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Mon 11th
N-S
1st
Bengt M & Tomas
58%
2nd
Mike G & Jan
57%

E-W
1st
Paul Sc & Dave H
65%
2nd
Bob S & Per And...
59%

Wed 13th 

1st
Gerry & Per-Ake
62%
2nd
Bjorn R & Dave H
59%

Wed 20th   
1st
Jean & Dave C
68%
2nd
Mike & Dave H
61%
Fri 22nd 

1st
Janne & Jan
62%
2nd
Bengt D & Jean
59%
Bidding Quiz

Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.
Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A you open 1NT and partner transfers with 2♦, 
do you dutifully bid 2♥ or do you super-accept?

♠ AK
♠ J72 
♥ K53
♥ 974
(a)
What do you open with Hand B?
♦ QJ1073
♦ AK3
(b)
Suppose you open 1NT and partner transfers with 2♦. You
♣ A42
♣ AK42
bid 2♥ and partner bids 3NT. What now – pass or 4♥?
Hand C
Hand D
With Hand C partner opens 1NT and you transfer with 2♦.
Partner bids 2♥, what do you bid now?
♠ 104
♠ A74


♥ AKJ106
♥ AQ106
(a)
With Hand D RHO 
opens 1♥, what do you bid?
♦ Q1054
♦ Q98
(b)
With Hand D LHO 
opens 1♣ and RHO bids 1♥, what
♣ Q7
♣ A102
do you bid this time?

Hand E
Hand F
With Hand E RHO opens 1NT, do you double?
♠ KJ6
♠ K1076

 
♥ A852
♥ 96
With Hand F you are in first seat, vul against not. Do you open?
♦ K9
♦ KQ1076

♣ KJ104
♣ K3
Hand G
Hand H
With Hand G LHO opens 1♠ and this is passed to you, what 
do you do?
♠ 832
♠ KQ9

 
♥ AJ973
♥ K652

♦ K87
♦ A4
With Hand H RHO opens 1♠, what do you do?
♣ 96
♣ Q542



Bidding Sequence Quiz

L
1♣
pass
1♥
pass

 

3NT



What does 3NT show?
M
1♣
pass
1♥
pass

 


3NT
pass
4♣

What is 4♣ here?
N
1NT
pass
2♦
pass

 


2♥
pass
4♣

What is 4♣ here?
P
1NT
pass
2♦
pass

 


2♥
pass
4NT

What is 4NT here?
Q
1NT
pass
2♦
pass
3♥ is a super-accept of the transfer, 
 


3♥
pass
4NT

what is 4NT here?
To Open or Not to Open?



Board 19 from Friday 22nd April

Dealer:
♠ J4



Table A
South
♥ AJ1084

West(F)
North
East

South
E-W vul 
♦ J3

-

-

-

pass

♣ 9876


pass
(1)
pass

1♦
(2)
pass

1♠


pass

2♠

pass

♠ K1076

N
♠ A952

3♠
(3)
pass

pass
(4)
pass 
♥ 96
W
E
♥ 653


♦ KQ1076
S

♦ A842

Table A
♣ K3


♣ A5


West(F)
North
East

South


♠ Q83


-


-

-

pass
♥ KQ2




1♦
(1)
pass

1♠

pass
♦ 95


2♠


pass

4♠
(5)
all pass
♣ QJ1042


Table A:
(1)
Did you open with this West hand F in this week’s quiz? It seems that two out of four decided to pass.

(2)
A minimal opener, but it’s 15 for the rule of 15 for 4th seat openers, so fine.

(3)
Inviting game, 3♦ looks better to me.

(4)
With a minimum and no clue about the double fit, East obviously passes.

Table B:
(1)
One player asked my opinion on opening this hand, and this 1♦ is my answer to question F. The hand conforms to the rule of 20 with most of the points in the long suits. And if there was any doubt, the two tens in the long suits make it an obvious opener to me.

(5)
With a known double fit, East has an easy game bid.

And what happened? 4♠= twice, 3♠+1 twice.

The bottom lines 

· The rule of 20 (with points in the long suits) is an excellent guide for marginal openers in 1st or 2nd seat. 

· Tens in long suit with another honour are easily worth ½ a point each.

