
        Club News Sheet – No. 112       24/12/2004           

Monday 20/12/04 N-S winners E-W winners     
1st  Kenneth/David 61 % 1st  Gerard/Derek 61 %
2nd Knut/Olav 60 % 2nd Mike(Can)/Kees 56 %

Wednesday 22/12/04 N-S winners E-W winners     
1st  Clive/Terry 62 % 1st  Gerard/Derek 66 %
2nd Bjorn/Kees 54 % 2nd Jeff/Perry 57 %

Friday 24/12/04 1st Ursula/David 58 % 2nd Gerard/Derek 56 %

Looks like Ursula/David prevented Gerard/Derek from getting the grand slam trophy.

Bidding Quiz             Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated.

Hand A Hand B With Hand A partner opens 1 and you bid 1. Partner then 
bids 2, what do you do?

 K872  9863
 J97  K1094
 QJ654  83 With Hand B partner opens 1NT, what do you do?  
 6  Q96

Hand C Hand D With Hand C RHO opens 1, what do you do?

 KQ108  KJ5 What do you open with Hand D?
 K5  52
 KJ984  QJ4
 65  AKJ42 With Hand E LHO opens 1 and partner bids 1, what

do you do?
Hand E Hand F

(a) What do you open with Hand F?
 A542  Q Suppose you open 1, then what do you rebid if …
 Q762  AQ82 (b) Partner responds 1?
 Q3  AK3 (c) Partner responds 1?
 Q74  A8742 (d) Partner responds 1?

Hand G Hand H Do you open Hand G?

 Q72  KQJ104
 AJ763  A5 Do you open in 2nd seat with Hand H?
 A1062  43
 5  8542

With Hand J you open 1NT and partner responds 3. Your 
Hand J Hand K partnership plays this as a good 6+ card  suit, with slam

interest. So what do you bid? 
 KJ52  A84
 A94  K82 With Hand K partner opens 1NT, what do you bid.
 AK105  QJ6
 Q5  10643   



Never deny a 4 card major Board 14 from Wednesday 15th 

Dealer:  KQ108
East  K5 West North (C) East South (E) 
Love all  KJ984 - - pass pass

 65 1 1 (1) pass 1NT (2)
all pass

 763  N  J9
 A8    W    E  J10943
 A102  S  765 ‘Expert Table’
 A10983  KJ2 West North East South (E)

 A542 - - pass pass
 Q762  1 1 (1) pass 1 (2)
 Q3 pass 1 pass 2 (3)
 Q74 all pass

(1) What did you do with this North Hand C in this week’s quiz? Double is wrong because you cannot
cope with a 1 response from partner – a 1 rebid would then show a much better hand, one that
was too strong to simply overcall 1. A 1 overcall is correct, this does not deny a 4 card major. 

(2) And what did you do with this South Hand E in this week’s quiz? You have enough to bid and
should bid 1. A 1NT bid is incorrect as it denies a 4 card major.

(3) When partner bids ’s this hand is worth another bid.

And what happened? 1NT made exactly (of course it should go one down on the ‘obvious’  lead)
but scored badly anyway as 2 was either making or making +1 at other tables.

The bottom lines: -
- An overcall does not deny a 4 card major.
- If partner overcalls and you wish to bid, do not deny an unbid major.



Don’t pre-empt and then bid again Board 8 from Friday 17th 

How many times do I say the same thing over and over again in the news-sheets? And the culprit
here most certainly reads them – shame it’s in one ear (eye) and out the other.

Dealer:  AKQ985
West  AK953 West  North East South
Love all  9 4 (1) 4 (2) pass pass 

 8 5 (3) 5 (4) all pass

 4  N  J652
 4    W    E  1072
 AQJ106532  S  87
 A73  QJ54

 107
 QJ86  
 K4
 K10962

(1) What would you open with this West Hand ? It’s a matter of style but 5 is probably best. I would
not argue with 4, 1 or even a strong 2. 

(2) The pre-empt has made it difficult for North. He did not wish to double in case partner passed and
so had little choice but 4.

(3) This 5 bid is ridiculous, especially with me leaning over your shoulder. If you think it’s worth 5 (I
won’t argue) then bid it first go. This 2nd bid allows N-S to find the best contract.

(4) And that they did.
 

And what happened? 5 made exactly (as would 4 which thus scores less). Some West’s did
not pre-empt and so N-S played in just 4 at three tables.

The bottom lines: -
- Pre-empt to the limit first go.
- Do not bid again having pre-empted.
- 4 (and 4) are rarely used as pre-empts and I prefer to play Namyats.



Regular Psyching Board 17 from Wednesday 22nd, love all

We all know the club rules – no psyching please. Now you may recall that Thorlief was banned from
the club partly because of his repeated psyching (he maintains that he can bid whatever he likes whenever
he likes – not at my club). He was actually evicted when he punched somebody in the club. Now the
Wednesday club is not strictly under my control and he has made an unwelcome appearance. Instead of
keeping a low profile, he again psyches!

