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Last week’s winners:    Monday 1/9/03      Friday  5/9/03

1st Dave/Richard 60% 1st Hans/Richard 56 VP
2nd Ken/David 59% 2nd Don/Wendy 47 VP

Not much to report this week, a bit quiet. No Director calls, minimal post-mortems, no incessant
chatter, no psyches. I wonder why?

If anybody runs into Bill please urge him to return to the club, it’s nice and peaceful now. Kenneth has
gone back to Sweden for a month or so and so the Ken playing with David and getting 59% is the ken who
usually partners Clive (who has gone off to Malaysia for a break).

Bidding Quiz

Hand A Hand B With Hand A, RHO opens 1. What is your bid?

 A43  A98
 53  AQJ What is you opening bid with Hand B? If you choose 1,
 AKQ1053  A10764 what is your rebid after a 1 reply from partner?
 83  A8  

Hand C Hand D Playing a strong NT, what do you open with Hand C?

 952  J1096
 AQ2  J8 With hand D partner opens 1, do you respond?
 AKJ3  QJ83
 Q73  1075

Hand E Hand F What do you open with Hand E?

 K32  K1064
 A54  AQ9 With hand F partner opens 1, what do you reply?
 AK  Q95
 AK942  Q102

Hand G Hand H With Hand G partner opens 1 and RHO over calls 1. 
Obviously you pass. This goes round to partner who 

 QJ92  QJ72 doubles, what do you do?
 84  653
 J985  Q64 With Hand H partner opens 2NT (20-22), what do you bid?
 865  1092



Winners and Losers Board  6 from Friday 5th . Dealer East.

North South (A) West North East South

 -  A43 - - 1 3 (1)
 Q9  53 3 5 (2) pass pass
 J742  AKQ1053 pass
 AQ109762  83

Board 6 from Friday, first of all the bidding: 3 at (1) is a jump overcall. Traditionally this is a good
hand (like the South hand here, perhaps stronger) but these days most people play weak jump overcalls
and would simply overcall 2 with this hand. North assumed that the bid was weak and made an advance
‘sacrifice’ of 5. As it happens, he could make the same call if partner’s bid was intermediate, but then
with a view to possibly making!

Now the play. West led J, what do you play from dummy (North)? All you have to do is count your
winners. Six ’s, six ’s (after losing one  trick) and one  = 13 tricks. No problem there, but what
about losers. Two ’s and one , that’s one too many; fortunately the opponents did not start by cashing
their two  tricks and so one  loser can be tossed on the A. So win A, draw trumps, cash A
chucking a , concede a trick to K and claim 11 tricks. Unfortunately South did not have his thinking
cap on and played Q on the J lead. You only have to think a little here, apart from the fact that the
contract is cold (on the lines given above), J is probably a singleton and is certainly not led from  KJ(x).
East must have K (and he also opened the bidding). The K, a  ruff and two  losers then meant two
down in a cold game contract. 

The bottom line? Think at trick one!

Responding with game values Board 18 from Friday 5th 

West East (F) West East

 AQ98  K1064 1 (1) 2 (2)
 K873  AQ9 4 pass
 6  Q95
 AK93  Q102

A reasonable slam missed (it was also played in 4 at the other table). What went wrong here? First,
the opening bid. Playing 5 card majors you have to open 1, but playing 4 card majors I think 1 is
correct (although 1 found the fit directly here!). Now what about that 2 bid at (2)? East wanted to
show support, but unfortunately 2 shows 6-9 points and is definitely not forcing. What should East bid? If
not playing Swiss (4 here to show a solid raise) I would bid 2 and then 4 next go, this is a delayed
game raise, showing a sound raise to 4 (a direct 4 is usually played as pre-emptive). Anyway, East
must make a forcing bid (such as 2) or else bid 4 directly.

And how should the hand be bid? I would open 1 West East
but it’s the same if you open 1 (except that the
splinter then needs to be 4). After partner’s 1 1/1 1
the West hand is perhaps just good enough to splinter. 3/4 4NT etc to 6
East likes a  shortage and so asks for aces.



Passing partner’s take-out or ‘automatic’ double Board 14 from Monday 14th 

South (G) Partner opens 1 and RHO over calls 1. Obviously you pass. This goes
round to partner who doubles, what do you do? It does not matter if you

 QJ92 are playing negative doubles of not, you cannot pass. 1NT is pushy, it 
 84 is 2 points light (1NT is 6-9 here) but the ’s are well placed and the 9 
 J985 is a good card. Either 2 or 2 are reasonable alternatives, I would bid 2.
 865 What happened? 1 doubled was passed out and made with 3 overtricks 

(partner had a singleton ); scoring more than 4 bid and made! 
This hand is not good enough for a penalty pass. When partner makes a take-out double or similar bid: -

A non-jump suit bid promises zero points and does not even guarantee a four card suit.

