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Last week’s winners:    Monday 2/2/04                Friday  6/2/04

N-S  1st   John/Dave  60 % E-W 1st  Øystein/Bjarne 59 %    1st  Mike/Angela 62%
N-S  2nd  Norman/Dave  59 % E-W 2nd Chris/Niels 58 %    2nd Lis/Finn 59%

The Dave who won N-S on Monday is a different Dave to the one who came second (obviously).
The Dave who came second is the one who used to play with John but now doesn’t (obviously).
Anyway, the N-S field on Monday was very strong, with pairs such as Paul(Ire)/Joe, Alex/Jeff and
Hans/Michael (3rd, 4th and 5th resp.) all close behind. It looks like the Brits and their weak NT Acol
system won in the day though (1st and 2nd).

The Chris who came 2nd E-W is also a Brit – not the chess playing Chris from England but a new
member (a friend of the 2nd Dave). The Mike who won on Friday is married to Angela (both Brits), he is
not the Canadian Batchelor Mike. All very confusing. Do I need surnames? At least names like Øystein
and Bjarne are unambiguous (they’re not Brits).

Bidding Quiz                Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated.

Hand A Hand B With Hand A partner opens 1 and RHO overcalls 1. What
is your bid?

 Q5  KQ5
 K764  AJ109 With Hand B partner opens 1NT. Do you bid Stayman or 3NT?
 J985  Q76
 1073  963

Hand C Hand D What do you open with Hand C?
 
 A974  A10632
 J73  Q8 What do you open with Hand D?
 3  Q53
 K9832  QJ9

Hand E Hand F With Hand E you open 1 and partner responds 1NT, what now? 

 K10732  862
 Q3  983 With Hand F RHO opens 1 which is passed round to partner
 AK54  KQJ3 who doubles. RHO passes, what do you bid?
 K10  1072

Hand G Hand H With hand G partner opens 1 and RHO doubles. What is
your bid?

 K8  K9743
 AK104  A With hand H partner opens 1 and you bid 1. Partner then
 1084  10975 bids 2, what do you do?
 K865  QJ2



The Beginner’s Page

This week we consider what responder must do when partner opens and you cannot support his suit.
As I said last week, a bid of a new suit is forcing and could be any strength (6+ points). However, if the
new suit is at the two level you need considerably more (11+).

The Jump Shift

But what if you have a very strong hand and a good suit? You can show this by jumping. This is
game forcing and always promises a very good suit (5+ cards). If a major suit, then it strongly suggests
that that suit be trumps. If a minor suit, then it is often angling for 3NT (or a slam). 

Let’s have a few examples, partner has opened 1, what do you respond?

Hand 1 Hand 2 Hand 3 Hand 4 Hand 5 Hand 6

 A864  A8764  AKJ962  864  762  A7
 K8  K8  K8  K8  K84  J8
 986  K86  AJ7  AJ864  AQ86  AKQ987
 J752  KJ2  87  J75  Q84  Q74

Hand 1: 1. You have the correct point count for 1NT, but do not deny a 4 card major. If partner
also has 4 ’s then a  contract will play better. If partner does not have 4 ’s then he will
bid 1NT with a balanced hand (12-14) and that is fine.

Hand 2: 1. You have sufficient points to insist upon game but do not jump to 2 with a suit that is
this poor.

Hand 3: 2. This suit is good enough for a jump shift response.
Hand 4: 1NT. The hand is not strong enough for a 2 level response.
Hand 5: 2. Enough for a 2 level response.
Hand 6: 3. Game forcing. Tell partner about your excellent suit.

Note. What I have said about jump shifts is basic Standard American. Some more advanced players
may choose the jump shift to mean something different – they prefer to take it slowly with strong hands.

The 2 bid when partner opens 1

Hand 7 Hand 8 We see from the above (Hand 5) that a new suit only promises
4 cards. There is, however, one exception. When partner opens

 86  86 1 then a response of 2 by us takes up a lot of bidding space.
 KQJ86  KQJ8 For that reason one needs a 5 card suit (in addition to the
 Q62  Q62 mandatory 11+ pts) to respond 2. With Hands 7 & 8 partner
 KJ5  KJ52 has opened 1. With Hand 7 we respond 2 but with hand 8 we

bid 2. A  fit is never lost, as if opener has a 4 card  suit in
addition to his 5 card  opener, then he will rebid 2.



Stayman or not? Board 27 from Monday 2nd, love all.

