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My home phone is 038 422924 and my mobile number is 083 6066880

10th Jan 2010
It is best to use my home number to contact me unless I am at the bridge club. 
My e-mail is terry@pattayabridge.com or pattayabridge@yahoo.com
My MSN messenger ID is tj_quested@hotmail.com
Mon 4th 
N-S 
1st
Jeremy & Sally 
66%
2nd  
Janne & Jean
65%


E-W
1st
Hans V & Per And..
64%
2nd 
Gier Helgemo & Rolf A
58%
Wed 6th 
N-S 
1st
Gerry C & Sally
61%
2nd 
Morton & Terje Ly..
56%


E-W 
1st
Hans V & Janne
65%
2nd 
Arne F & Lars F 
59%

Fri  8th   

1st
Janne & Jean
57%
2nd 
Hans V & Paul Q
55%

Bidding Quiz
     Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.

Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A you open 2♣ and partner bids 2♦, what do you 
♠ AQ10
♠ -
rebid?
♥ A4
♥ QJ 

♦ AKQ954
♦ AJ765
What do you open with Hand B?
♣ KQ
♣ KQ8642 

Hand C



What do you open in 2nd seat with Hand C?

♠ J96

♥ 5

♦ AKQJ10

♣ J964

.


A big balanced hand

Board 4 from Fridayday 8th  
Dealer:
♠ 8654

Table A
West
♥ J53

West

North
East(A)
South
Both vul
♦ 63

-


-

2♣

pass

♣ 10974

2♦


pass

2NT
(1)
pass

3NT
(2)
pass

pass
(3)
pass

♠ J3
N
♠ AQ10


♥ Q10972
W
E
♥ A4
 
Expert Table
♦ J2
S
♦ AKQ954
West


North
East(A)
South
♣ A852

♣ KQ

-

-

2♣

pass
♠ K972


2♦


pass

2♥
(1)
pass
♥ K86

2♠
(4)
pass

2NT
(5)
pass
♦ 1087
 
6NT
(6)
all pass
♣ J63



Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this East hand A in this week’s quiz? 3NT is the value bid but I hate it (it virtually rules out Stayman and transfers when partner has a very weak hand). This East chose 2NT, hoping that partner would not pass.
(2) With a combined 31-32 points this West decided (correctly) that just as many tricks would be available in No Trumps as in ♥’s and decided not to transfer.
(3) Of course East cannot sensibly bid on now.

Table B:
(1)
Our experts hate the 3NT rebid of course. As today’s pair have only one strong opening bid (2♣) they play the Kokish relay. 2♥ here shows either a game forcing ♥ hand or a 25+ balanced hand. With this ♦ suit this hand is easily worth a game forcing sequence.
(4) Forced and asking partner to clarify his hand.
(5) Big balanced
(6) With a known 33+ points, West again opts for NoTrumps rather than bothering with a transfer.

And what happened? 6NT=, 3NT+3 twice, 3NT+2 and 6♥-2.
The bottom line:

· The sequence 2♣ - 2♦ - 3NT really sucks (as does a strong opening 3NT). There are numerous way round it. Play Benjamin twos (when 2♦ - 2♥ - 2NT is game forcing); play the multi (where 2♣ - 2♦ - 2NT is game forcing) or play the Kokish relay.
Dave’s Column

Here is Dave’s first input on the play of the hand.

North
South 
West
North
East
South
♠ KQ109754
♠ 632

-


-


pass

1♦
♥ 6
♥ QJ9

pass

1♠

pass

1NT
♦ A6
♦ QJ102
pass


4♠


all pass
♣ Q94
♣ AK3

East led the ♣J, West encouraged, and South won to lead a ♠ to his ♠K. Upon discovering the 3-0 trump break (East discards the ♥8 playing standard discards and so asking for a ♥), how should declarer play the hand?  
Dave’s Column answer



Board 11 from Wednesday 6th   
Dealer:
♠ KQ109754



Book bidding
East
♥ 6

West

North
East

South
Love all
♦ A6

-


-

pass

1♦

♣ Q94


pass

1♠

pass

1NT
pass

4♠

all pass


♠ AJ8
N
♠ -
 

♥ K1042
W
E
♥ A8753


♦ 7543
S
♦ K98
East led the ♣J, West encouraged, and South won
♣ 72

♣ J10865
to lead a ♠ to his ♠K. Upon discovering the 3-0 

♠ 632


trump break (East discards the ♥8 playing standard 
♥ QJ9

discards), how should declarer play the hand?  
♦ QJ102

 



♣ AK3



What happened when the hand was first played was that declare r led a ♣ to the ♣K in order to leas another ♠ through West. West won his ♠A and led a ♥ to East’s ♥A so that he could score a ♣ ruff. Could declarer play better?
Yes. After discovering the 3-0 trump break, instead of returning to dummy with a ♣ This farsighted play is not as difficult as it may seem. On the first ♣ West had signaled encouragement (the ♣2 if you play low to encourage) and on the first trump East had signaled for a ♥. Clearly it was time to cut defensive communications. Regardless of which defender won the ♥ lead, declarer can prevent East from giving his partner a ♣ ruff.
And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 4♠+1, 4♠= five times, 1♠+2, 4NT-1 and 4♠-2 twice.
Dave’s 2nd Column

Here is Dave’s second input on the play of the hand.
West
East 
West
North
East
South
♠ K64
♠ A85

 -


-


1♣

pass
♥ QJ1097
♥ A863

1♥


pass

2♥


pass
♦ AQ7
♦ K53
4♥


all pass
♣ J4
♣ K85

You are West, declarer in 4♥. North leads the ♥4. plan the play.