Bidding in the Sandwich Seat



Board 25 from Friday 22nd April

Dealer:
♠ KJ9



Table A
North
♥ J843

West(D)
North
East

South
E-W vul 
♦ K10

-

1♣

pass

1♥

♣ KQ74


1NT
(1)
dbl
(2)
all pass
♠ A74

N
♠ Q82

Table A 
♥ AQ106
W
E
♥ 2

West(D)
North
East

South
♦ Q98
S
♦ 65432

-

1♣

pass

1♥
♣ A102


♣ 9863


pass
(1)
2♥

all pass

♠ 10653


♥ K975


♦ AJ7

♣ J5


Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this West hand D(b) in this week’s quiz? A 1NT bid here, between two bidding and unlimited opponents, is very dangerous and I would never even consider it (especially at this vulnerability). 

(2)
North knows that there is a ♥ fit and so decided to double as he has great cards in all of the other suits and a clear ♥ lead. Pass is the alternative, but then I assume that South will double. 

Table B:
(1)
This pass is my answer to question D(b), I don’t like going for 200 or 500 on what is obviously a partscore deal.
And what happened? 1NT did indeed go for 500 for a huge top to N-S. All other N-S’s went down in 2♥ when West kept quiet.
The bottom lines 

· It is dangerous to bid in the Sandwich seat with a balanced hand. Indeed, with Paul Q we play 1NT in this position as unusual (the Sandwich NT), with length in the other two suits but not good enough for 2NT.
Bidding After a Transfer



Board 7 from Wednesday 20th April

This topic occurred in the last news sheet, yet it seems at least three out of four ignored the advice (or didn’t read the news-sheet) and so partner played in the inferior 3NT contract.
Dealer:
♠ 104



Table A
South
♥ AKJ106

West

North(C)
East

South(B)
both vul 
♦ Q1054

-

-

-

1NT
(1)

♣ Q7


pass

2♦

pass

2♥

pass


3NT
(2)
pass

pass
(3)
♠ KQ63

N
♠ A985

pass 
♥ Q852
W
E
♥ 3


♦ J86

S
♦ 972

Table B

♣ 93


♣ J10865


West
North(C)
East

South(B)

♠ J72

 
-


-

-

1NT
(1)
♥ 974




pass

2♦

pass

2♥

♦ AK3


pass


3♦
(2)
pass

4♥
(4)
♣ AK42




all pass
Table A:
(1)
What did you open with this South hand B(a) in this week’s quiz? This hand is 3334, but the great aces and kings make it worth a 1NT opener. 
(2)
What did you bid with this North hand A in this week’s quiz? This was the popular choice, presumably the perpetrators did not read the last news sheet?

(3)
What did you bid with this South hand B(b) in this week’s quiz? With poor ♥’s, no ruffing values and all of the points in the other suits most chose to pass and play in 3NT, and I agree. You should normally go for a 4-4 fit, but a 5-3 fit is often a guess.
Table B:
(2)
This 3♦ is my choice for question C, inform partner of your shortage in the black suits in order to give him more information as to whether to play in 3NT or 4♥.

(4)
South now has no problem bidding the correct contract. 

And what happened? 4♥= for an outright top, even though it appears that there are eleven tricks – I guess you can misplay the hand if everybody else is in the wrong contract. 3NT= three times shared the bottom. 4♥ looks cold for an overtrick and 3NT only made because the ♠’s were 4-4 and the ♥K onside.
The bottom lines:

· This is an exact copy from the last news sheet: - “If partner opens 1NT and you have game going values with a 5-card major and also 5-card minor (or a 4-card minor with weakness in the other two suits), then transfer and then bid the minor (rather than 3NT) to warn partner of shortage in the other two suits.”
Qui Culpa?