Denying a 4 card major Board 15 from Fri 18th.

East (H) A never-ending topic, I know. But one of our (ex) leading players made a 
bid that I did not particularly like (so what’s new?). Anyway, you hold 

 QJ72 this hand and partner opens 2NT (20-22) or perhaps opens 2 followed by
 653 2NT (22-23), depends upon your system. Anyway, partner’s bid showed
 Q64 around 22 points and balanced. What is your bid? I was kibitzing behind
 1092 Chuck and he bid 3NT, the following conversation ensued: -

Terry: Could be one for the news sheet.
Chuck: What? You would not try for game at teams?
Terry: Of course I would.
Chuck: Do you mean that you would bid Stayman first?
Terry: Certainly.

Chuck faced a 20-22 point opener. Game is not at all certain but certainly worth a go, especially at
teams. So, a thin game. Some pundits prefer to ignore Stayman on completely flat hands, I don’t like it –
especially when over half your points are in a 4 card major. Chuck’s thoughts were presumably that nine
tricks are easier than ten? I disagree, I believe that a 4-4 fit will normally produce at least one extra trick,
even when responder is totally flat - I’ve been all through this before. Additionally, the majority of this
hand’s points are in the 4 card major. If partner does not have 4 ’s, you end up in 3NT anyway and have
lost nothing. 

And at the other table? Ian held this hand and bid Stayman. Good show. Mind you, Ian had had the
wisdom of recent news sheets which Chuck had missed. It’s not often that I suggest that Ian made a better
bid than Chuck. Just goes to show, if I keep on persevering, I will succeed. 

No Stopper for 1NT? Hand 14 South from Friday 5th 

South (C)

 952 At table 1 this hand opened 1 and rebid 2 after partner’s 1 response,
 AQ2 an easy 3NT was missed. Always open 1NT with a balanced hand within 
 AKJ3 your allotted 1NT range. You do not promise an honour in every suit. 
 Q73 Playing a weak NT, open this hand 1 and rebid 1NT (15-16).  



The 2NT and 3NT rebids           Table 1                      Table 2

North (B) South North South North South

 A98  J1063 1 1 1 1
 AQJ  875 2NT (1) pass (2) 3NT (1) pass
 A10764  K53
 A8  Q73

Board  19 from Friday 5th. Both North’s made the correct 1 opening bid but chose different rebids.
The modern theory is that a 2NT rebid at (1) shows 18-19 points (17-19 if you play a weak NT) and is
not absolutely forcing (a 3NT rebid shows a good hand with a long suit). Some players prefer to bid 2NT
with 18 points and 3NT with 19 points. I would definitely rebid 2NT. I go along with modern theory, 2NT
is more flexible and allows for a possible 4 contract if partner has 5 ’s. And what about South’s pass at
(2)? Dubious, I think that most players would bid 3NT (the K is a great card). 3NT is a good contract
but as it happened 8 tricks was the limit on the hand.

No Justice?                 Table 1                                         Table 2

West (E) East (D) West East West East

 K32  J1096 1 pass 2NT 3
 A54  J8 3 3NT
 AK  QJ83
 AK842  1075

Board  20 from Friday 5th. West opened 1 at table 1 and played there. At the other table the bidding
was what I would recommend; unfortunately there is no entry to dummy and 3NT fails whereas 1 made
+1. No justice?

And should East respond to 1 or pass at table 1? This really is a matter of style and partnership
understanding. Many stick by the rule of 6 points to respond, just as many are loath to pass a 1 opener.
With good ’s and good intermediates, I would bid.

Bidding Quiz Solutions

Hand A If you play intermediate jump overcalls, then bid 3. If you play weak jump overcalls, then bid
2. Double and then bid ’s is another possibility but I would prefer a stronger hand.

Hand B Open 1 and then jump to 2NT. This shows 18-19 pts. I.e. a hand too strong to open a strong
NT. In Acol (weak NT) this bid is 17-19.

Hand C Open a strong 1NT. If you play a weak NT open 1 and rebid 1NT over 1/.
Hand D Either pass or 1 or 1 could work out best! I would bid 1. Debatable.
Hand E Open 2NT. 2NT is a balanced 20-22 (some play 20-21) pts.
Hand F Best is 2 if you don’t play Jacoby 2NT or Swiss; but 4 is simplest.       
Hand G 2 or 2, possibly 1NT. Do NOT pass.
Hand H 3, Stayman.