North (B) South West North East South

 KQ5  A1032 - - - 1NT
 AJ109  K872 pass 3NT pass pass
 Q76  AJ10 pass
 963  K5

Looking at both hands  it is clear that4 is normally a far better contract. Never deny a 4 card major,
especially when you have a very weak suit. I’ve been all through this before (news-sheet 28), the only time
that you should not bid Stayman opposite a strong NT opener is when you have 13+ points (so 28+ in
total) and all other suits well covered (i.e. weak ‘trumps’).

How many points for a Stayman?

I gave an example last week of a very weak hand that should bid Stayman. One pair asked me about
this as they had always thought that you need invitational values or more to bid Stayman. In principle, that
is correct, and there are just two exceptions where you can bid Stayman with a very weak hand: -

With Hand J you can bid 2. You pass  a 2/
Hand J Hand K Hand L response and convert 2 to 2. It’s the same when 

you have 5’s and 4 ’s (convert 2 to 2).
 K9864  K984  K984 With Hand K you can bid 2 and pass any response.
 J762  J762  J762 But with Hand L you will be fixed over a 2 reply 
 76  87642  - and so it is best to pass 1NT. You do not want to
 Q5  -  87643 play in a possible 4-2 fit. 

How many points for a negative double? Board 4 from Friday 6th, both vul.

West (A) East West North East South

 Q5  AJ76 pass pass 1 1
 K764  83 dbl (1) 2 dbl (2) pass
 J985  Q1042 pass pass
 1073  AJ2

2 made +1 for a complete bottom to E-W, anyone to blame? East later confirmed that his double
at (2) was for penalties (regular partnerships may wish to discuss this) but said that West should have
more for his negative double. I disagree. If there was no intervention then West would respond 1. After
the intervention that is not possible but a negative double here promises no more than a 1 bid would –
values to compete to 2 if there is a fit. With no fit then West bids 2 over any response. To bid 2 at
(1) is incorrect as it denies 4 ’s. It is safe to negative double in this situation with minimal values as you
have a  fit. East’s double on a minimal hand is a very poor bid – he should simply pass.

The bottom line. A negative double is unlimited, but at the one level it only promises values to
compete to 2 of the major, so could be just 6 points.



When not to play in the 4-4 fit Board 17 from Monday 2nd, love all.

North South West North East South

 1094  AKJ7 - 1 pass 1 (1)
 Q6  A94 pass 1NT (2) pass 3 (3)
 8642  AK95 pass 4 (4) pass 4NT
 AKQJ  65 pass 5 pass 6 (5)

pass 6 (6) pass 6NT (7)
pass pass pass

This was the bidding from Joe/Paul on Monday. It may look like a case of passing the buck, but in
fact it is all quite logical.

(1) This hand is strong enough to bid 2 and then reverse into ’s, but it is the wrong shape (that would
promise 5 ’s). So 1 is best here.

(2) 2 is an alternative here (support with support) but South only promises 4 ’s and so 1NT is best.
If the ’s were xx then I would bid 2.

(3) 2 would not be forcing in their system, so 3 is fine but this generally promises 5 ’s. However,
with this very strong hand that’s not really a problem.

(4) What would you bid here? 3NT? Or perhaps 3 (4th suit forcing – checking for a stop)? Maybe, but
I prefer Joes choice of 4 - support with support.

(5) With an established fit and an excellent suit, this is the best slam to bid – the 4-4 fit is usually best and
safer than 6NT,

(6) North, however, knows that his   support is not really slam quality. If there is an unavoidable loser
outside the  suit then it’s probably curtains as there is probably a  loser. North’s sequence (1
followed by 3) usually promises 5 ’s and it looks like the  slam is better.

(7) South, of course, knows exactly why North pulled 6, and he also knows that North has exactly 3
’s (he did not support at (1)). So he bids 6NT.

6NT is an excellent contract – played from the correct hand (you don’t mind a  lead – quite likely
on the bidding). Excellent bidding judgment all round. 6NT made and scored a 2nt top. It was only
beaten by the pair making 6NT +1. It looks impossible, how did you manage it John? Boards like that
help to win competitions, eh?

The bottom line. I am always harping on about the 4-4 fit, and even 8642 is usually fine. You
normally get an extra trick in one hand or the other. An exception, however, is when you have bundles of
points. With a weak suit like this you normally have a trump loser, if you have ample points it may be best
not to have this suit as trumps. 8642 is fine in a part-score or game contract but is too weak to be trumps
in a slam.

A Word about Qx.

As I said, I like the 1NT rebid with the West hand. Qx is an interesting holding; if partner has Axx
(as in this case)then the suit is immune to the opening lead without conceding two tricks to you. Qx
holdings usually belong in declarer’s hand, not dummy. John, of course, opened a weak NT with the
North hand – nothing to think about.