Board 21 from Monday 11th April
North was left to play comfortably in 1♠ when E-W can make 4♥, who would you blame?
Dealer:
♠ AJ1065



Table A
North
♥ Q

West(G)
North
East(H)
South
N-S vul 
♦ 109652

-

1♠

pass
(1)
pass

♣ AK


pass
(2)

♠ 832

N
♠ KQ9

Table B 
♥ AJ973
W
E
♥ K652

West(G)
North
East(H)
South
♦ K87
S
♦ A4

-

1♠

pass
(1)
pass
♣ 96


♣ Q542


2♥
(2)
pass

4♥

all pass

♠ 74

 


♥ 1084





♦ QJ3



♣ J10873


Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this East hand H in this week’s quiz? It’s not quite good enough for a 1NT overcall and totally the wrong shape for a take-out double. So this pass is correct, and hope that partner understands balancing. My 2nd choice would be 1NT and I would bid this if my partner did not understand balancing..
(2)
What did you bid with this West hand G in this week’s quiz? Unfortunately it seems that a number of  players do not understand balancing and four found this pass. 
Table B:
(2)
This 2♥ is my choice for question G with this reasonable 5-card suit. 
And what happened? Four North’s played in 1♠ and two West’s played in 4♥ making. I trust that one table the bidding was as shown for table B. I know that at the other one East decided to double at (1) and so the ♥ fit was found.
The bottom lines:

· To answer the question, West was at fault for not bidding/balancing.

· Understand balancing. You do not need a great hand to bid in the pass-out seat (borrow a king).
· Assuming that partner understands balancing, do not double with flat hands.

Dave’s Column
North
South
West

North
East

South

♠ 953
♠ AQJ10642
-


1NT

pass

3♠

♥ A863
♥ 54
pass

4♣


dbl

pass
♦ AKJ7
♦ Q4
pass

4♦

pass

4♠
♣ A7
♣ 64
pass
5♥

pass

6♠
You are South, declarer in 6♠ on a ♣ lead. Plan the play after you win the ♣A. If an immediate ♠ finesse loses then you are down, so is there a better line?

Dave’s Column Answer




Board 15 from Wednesday 13th April
Dealer:
♠ 953



Book Bidding
North
♥ A863

West

North
East

South
N-S vul 
♦ AKJ7

-


1NT

pass

3♠
(1)

♣ A7


pass

4♣
(2)
dbl

pass
pass

4♦
(2)
pass

4♠
♠ -
N
♠ K87

pass

5♥
(2)
pass

6♠
♥ KJ107
W
E
♥ Q92
 
all pass
♦ 9852
S
♦ 1063
 
♣ QJ1032


♣ K985
 

♠ AQJ10642

 

♥ 54

(1)
slam try with good ♠’s
 
♦ Q4
(2)
Control bids
♣ 64
A superficial inspection of this deal from the European Championships in Ostend reveals a marginal 6♠ slam which will probably get home because of the favourable location of the ♠K. But that was not the whole story.
How do you play on the lead of the ♣Q after winning with the ♣A? Do you run the ♠9 relying on the ♠ finesse or take a more circuitous perambulation as follows:
Take the ♣A and cash the ♠A, hoping to see the ♠K. When it does not appear run for cover with three ♦’s, discarding the losing ♣ from hand, leaving the ♦J on table for a subsequent ♥ discard. This sounds rather good.  As long as trumps divide 2-1 and two ♦’s survive then declarer is home. This is much better odds than the straight forward finesse. However, after the ♠A and ♦Q, declarer took the ♦AK but fatally continued with the ♦J, allowing East to ruff with the ♠8.
Have you spotted South’s mistake? After the ♦K declarer should call for a low ♠. Assume east wins with the ♠K and returns a ♥ in order to dislodge the ♥A. No good, Dummy vitally preserved  ♠9 draws East’s last trump and the ♦J takes care of the ♥ loser.
And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? Nearly everybody was in 4♠, making +3 when the immediate ♠ finesse worked.
Dave’s  2nd Column



Dealer:
♠ KJ54



Book bidding
West
♥ KJ94

West

North
East

South
E-W vul 
♦ 2

1♥


pass

1♠

pass


♣ K1093


2♦
(1)
pass

2NT

pass

3♥

pass

3NT

pass


6♦
(2)
all pass

You are North with this hand, defending 6♦, what do you lead?
Dave’s 2nd Column Answer

Board 16 from Wednesday 13th April
Dealer:
♠ KJ54



Book bidding
West
♥ KJ94

West

North
East

South
E-W vul 
♦ 2

1♥


pass

1♠

pass

♣ K1093


2♦
(1)
pass

2NT

pass
3♥

pass

3NT

pass

♠ -
N
♠ AQ96

6♦
(2)
all pass

♥ AQ8732
W
E
♥ 5
 
♦ AQJ84
S
♦ K63
(1)
Surely 3♦ is normal 
♣ A7


♣ Q6542
(2)
from one extreme …
 

♠ 108732

 
♥ 106

 
 

