declarer is hoping for information – and gets it when South discards on the third ♠. Declarer then knows that North began with six ♠’s and two trumps. The ♣ suit is an unknown factor, but assuming that they split 5-4 then North can have no more than one ♦. So declarer cashes the ♦A and runs the ♦J.
And what happened at the Pattaya Bridge Club? Three pairs bid to 6♥ and only one made it. Most others were in 4♥ or 5♥ making 11 or 12 tricks.

The bottom lines
· If you have a two-way finesse, try to get a (partial) count of the hand and go with the odds.
When partner opens we all know the general basics – 1NT or a single raise = 6-9; jump raise or 2NT with +-11 etc. But when partner overcalls at the one level these responses are different. Remember, a 1-level overcall promises only about 8 points. Here are two examples from Wednesday.
Responding to partner’s overcall – part 1
Board 11 from Wednesday 12th  
Dealer:
♠ 842

Table A
South
♥ 1043

West

North
East

South
Love all
♦ KJ9

-


-

-

pass
(1)

♣ 10875

1♦


pass

2NT
(2)
pass


3NT
(3)
all pass
♠ A63
N
♠ KQ10


♥ 985
W
E
♥ QJ6
 
Table B
♦ AQ1082
S
♦ 653
West(B)
North
East(F)
South
♣ A9

♣ QJ62

-

-

-

1♣
(1)

♠ J975

1♦
(4)
pass

1NT
(5)
pass
♥ AK72

 
pass
(6)
pass
♦ 74
 

♣ K43





Table A:
(1)
This South, as did most, decided to pass. Fine, so would I.

(2)
This 2NT response is the standard invitational +-11 points with no 4-card major.
(3) And West has an easy accept.
Table B:
(1)
This South decided to open. It’s only 19 for the rule of 20 but with two 4-card majors and all of the points in the long suits I would not argue if you decided to open.

(4) A robust overcall which is fine, the alternative is 1NT.

(5) What did you bid with this East hand F in this week’s quiz? 1NT here is correct, it shows 10-12 opposite a 1-level overcall.
(6) What did you bid with this West hand B in this week’s quiz? If you understand that partner’s 1NT is 10-12 then obviously you should bid 3NT.
And what happened? 5 out of 9 E-W’s bid to 3NT but four went -1 (because of the unlucky ♦ position). So 1NT at table B making +1 scored a lucky near top.
The bottom lines: - 

-
1NT by advancer opposite a 1-level overcall is 10-12 (with a stop).
All of this, plus other No Trump bids and No Trump responses when partner overcalls at the one or two level, are explained on the website:

General Bridge Topics > Responding with No trumps to partner's overcall. 

Responding to partner’s overcall – part 2
Board 20 from Wednesday 12th  
Dealer:
♠ KJ103

Table A
West
♥ KQ6

West(D)
North
East

South
Both vul
♦ A42

pass


1♣

1♠

dbl
(1)

♣ J98

3♠
(2)
3NT
(3)
4♠
(4)
pass


pass


dbl

all pass

♠ Q94
N
♠ A8752


♥ 74
W
E
♥ AJ9
 
Table B
♦ Q10765
S
♦ K9
West(D)
North
East

South
♣ KQ7

♣ 652

pass


1♣

1♠

dbl
(1)

♠ 6

2♠
(2)
all pass

♥ 108532

 
♦ J83
 

♣ A1043





Table A:
(1)
promising 6+ points and 4+ ♥’s. With shortage in RHO’s suit and a 5-card ♥ suit this is clearly a good bid.

(2)
What did you bid with this West hand D in this week’s quiz? I understand that this West intended it as an invitational raise. I play that 2♣ (or 2♥) here as the invitational raise and 3♠ weak with long ♠’s. But that is not really the issue because the correct bid is that chosen at table B.
(3) Ludicrous of course on a possible combined 20 count.
(4) East should pass of course, but he thought that North had his bid (he is usually a sound bidder) and he thought that partner had a weak hand with 4+ ♠’s.
Table B:
(2)
This is the correct answer to question D.
And what happened? 4♠* went -2 for a joint bottom to E-W. 2♠ making by E-W was the popular result. 
The bottom lines: - 

· When partner overcalls say 1♠, then with 6-9/10 and three card support raise to 2♠. Both 3♠ and 4♠ are pre-emptive and with a good raise to 3♠ or more cue bid the opponent’s suit, this allows the contract to stay at the two level should partner have a minimal 8 point or so overcall.
All of this is explained on the website:

Conventions > The Unassuming Cue Bid. 

Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
2♣, Stayman. I would like much better ♣’s before I decide not to look for a ♥ fit.
Hand B:
3NT. Partner’s 1NT is 10-12 with a ♣ stop and your hand warrants a shot at game.
Hand C:
6NT (or 4♣ if partner is in the habit of opening 1NT with a good 14 count). With so many points I would not look for a 4-4 major suit fit at pairs scoring.
Hand D:
2♠. Any invitational bid is an overbid and you do not have enough ♠’s for a pre-emptive 3♠ or 4♠.
Hand E:
(a)
1♦, it’s not good enough for a strong 1NT
(b)
1NT – deduct a point for the 4333 type shape.
Hand F:
1NT. Partner’s overcall could be a low as 7-8 points and so 1NT is quite sufficient. 1NT opposite a 1-level overcall shows 10-12 points and 2NT is 13-14.
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