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Mon 10th   
1st
Paul Q & Janne
59%
2nd 
Dinie & Ivy
58%
Wed 12th 

1st
Paul Q & Terry Q
60%
2nd 
Dave c & Mike G
54%
Fri  14th   

1st
Paul K & Sean
60%
2nd 
Ivy & Terry Q
59%

Bidding Quiz
     Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.

Hand A
Hand B

With Hand A you are dealer at love all, what do you open?
♠ 94
♠ x
With Hand B partner opens 1♥ in 2nd seat at unfavourable vul.
♥ 9
♥ xxxxx
(a)
What do you bid?

♦ AKJ10987
♦ AKx
(b)
Suppose you splinter with 3♠ and LHO bids 4♠. Partner 
♣ 1042
♣ KQxx

doubles (penalties), what do you do?
Hand C
Hand D

With Hand C it’s favourable vulnerability. RHO opens 1NT, 
what do you do?

♠ 96
♠ Q107

♥ K87
♥ KQJ42

♦ AQJ652
♦ -
With Hand D partner opens a Gambling 3NT (solid minor
♣ 94
♣ AJ953

with nothing outside). What do you bid?
Bidding Sequence Quiz
E
3NT




What is a 3NT opening?
 

Current club championship standings
	
	Gold Cup = Best 30
	Silver Plate = Best 10
	Bronze Medal = Best 5

	1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10
	1829.9 Paul Quodomine
1825.7 Janne Roos 
1788.8 Hans Vikman
	649.0 Janne Roos 
641.2 Hans Vikman 
638.3 Paul Quodomine 

626.8 Tomas Wikman
619.8 Lars Broman
615.9 Jean Wissing

610.0 Sally Watson

609.5 Duplessy & Coutlet

597.8 Bengt Malgren
586.4 Bob Short

	330.4 Janne Roos 

329.6 Tomas Wikman
327.9 Hans Vikman
324.8 Sally Watson
323.4 Paul Quodomine 
322.9 Lars Broman

320.3 Jean Wissing 

319.5 Duplessy & Coutlet

308.2 Bob Short

305.7 Bengt Malmgren




An ‘unusual’ Gambling 3 No trump

Board 8 from Friday 7th May 
The North at Table A considers himself to be a superior player, and his partner is a superior player. However, I think that both North and South at table A bid badly.
Dealer:
♠ 94

Table A
West
♥ 9

West

North(A)
East
South(D)
Love all
♦ AKJ10987

pass


3NT
(1)
pass

pass
(2)

♣ 1042

pass


♠ A8532
N
♠ KJ6

Table B
♥ 108
W
E
♥ A7653

West
North(A)
East

South
♦ 652
S
♦ Q43
pass



3♦
(1)
all pass
♣ KQ6

♣ 87



♠ Q107



♥ KQJ42

♦ -
 

♣ AJ953




Table A:
(1)
What did you open with this North hand A in this week’s quiz? This supposed  gambling 3NT is very silly in my view but was actually chosen by two players.

(2)
What did you bid with this South hand D in this week’s quiz?  Assuming that partner has a solid ♦ suit with no outside ace or king then you should bid 4♣ which is pass or correct (you know that partner will correct to 4♦). You have all of the other three suits hopefully stopped but this pass is silly as with a ♦ void partner presumably has no entry to his hand.
Table B:
(1)
This is the obvious opening bid and the answer to question A in this week’s quiz. Pretty simple eh? 
And what happened? 4♦*-2, 3NT-3, 3♦-3, 4♦-1, 4♥*(E)-3
The bottom lines:

· The Gambling 3NT is best played as a totally solid 7-8 card minor with absolutely no outside ace or king (then partner knows what to do).
· Note also that South should not bid 4♦ at (2) as that is used with a good hand to ask for partner’s shortage if he has a singleton/void.

· AKJ10987 is NOT a solid suit. It needs to be AKQJxxx or AKQxxxxx or better although some do bid it with AKQxxxx.
Overcalling a 1NT opening

Board 3 from Friday 14th May 
Overcalling 1NT at the three level, or even just at the two level, can cause difficulties for the opening side, as this deal demonstrates.
Dealer:
♠ 96