♦ 10975


♣ J8




The auction was a strange affair, with Geir Helgemo (West) finally resting in 6♦.
But then Helgemo has never been renowned for his contribution to bidding theory. It is card play where he is almost without equal. Let him demonstrate why:

Given that promising ♥ holding, one might anticipate a trump lead from North. Even Helgemo’s wizardry could not magic up 12 winners from there.

Instead North led a ♠ and Helgemo played the ♠Q from dummy, discarding a ♥. He then set about the ♥’s with a ♥ to the ♥A and a ruff. Then the ♠A for a ♣ pitch and a ♣ to the ♣A brought West to the key moment. He led a third ♥ and ruffed, but with what? 
Given that the contract would almost certainly succeed whenever South retained ♥K, Helgemo could afford the ♦K as a variation on the safety play. Well done. 

He continued with by ruffing a small ♠ and ruffing a ♥ with the last low ♦ in dummy. For now, South had to bide his time. With a natural trump winner there was no advantage to over-ruffing. Further, it would gift West control of the hand. Say he tries a ♠ after over-ruffing, declarer simply plays the ♦8, draws trumps and the ♥Q takes the 13th trick.
However, South’s alternative also fails. He discarded the ♣J instead of over-ruffing, so Helgemo called for dummy’s remaining ♠ and played the ♦8 from hand with ♦AQJ to finish the job. North’s opening salvo proved to be disastrous.
And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? Only one pair were in 6♦ and North did indeed find the best lead of a trump, so declarer had no chance and went two down.
Dave’s  3rd Column



N
♠ 4

West

North
East

South
W
E
♥ K76
 
1♥

pass
2♣

2♠
S
♦ QJ108
 pass

pass

3♥

pass
♣ KQ1098
 
4♥

pass

pass

dbl

all pass
♠ KQ1097

 

♥ A952

You are South, defending 4♥*. North leads the ♠2 and West took his ♠A
♦ AK
and ruffed a ♠. He then led the ♥K from dummy. Plan the defence for South.
♣ 73

Dave’s 3rd Column Answer

Board 16 from Wednesday 20th April
Dealer:
♠ J852



Book bidding
West
♥ 8

West

North
East

South
Both vul 
♦ 7542

1♥


pass

2♣

2♠

♣ 6543


pass

pass

3♥

pass

4♥

pass

pass

dbl
♠ A63
N
♠ 4

all pass

♥ QJ1043
W
E
♥ K76
 
♦ 963
S
♦ QJ108
 
♣ AJ


♣ KQ1098
 


♠ KQ1097

 

♥ A952

 
 

♦ AK


♣ 73




North leads the ♠2 and West took his ♠A and ruffed a ♠. He then led the ♥K from dummy. Plan the defence for South.
Today’s South went after the wrong prize. He believed the best place for his trump ace was on dummy’s king, but he was wrong. The best use for his ♥A was to seize command of the play at the right time.

Our South won dummy’s trump king. What could he do now? A black suit return was futile, so South returned a trump. This allowed Qwest to draw trumps and run dummy’s ♣’s, giving him a doubled overtrick

Had South cashed his top ♦’s after capturing East’s ♥K, he would have killed the overtrick, but not the contract.

To defeat the game, South must refuse to win dummy’s ♥K. This simple maneuver transfers South’s problem to West. After South’s duck, West cannot recover. If he leads a trump, South wins and cashes two ♦’s and a ♠ for one down.

If West crosses to his If West crosses to his A to ruff his last ♠, he loses control of the play. If he tries to run ♣’s, South ruffs and West over-ruffs, but West cannot win ten tricks. When he knocks our South’s ♥A, South leads a ♠. If West ruffs he cannot draw South’s last trump without conceding two ♦’s and a long ♠, thus going one down.

I leave it as an exercise to the reader to work out what happens if declarer leads the ♦Q at trick three and subsequently leads another ♦ to set up that suit as well as the ♣’s.