North (J) South (K) Table A
West North East South 

 KJ52  A84 - 1NT pass 3NT (1)
 A94  K82 all pass
 AK105  QJ6
 Q5  10643 Table B

West North East South
- 1NT pass 3 (1)
pass 3NT all pass

Table A: Pretty obvious bidding, and that at most tables playing a strong NT.
Table B: But not at Thorlief’s table, he found a 3 bid at (1). Now East held AJ952 and asked

North what the 3 bid was, North replied that it was a long (6+) strong suit, with slam
aspirations. This, indeed, is probably the most common meaning of the bid. The bid here had
the intended effect of inhibiting the otherwise obvious  lead and East was understandably
peeved when he saw dummy. He asked South for an explanation and South rudely said that
he refused to say anything. East correctly reported the incident to me.

And what happened? E-W were awarded the extra trick that was obtained at other tables when a 
was led. N-S were given a zero on the board.

The bottom lines: -
- Many players at the club are inexperienced and cannot cope with psyches. Psyching is discouraged.

Repeated Psyches will always receive a zero score.
- Players who repeatedly psyche will be barred from the Monday/Friday club and I will also use my

(considerable) influence to get them banned from the Wednesday club.
- Alex’s partners should heed this.

Cheating again?

Now let’s look into this incident a little deeper and consider the North Hand J. What did you bid in
this week’s quiz? It is maximum with an excellent card in partner’s 6+ card suit and should most certainly
cooperate in the search for slam. So why did this North not bid, say, a 3 cue bid? 3NT is the weakest
possible bid, there is no logical explanation from an experienced player unless he knows that his partner
psyches in these situations?

If this latter hypothesis is true then that is cheating and is most certainly not allowed in any club; the
pair (Alex/Thorlief) will be closely monitored and will members please report dubious tactics to me
(psyching, bidding after partner’s long pause etc. - also by Alex/Jeff).

The bottom line. You are not allowed to make an inferior bid because you think that partner may be
psyching. This is ‘fielding’ the psyche and is against the rules.



An Easy game missed Board 6 from Wednesday 22nd, E-W vul

North South (H) Table A
West North East South 

 8765  KQJ104 - - pass pass (1)
 K92  A5 pass 1 pass 1
 AQJ2  43 pass 2 (2) pass pass (3)
 K7  8542

Table B
West North East South (me)
- - pass 1 (1)
pass 2NT (3) pass 4 (4) 
all pass

Table A: Fairly obvious up to (3). Now when the hand was over (making 10 tricks) South 
apparently criticized North’s 2 bid, saying he should bid 3. Obviously total nonsense,
North’s bidding is beyond reproach; with this great suit South should simply bid 4 at (3).

Table B: So did you open this South Hand H in this week’s quiz? I did. If you simply add up the
points it’s ten and so totals just 19 for the rule of 20. But KQJ10x is not 6 points, it’s more
like 8. A comfortable opener in my book.
2NT (3) is the Jacoby 2NT and 4 (4) shows a minimum opener with no shortage.

And what happened? 4 was bid at 4 tables out of six and easily made. 
The bottom line.  KQJ10x is more than 6 points!

The Jacoby 2NT

The Jacoby 2NT convention is used primarily in 5 card major systems when partner has opened 1/
. Traditionally a 2NT bid is a balanced 11-12, but this can always be bid after first bidding something
else and so the direct 2NT bid is free as a conventional bid.

The Jacoby 2NT bid promises 4 card support for partner’s major and is generally around 13-16
points. It asks partner to describe his hand further. There are various versions of responses to this
artificial 2NT bid, probably the best (and most popular) is : -

After 1 - 2NT After 1 - 2NT

3 =  shortage 3 =  shortage
3 =  shortage 3 =  shortage
3 = good hand with no shortage 3 =  shortage
3 =  shortage 3 = good hand with no shortage
3NT = average hand with no shortage 3NT = average hand with no shortage
4 = a 5 card  suit 4 = a 5 card  suit
4 = a 5 card  suit 4 = a 5 card  suit
4 = poor hand with no shortage 4 = a 5 card  suit

(fast arrival) 4 = poor hand with no shortage
(fast arrival)

All subsequent sequences are game forcing, a suit bid being be a cue bid. A shortage bid may be a
singleton or void. A subsequent cue bid of a shortage suit would show a void. A good 5 card 2nd suit is
bid in preference to showing a singleton.



2 by whom? Board 10 from Friday 24th 

Dealer:  KJ5 Table A
East  52 West (G)  North (D) East South (B)
both vul  QJ4 - - pass pass

 AKJ42 pass (1) 1NT  (2) pass 2 (3)
pass 2 pass pass (4)

 Q72  N  A104 pass
 AJ763    W    E  Q8
 A1062  S  K975 Table B
 5  10873 West  North  East South 

 9863 - - pass pass
 K1094  1 (1) 2 (5) 2 (6) pass
 83 pass (7) pass 
 Q96

Table A: (1) Did you open this West hand G in this week’s quiz? It’s a borderline opener, 
pass is OK but it conforms with the rule of 20. I would open 1 as there is an easy 2
rebid, and 3rd seat is an additional incentive to open ‘light’.