1960, The Year of My Birth? Board 5 from Monday 2nd, N-S vul.

North (C) South West North East South

 105  K86 - 3 pass 3NT (1)
 -  AQ5 pass pass pass
 J98632  AK75
 AK532  Q76

3NT made a comfortable 13 tricks on a  lead, anything wrong with the bidding? Yes! In my view
this is a terrible pre-empt. Pre-empts are 7 card suits and it is best to have points in the pre-empt suit.
Also, a huge second suit like this is unwise for a pre-empt – the hand has too much playing strength. And
the 3NT bid? Fine in my view. Opposite a normal pre-empt you would not expect to make slam.

And how should the bidding go? North should pass and South opens 1. It’s easy then if you play
inverted minors (2 would be forcing) but with traditional methods you would respond 2. South then
rebids 3NT (18-19 or a long solid  suit (unlikely)) and 6 is easily reached. If South had the A then
7 is a good bid but it is difficult to reach unless you play Exclusion Blackwood. If your partner/bidding
style is that the 2 bid by a passed hand may be passed then it’s not so easy. I won’t go into that as the
solution is to play inverted minors.

The bottom line. Pre-empts take up bidding space and make reaching games and slams difficult. This
is fine if it is the opponent’s hand, but not when it’s yours. Pre-empts are 7 card suits, best with just as
many points in the suit as outside. J98632 certainly does not qualify. 

And what is 1960? It’s not really the year of my birth, but apparently the score for 7 redoubled,
making. Don’t ask me how they bid it, but if you double Jeff then expect a redouble. He’s not renowned
for holding back.

Another Slam with a Void Board 18 from Monday 2nd, N-S vul.

West East West North East South

 62  AJ - - 2 pass
 A9854  KQJ3 2 (1) pass 3 (2) pass
 872  AKQJ1043 3 pass 5 (3) pass
 J65  - 5 (4) pass 7 pass

pass pass

A small slam was bid 4 times on Monday (the other 5 times it was just 5) but nobody bid the grand
(this bidding is my concoction). 13 tricks were made on every occasion and I was asked how to bid the
grand. I’ve mentioned it a few times, the answer is Exclusion Blackwood. In a situation where 4NT would
be Blackwood, then a jump to the 5 level in a suit (not trumps) is Exclusion Blackwood – it asks for aces
(or key cards if you play RKCB) not including the suit bid. Responses are the obvious steps.

(1) negative or waiting
(2) game forcing
(3) exclusion Blackwood (or Exclusion RKCB)
(4) 1 ace (or key card) outside the  suit.



Redouble? Board 10 from Friday 30th, both vul.

North (G) South (D) West North East South

 K8  A10632 - - pass 1 (1)
 AK104  Q8 dbl (2) 2 (3) pass 2 (4)
 1084  Q53 pass 3 pass 3NT
 K865  QJ9 pass pass

3NT is a poor contract, with 4 ’s and A to lose, yet 3NT was the final contract at 4 of the 6
tables on Friday. Let’s look at the bidding at this table: -

(1) 11 points and a 5 card suit, do you open? No. This is a poor 11 count, the  suit has no ‘body’,
quacks in outside suits are very poor cards and the hand does not conform to the rule of 20. Opening
here was the root cause of the problem.

(2) Take-out. Usually short in ’s and promising 4 ’s – certainly by this player (me).
(3) Obviously this is a very good hand and has game values (but not opposite this poor opener!). Anyway,

what should North bid? With no interference then 2, a 2 bid promises 5 ’s as I explained recently
in detail in news-sheets 62 and 64. But it’s different after West’s double at (2). The correct bid is
redouble. With these ’s sitting over West’s   4 card suit E-Ware heading for a hiding. Wouldn’t it be
nice to see Terry go for 800?

(4) N-S play 4 card majors, so 2 is fine here.

The bottom lines. Apply the rule of 20 to borderline openers and deduct for poor cards – queens and
jacks (quacks) in short suits. After an intervening double, redouble with 9 or more points and a mis-fit for
partner. 

Responding to partner’s take-out double Board 6 from Friday 30th, E-W vul.

West (F) East West North East South

 862  AK95 - - pass 1
 983  K4 pass pass dbl (1) pass
 KQJ3  1054 1 (2) pass pass 2
 1072  8654 pass pass 2 (3) pass

pass pass

2 went minus 3, so –300, anyone to blame?
East’s double at (1) is in the balancing seat and is fine. But what should West bid at (2)? Partner

passed originally so can’t have much and you don’t want to encourage him, so West chose 1.
Unfortunately this backfired. East presumably has 4 ’s for his double and he was then able to compete
at (3) (The Law). West should bid 2 at (2), this does not promise values (it is still 0-9 pts) but it is the
cheapest 4 card suit. If West had bid 2 then East would pass at (3) and defending 2 is the best spot
for E-W.