Table A
South
♥ K87

West

North(C)
East
South
E-W vul
♦ AQJ652

-


-

-

pass

♣ 94

1NT


2♦
(1)
2NT
(2)
pass



3♣


pass

3♦
(3)
pass


♠ K2
N
♠ A543

3♥

pass

3NT
(4)
all pass
♥ AJ54
W
E
♥ 1032


♦ 84
S
♦ K3
Table B
♣ AK873

♣ J1065

West

North(C)
East

South

-


-

-

pass
♠ QJ1087


1NT

3♦
(1)
3♠
(5)
pass
♥ Q96


pass
(6)
pass
♦ 1097
 

♣ Q2




Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this North hand C in this week’s quiz? This was natural in their system and OK I suppose.
(2) Even this lowly 2♦ bid makes it difficult for East. East has an invitational hand but cannot now invite, so he decides to go for game and kicks off with a Lebensohl bid demanding that partner bids 3♣.
(3) This is now Stayman, and the fact that it was preceded by a Lebensohl 2NT shows a ♦ stop.

(4) Thus showing 4 ♠’s and a ♦ stop.
Table B:
(1)
I prefer this 3♦ to 2♦ in answer to question C – it makes life even more difficult for East and is fairly safe at this vulnerability.
(5) It’s now impossible for East, he hoped there was a ♠ fit but there wasn’t.

(6) Presumably this pair do not play 3♠ as forcing, but it’s also difficult for West with no ♦ stop and not knowing that partner has one.
And what happened? 3♠(E)-2, 5♣-1, 3♥(W)= twice, 3NT=.
The trouble with tribbles Roman Keycard Blackwood
Board 25 from Wednesday 5th May 
I was told about this deal a week later and unfortunately there are no hand records, so I only have the E-W hands. Still, it is very instructive. E-W were vul.
♠ x
N
♠ K10xx

West(B)
North
East

South
♥ xxxxx
W
E
♥ KQJxx

-


pass

1♥


pass
♦ AKx
S
♦ Jxx
3♠
(1)
4♠
(2)
dbl

pass
♣ KQxx

♣ A

4NT
(3)
pass

5♠

pass
6♥

pass

pass
6♠
(4)
pass

pass

dbl

all pass

(1) What did you bid with this West hand B(a) in this week’s quiz? With five trumps this hand is easily worth a game-forcing splinter.

(2) Unfortunately I don’t have the North hand, but it must be very strange as it passed initially and now comes in at the four level.

(3) What did you bid with this West hand B(b) in this week’s quiz? This 4NT RKCB bid, made by a very experienced player, is totally ridiculous in my opinion for a number of reasons:
a) He has already shown a good hand with a ♠ singleton.
b) With all the points as good defensive points, there is no reason to remove partner’s double.

c) There is no reason to suppose that there may be slam – partner has already shown no interest.

d) Finally, when ♥’s are trumps and you have just one keycard without the trump queen, it is dangerous to bid RKCB because if partner has two keycards with the trump queen then he will bid 5♠, thus forcing you to 6♥ with two keycards missing.

So what should West do? I would respect partner’s double and pass, but 5♥ is the alternative or perhaps a 5♦ cue bid if you really want to invite slam.

(4)
Unaware that West, somebody who usually tells every man and his dog how to bid, had no idea what he was doing and had propelled their side into an unmakeable slam with two aces missing, South let them off the hook by bidding 6♠. Unfortunately I do not have the South hand, but as East had already doubled 4♠ for penalties this seems strange.
And what happened? 6♠*(N)-5, 5♥=, 5♥+1, 4♥+1 twice, 4♥= twice and 5♥-1.
The bottom lines:

-
Be wary of bidding 4NT RKCB when ♥’s are trumps and you have just one keycard without the trump queen. Obviously this and even more problems exist with a minor suit as trumps.
Dave’s Column
Here is Dave’s first input on declarer play of the hand.


 



West
East

Book Bidding
♠ AQ1032
♠ 6

West
North
East
South
♥ KJ
♥ 643


-


-
3♦
pass
♦ 86
♦ KQJ1075

3NT

all pass 

♣ Q832
♣ K107



You are West, declarer in a dubious 3NT contract. North leads the ♥8 (4th best) to the ♥3, ♥10, ♥J. You lead a ♦ to dummy’s ♦10 and continue with the ♦K, North winning with the ♦A and South showing three ♦’s. North (not knowing that your ♥K is now bare) shifts to the ♠4, South putting up the ♠J, do you have any chance of making the contract?

Dave’s Column answer




Board 18 from Wednesday 12th May   
Dealer:
♠ K754



Book Bidding
East
♥ AQ98

West

North
East

South
N-S vul
♦ A3

-


-

3♦

pass

♣ AJ5


3NT

dbl

all pass

♠ AQ1032
N
♠ 6


♥ KJ
W
E
♥ 643

♦ 86
S
♦ KQJ1075

 
♣ Q832


♣ K107


♠ J98


 
 
♥ 10752



♦ 942



♣ 964


You are West and your shot at 3NT was debatable (as was East’s opening bid) and when North’s double is passed out it seems as though you have seriously erred. 