Double 1NT with 15 points?



Board 12  from Friday 22nd April

Dealer:
♠ 532



West

North
East(E)

South

West
♥ K1093

pass


1NT

dbl
(1)
all pass
N-S vul 
♦ AQ10




♣ AQ6

(1)
Did you double with this East hand (E) in 


this week’s quiz? The norm for a double
♠ Q1087

N
♠ KJ6

is about 15-17 points, but I would not double 
♥ J74
W
E
♥ A852

as the hand has no good lead. One player
♦ J854
S
♦ K9

who doubled led a ♥ and that was not good.
♣ 95


♣ KJ104



♠ A94


♥ Q6
And what happened? 1NT*= and 1NT= not doubled,

♦ 7632

and two spurious results.
♣ 8732



The bottom lines: 

-     With just 15 points, you need a good lead to double 1NT.

Current club championship standings

	
	Gold Cup = Best 30
	Silver Plate = Best 10
	Bronze Medal = Best 5

	1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10
	
	639.8 Per Andersson
638.4 Hans Vikman
624.0 Lars Broman
621.5 Janne Roos
610.8 Paul Quodomine
608.4 Bob Short
602.2 Tomas Wikman
600.7 Paul Scully
600.0 Sean Burgess
594.6 Bengt Malmgren
	332.2 Per Andersson
326.2 Hans Vikman
321.7 Lars Broman
317.6 Janne Roos
315.4 Paul Scully
314.6 Bob Short
313.8 Paul Quodomine
312.2 Gerard Hardy
310.9 Bengt Malmgren
310.8 Sean Burgess


Linda was kind enough to upload the photos she took at the 2010 prize presentation, the link is on the website, or simply click this link: https://picasaweb.google.com/lyen.linda/PattayaBridgeClub?authkey=Gv1sRgCJKBgLa70eT7DA
Bidding Quiz Answers

Hand A:
2♥. This is East 2 from Wednesday 21st and is actually from Dave’s 4th column, which did not get into the news-sheet as virtually nobody played the methods involved.  Anyway, I would never super-accept with three mediocre trumps. Remember, partner’s transfer is not an invitation and may be as few as zero points. The whole concept behind super-accepts is the law of total tricks, assuming there are nine trumps between the two hands. I would assume that anybody good enough to know what a super-accept is would know that this hand is unsuitable – but it appears not. The fact that it is a maximum 1NT is irrelevant.
Hand B:
(a)
1NT. It’s the poor shape but the two AK’s in are enough compensation.


(b)
Pass. Maybe it’s close, but with no obvious weakness except ♥’s I prefer to go for the nine trick game. 
Hand C:
3♦, showing the shape. This is game forcing and I much prefer this to 3NT as it gives partner more information to know which game to bid. 
Hand D:
(a)
1NT, obviously.
(b)
Pass. But it’s different here. You are between two unlimited opponents and partner is obviously bust. It’s best to keep quiet and hopefully defeat the opponents’ eventual contract. To bid 1NT in this position with a flat hand is asking for trouble.

Hand E:
Pass. I would pass because there is no good lead.
Hand F:
1♦. This is a very clear opener to me. It conforms with the rule of 20 with most of the points in the long suits and also two tens in the long suit and an easy rebid.
Hand G:
2♥. You should balance here as partner may have a good hand (he did).
Hand H:
Pass. The hand is the wrong shape for a take-out double and has insufficient values for a 1NT overcall. I would never double (what do you do if partner bids 2♦) and my second choice would be 1NT as it’s nearly good enough, and I would bid this if my partner did not understand balancing.
Bidding Sequence Quiz Answers

L
1♣
pass
1♥
pass

 


3NT



I play this as a good hand with a good long ♣ suit
M
1♣
pass
1♥
pass

 


3NT
pass
4♣

I play 4♣ here as agreeing ♣’s and looking for a ♣ slam
N
1NT
pass
2♦
pass

 


2♥
pass
4♣

I play this as ace (or keycard by agreement) asking
P
1NT
pass
2♦
pass

 


2♥
pass
4NT

I play this as quantitative.
Q
1NT
pass
2♦
pass



3♥
pass
4NT

♥’s are agreed, so this is RKCB.
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