Dave’s 2nd Column answer


Board 10 from Wednesday 6th  
Dealer:
♠ Q32

Book Bidding

East
♥ 54

West

North
East
South
Both vul
♦ J642

-


-

1♣

pass

♣ 9762

1♥


pass

2♥

pass
4♥


all pass
♠ K64
N
♠ A85

 
♥ QJ1097
W
E
♥ A863
 North leads the ♥4. Plan the play.
 
♦ AQ7
S
♦ K53

♣ J4

♣ K85


♠ J1097


♥ K2

♦ 1098
 

♣ AQ103




What should West do after north’s passive trump lead? If he gets greedy and ducks in dummy he loses the timing to make his game. South wins with the ♥K and shifts to the ♠J; and with South controlling the ♣ suit the defenders can establish a ♠ trick before declarer can build a ♣ winner.
It’s different if declarer wins trick one with the ♥A. He then leads a low ♣ from dummy, South’s ♣J wins and South switches to a ♠. The ♣J then drives out South’s ♣A, another ♠ goes to dummy’s ♠A but declarer wins the race as he can discard a ♠ on the ♣K.

Note declarer’s play in ♣’s. Low to the ♣J gives West two chances instead of one. If the ♣J loses to North’s ♣Q he still has time to lead to dummy’s ♣K.
And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 5♥-1, 4♥-1 seven times and 4♥= twice.
Paul’s Column
On board 29 the computer said N/S should make 6 hearts on the following layout:

                                   ♠ 8

                                   ♥ KJ84

                                   ♦ 9532

                                   ♣ KQ102






   Hand C


♠ K1075432                                          ♠ J96

♥ 102                                                     ♥ 5

♦ 974                                                     ♦ AKQJ10

♣ 3                                                        ♣ J964

                                ♠ AQ

                                ♥ AQ9763

                                ♦ 6

                                ♣ A875

At first glance I didn’t see how South would avoid a club loser, but then it became obvious.  First, after North deals and passes, what did you open the East hand C in this week’s quiz?  Popular will be 1♦, but when my hand is ALL diamonds and no outside defense I’d personally stick the ♥5 in with the diamonds and open it TWO diamonds!  As for making 6♥ it seems like if clubs are 3-2 this is a no-brainer.  Accordingly South plays as follows: lose the diamond lead, win the next trick whatever it is, Ace and a spade ruffed after drawing trump, return in trump and FINISH THE TRUMPS!  Reduce the South hand to:  ♣A875, the North hand to ♦9 ♣KQ10 and what will East hold as his last 4 cards?  He can’t allow the (9 to become a winner as there is an entry, and he can’t discard a club from ♣J964.  A simple squeeze!  The hand is an example of the BLUE law of squeezes … one hand must be BUSY in 2 or more suits (guarding them), the LOSER count must be met (declarer has lost all he can), one threat must be UPPER to the “victim” (to the left of) and there must be an ENTRY to the threats.  Hence BLUE.  There are exceptions to the LOSER requirement in highly specialized cases but they are rare.

Does it cost South anything to play in this fashion rather than test the clubs before finishing the trumps?  Not a blessed thing!  Testing the clubs first would cost this slam.

Open a 5-carder instead of a 6-cardsr?

Board 6 from Friday 8th 

♠ VOID
A couple of hands from Friday the 8th caught my attention.  Terry was 
♥ QJ
kibitzing me and questioned my opening bid of 1 diamond with the 

♦ AJ765
following hand, board 6, all vulnerable:
♣ KQ8642

He felt that a 1 club opening was better with the hand playing strength being sufficient to bid diamonds later.  I clearly felt that if partner responded 1 of a major this was not worth a “Reverse” and I’d be trapped into a 2 club re-bid; furthermore if the partnership plays “Walsh” style responses to 1 club where a diamond suit may be by-passed to name a major with a limited response a diamond fit might be missed altogether.  At our table the 1 diamond opening was doubled to my left, partner raised to 3 (limit raise in out style) and after a pass I bid 5 which was doubled.  This made exactly for a tie for top when the doubler’s ♠A K proved worthless.  Opening a 5-card higher ranking suit in preference to a 6-card lower ranking one is pretty much the norm when you lack 16+ HCP and want to simplify your re-bid.  One notable exception many experienced partnerships use is when opener holds 6 clubs and 5 spades with limited strength.  Since 1 spade can be re-bid over any 1 level response, and spades re-bid as cheaply as possible later, the nature of the hand is very accurately expressed.  Some extend this to 5 GOOD clubs and 5 WEAK spades.

<     End of Paul’s column     >

Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
3NT or 3♦ I suppose – but I hate them both! It really is necessary to have an agreement on how to bid these big balanced hands so that a 2NT rebid shows 25+ balanced. Options are to play Benjamin twos, to play the Multi 2♦, or to play the Kokish relay. 2NT (22-24) is a gross underbid of course with this huge ♦ suit and use-full-looking ♠10.
The following two are from Paul’s Column and are his opinions:

Hand B:
1♦ is Paul’s answer. A 1♣ opening would lead to problems if partner responds 1♠ as the hand is not strong enough for a reverse into 2♦.

Hand C:
2♦. When my hand is ALL diamonds and no outside defense I’d personally open it 2♦ rather than 1♦. 
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