North leads the ♥8 (4th best) to the ♥3, ♥10, ♥J. You lead a ♦ to dummy’s ♦10 and continue with the ♦K, North winning with the ♦A and South showing three ♦’s. North shifts to the ♠4, South putting up the ♠J, do you have any chance of making the contract?

When the deal was first played, Victor Mitchell, one of the most colorful of bridge players, was declarer. 

After a ♥ to declarer’s ♥J and two rounds of ♦’s, North did not cash the ♥A because he did not know that West’s ♥K was dropping. But if Mitchell had taken the fourth trick with his ♠Q over South’s ♠J and played a ♣ towards dummy’s ♣K then North would have had no choice. He would have won with his ♣A and in desperation cashed the ♥A, with gratifying results from his point of view. 
Setting a subtle trap, Mitchell took South’s ♠J with the ♠A! Then, when North won the next trick with the ♣A, he continued with a low ♠, expecting partner to win with the ♠Q and push a ♥ through for at least three down. But it didn’t work out quite like that when Mitchell won with his ♠10 , crossed to dummy with a ♣, ran the ♦’s, took the ♣’s and claimed two overtricks.
And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 2NT*(N)-5, 4♥*(S)-3, 3♦=, 2♣= and 2♣-2
Dave’s 2nd Column

Here is Dave’s second problem, this one on defense.
Dealer:
♠ A65





South
♥ QJ107

West

North
East

South
E-W vul
♦ 65

-


-

-

2♠

♣ AKQJ


pass

4♠

all pass

N
♠ K4


W
E
♥ 8432
You are East, defending 4♠. Partner leads the 
S
♦ AJ92
♦4 and declarer drops the ♦8 under your ♦A.
 

♣ 743
How do you plan the defense?
Dave’s 2nd Column answer




Board 19 from Wednesday 12th May 
Dealer:
♠ A65



Book Bidding
South
♥ QJ107

West

North
East

South
E-W vul
♦ 65

-


-

-

2♠

♣ AKQJ


pass

4♠

all pass

♠ 73
N
♠ K4


♥ K95
W
E
♥ 8432

♦ K10743
S
♦ AJ92

 

♣ 1082


♣ 743


♠ QJ10982


 
 
♥ A6

You are East. Partner leads the ♦4 and declarer drops the
♦ Q8


♦8 under your ♦A. How do you plan the defense?
♣ 965



East should start by checking the defensive tricks. He can see one in ♠’s and already has got one in ♦’s. Where the other two coming from? Not in ♠’s or ♣’s. Hopefully partner has the ♦K, so a ♥ trick is also needed, and there is a need for urgency. You must switch to a ♥ at trick two; and you should play the ♥8 – a high card warning partner that you are leading from a weak suit. With this play declarer cannot succeed.

Note that if you return a ♦ at trick two, the contract makes as declarer plays ♠’s and his ♥ loser then disappears on dummy’s 4th ♣ once the trumps are gone.. 




And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 4♠= twice, 4♠-1 three times.
Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
3♦, obviously. This suit is NOT solid and so the hand does not qualify for a gambling 3NT. 
Hand B:
(a)
3♠, a splinter agreeing ♥’s and promising ♠ shortage.

(b)
I would pass – partner knows that you have ♠ shortage and has chosen to defend; with values in the minor suits I would not over-rule him. I guess that 5♥ is reasonable and if you really want to look for slam then bid a 5♦ cue bid. The only bid that I find totally ridiculous is 4NT, RKCB, because if partner has two keycards and the ♥Q he responds 5♠ and you will be propelled into 6♥ with two keycards missing. 

Hand C:
3♦. Even if you play Cappelletti and can bid 2♣, or if you play a natural 2♦, then these are perfectly acceptable but I still prefer 3♦ at this vulnerability as it has more pre-emptive effect and may make life difficult for the opponents. 

Hand D:
4♣, pass or correct. You may have the outside suits stopped but there is no entry to partner’s hand and so you should not pass. 4♦ is wrong although you know that partner has ♦’s, as that bid is conventionally used with a strong hand to ask for shortage.
Bidding Sequence Quiz Answer
E
3NT




This is best played as the gambling 3NT, promising a solid 7-8 card minor with no ace or king outside.
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