The bottom line. A non-jump in response to partner’s take-out double does not promise any values.
Bid your cheapest 4 card suit.



Rebid or pass 1NT? Board 5 from Friday 30th, N-S vul.

West (E) East West North East South

 K10732  5 - pass pass pass
 Q3  J1098 1 pass 1NT (1) pass
 AK54  Q973 pass (2) pass
 K10  Q542

First of all, East has just 5 points, so should he bid at (1) or pass? I would never pass, it is very likely
that 1 will play badly and that there is a better spot. Just one pair passed 1 on Friday and it went –3
for a clear bottom.

So, 1NT is ‘obvious’ at (1). But should West pass? I would bid 2, with two doubletons it is usually
best to play in a suit contract and even a 5-2  fit is fine. As it happens, 2 is the best contract and 1NT
is just reasonable. What happened? 1NT made for an above average score and 2 made +1 at another
table for a top.

The bottom lines? It is rarely correct to pass partner’s opening with a singleton in his suit if you can
scrape up a bid.

With a 5 card suit and a lower ranking 4 carder, it’s usually best to bid them both.
 

Rebid a 5 card suit? Board 9 from Friday 30th, E-W vul.

West East West North East South

 764  KQ53 - pass pass pass
 A73  K10642 1 pass 1 pass
 AK6  984 1NT (1) pass pass (2) pass
 QJ109  4

This was the bidding at one table; 1NT made +1 but scored a cool bottom. Why?
The contract was 1 or 2 at other tables (making 9,10 or even 11 tricks). Whose fault?

At two tables the contract was 1 by East, so presumably West passed at (1). A reasonable bid
which worked on this occasion as East had 5 ’s. I would pass with just 3 card support if I had a
doubleton elsewhere, but with this totally flat hand I prefer 1NT.

So should East bid 2 at (2)? He knows that West has at least 4 ’s, but he also has 2 or 3 ’s (I
was West and I will not bid NT with a singleton or void in partner’s suit). Unlike the example above,
East cannot bid out his shape because the 4 carder is higher ranking. I would bid 2; there may be a 5-3
fit, but even a 5-2 usually plays better than a mis-fitting NT contract.

Incidentally, suppose that East had a similar hand with ’s and ’s interchanged. The bidding would
then go 1 - 1 - 1NT - 2 - pass. The 2 bid in this situation is played as weak (even if not a passed
hand), showing a 5-4 hand.

The bottom lines (for both of the above hands). Do not pass 1NT with an unsuitable shape.



A tricky 2nd bid Board 12 from Friday 6th, N-S vul.

Dealer:  K9743 West North (H) East        South 
West  A
N-S vul  10975 pass (1) pass pass 1

 QJ2 pass 1 pass 2
pass 2NT (2) pass 3NT   (3)

 AQ106 N  85 pass pass pass 
 K82   W    E  10973  
 K32 S  AJ86
 1084  963

 J2 (1) 12 points, but with the totally flat shape
 QJ654  it is not worth an opener.
 Q4  
 AK75

3NT went down two for a bottom, anyone to blame? The main problem was North’s 2NT bid at
(2). When it is a mis-fit and partner bids both of your short suits it is rarely correct to bid NT with
(sub)minimal values. 2NT shows 11-12 points here and North cannot bid this. The alternatives, however,
are none too palatable. With a doubleton  I would bid 2, but not with a singleton. That only leaves
pass or 2; either could work out well (indeed, either would work with this lay-out). However, partner
could still have as much as 15 or 16 points, perhaps with 3 card  support – there could even be a 
game. I would be loath to pass and would try 2. Difficult. 3NT at (3) was also an overbid, of course.

Bidding Quiz Answers

Hand A: Double. A negative double. If you do not play negative doubles (why not?) then you cannot bid
the hand properly and 2 is probably best. Tough if you miss a  fit.

Hand B: 2, Stayman.
Hand C: Pass. Although 1 is not totally unreasonable. 3, however, is. (totally unreasonable). The

hand is too good and the wrong shape for a pre-empt.
Hand D: Pass. Not good enough for an opener.
Hand E: 2. Bid out your shape.
Hand F: 2. Your cheapest 4 card suit.
Hand G: Redouble.
Hand H: A tricky one to finish with. I would bid 2 although I suspect that many would pass –

reasonable. What you should not do is bid 2NT. You are a point or two light – don’t bid NT
with mis-fits without full values (plus).