(2) What did you open with this North hand D in this week’s quiz? 1NT is best, if you open 1
 then you have no sensible rebid (other than a rather unsatisfactory 2) over partner’s
expected 1.

(3) And what did you bid with this South hand B in this week’s quiz? Obviously you must
pass; if you bid 2 Stayman then that will work out fine if partner responds 2 or 2,
but what if he bids 2? …

(4) See what I mean. A silly 3-2 fit and it could have been worse (2-2). To bid 2 or 2
here is weak but promises a 5 card suit.

Table B: (1) This West chose to open, so would I.
(5) A 2 overcall is best with this North hand.
(6) Sometimes you have to stretch when there is interference and I think that 2 here is OK

from a passed hand.
(7) And opposite a passed partner West can happily pass.

And what happened? 2 by North went two down for a virtual bottom. 2 by East made or made
+2 at other tables.

The bottom lines: -
- Generally speaking you need invitational values (so 8+) to bid Stayman.
- There are just two exceptions when you can bid Stayman with less: -

(a) weak 4441 type hands (short ’s) when you pass any response.
(b) weak hands 5-4 or 4-5 in the majors, when you pass a 2/ response and convert a 2

response into your 5 card major.



Is a reverse forcing? Board 24 from Friday 24th 

Dealer:  109543 Table A
West  4 West  North East (F) South 
Love all  10875 pass pass 1 pass

 K105 1 (1) pass 2 (2) pass
2NT (3) pass 3NT all pass

 K872  N  Q
 J975    W    E  AQ82
 QJ64  S  AK3 Table B
 6  A8742 West  North  East South 

 AJ6 pass pass 1 pass
 K1063  1 (1) pass 2 (4) pass
 92 3 (5) pass 4 (6) all pass
 QJ93

Table A: (1) It’s a matter of style/system if you respond 1 or 1 here.
(2) A reverse. Again, it’s a matter of style/system if you play a reverse as forcing after a one

level response. In Standard American it is forcing.
(3) This 2NT bid is obviously wrong, what happened is that West had his hand mis-sorted

and was looking at K872  J97  QJ654 6 (Hand A in this week’s quiz). So what
did you bid with Hand A in the quiz at (3)? I would still bid 3! A Moysian fit should
play well when you can ruff ’s with the short trump hand.

Table B: (1) This West chose to respond 1, fine.
(4) What an underbid! I would bid 4 or else a 3 splinter.
(5) Pass is a very real option here. Luckily for East this player chose to bid on.
(6) And East finally bid the game.

And what happened? 3NT went two down. 4 was bid at most tables; it should make despite the
bad break and K offside. It made plus one at one table but went minus one at others.

The bottom lines: -
- A 19 point hand with 4 card support for partner’s major is worth more than a simple raise, jump to

game if there is no shortage to splinter.



Bidding Quiz Answers

Hand A: 3 or 2NT. Whether or not you play partner’s reverse as forcing this hand is worth another
bid. Partner has just 4 ’s but with a singleton  and thus the possibility of ruffing ’s in the
short trump hand the Moysian fit should play well. Thus I would bid 3, but 2NT is
obviously very reasonable and is what I suspect most of you chose?

Hand B: Pass. You cannot cope with a 2 response if you try Stayman.
Hand C 1. Double is a poor option as you are fixed over a 1 response. A 1 overcall here is not

denying a 4 card major.
Hand D: 1NT. If you open 1 then what do you rebid over a 1 reply? A 2 rebid is possible but

does not show the strength/shape of the hand. A good rule is that if you can describe your
hand accurately with one bid – do so.

Hand E: 1. You certainly have enough to bid and partner’s overcall does not deny a 4 card major.
1NT is a very poor bid as the  ‘stop’ is poor and you may miss a major suit fit.

Hand F: (a) 1. It’s not good enough for a strong opening.
(b) 2. A reverse and showing a good 16+ points. This is a very good hand and 

partner’s 1 response has improved it, so bidding 2 is risky if partner may pass it; but a
reverse is forcing in Standard American.

(c) 4 or a 3 splinter. This hand is certainly worth game after a 4-4  fit is discovered.
(d) 2NT. This shows 18-19 points, fine. 2 would be a (forcing) reverse but is 

pointless as partner has (generally) denied ’s. 3NT is ‘incorrect’ as most experienced
pairs play this as showing a good hand with a long (semi)solid   suit.

Hand G: 1. It conforms with the rule of 20 and with an easy 2 rebid is a sound 1 opener
 in 1st, 2nd or 3rd seat. I may pass in 4th seat.
Hand H: 1. If you add up the ‘points’ and two longest suits it’s only 19 and so does not conform to

the rule of 20. But KQJ10x is not just six points, it’s well worth an opener in any seat.
Hand J: 3. Partner’s bid shows an excellent 6+ card  suit, you are maximum with an excellent

card in ’s and should cue bid the A in search of the best slam. 3NT is not correct as it
shows a minimum and/or very weak ’s.

Hand K: 3NT, of course.


