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Monday 6/9/2004     Friday 10/9/2004         

1st  Per/Tomas 62% 1st  Dave/Bob 55%
2nd Dave/Tonni 60% 2nd Kenneth/John 53%

Bidding Quiz                Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated.

Hand A Hand B With Hand A partner opens 1NT and you obviously raise to 
3NT. But what would you bid if RHO hand overcalled 2? 

 532  J7 Surely 3NT would promise a  stop, so what do you bid?
 K94  1083
 QJ  AKQ98 What do you open with Hand B?
 AJ865  A42

Hand C Hand D (a) Do you open with Hand C as dealer?
(b) Suppose that you pass and partner opens 1, what do you

 AJ42  J43 respond?
 J4  J542
 Q10975  K752
 K3  63 With Hand D partner opens 1, what do you bid?

Responding up the line?

I have been asked about this a few times. Suppose that you hold Hand D and partner opens 1. I
will not pass with a weak doubleton , but do you respond 1 or 1? 

Actually, the experts differ on this one. The traditional style is that you always bid ‘up the line’ and so
it’s 1. A rather more recent idea is ‘Walsh’. Playing Walsh when partner opens 1 you bid up the line
with a hand that is good enough to make two bids but with a very weak hand like Hand D you bid the 4
card major in preference to a 4 (or 5) card  suit.

Which is best? 
I like Walsh but there is more to it than that and I don’t know anybody who plays it! For casual

partnerships it’s best to always bid up the line.

And there is another advantage in bidding 1 in preference to 1. Suppose that partner has a big
hand (say 16 points) with 4 ’s. If you respond 1 then he will leap off to 3 where you will struggle.
If you respond 1 then partner will bid 1 and you can happily let him play there. Remember, partner is
much more likely to leap about with support of a major than with support for a minor.



Open 1NT and keep the opposition quiet . Board 15 from Friday 3rd 

It’s only a part-score deal, but I think that there are a few interesting points here: -

Dealer:  J7 Table A
South  1083 West North (B) East South
N-S vul  AKQ98 - - - pass

 A42 pass 1  (1) 1 1
2NT (2) pass pass pass

 AK106  N  53
 Q52    W    E  AJ976 Table B
 42  S  J63 West North East South
 J1086  KQ7 - - - pass

 Q9842 pass 1  (1) 1 1
 K4              2 (2) pass pass pass 
 1075
 953 Table C

West North(me) East South
- - - pass
pass 1NT  (1) pass  (3) 2
pass 2 all pass

Table A: What did you open at (1) with Hand B in this week’s quiz? I guess that most would say 1
and I’m not arguing,…  well, only a little. At (2) West has the ’s well stopped but I’m not
really happy with 2NT (or 1NT) here either.

Table B: This West chose 2 at (2), quite right. With 3 card support and a weak doubleton in one of
the opponent’s suits, 2 is a better bid than 1NT or 2NT.

Table C: And here we come back to the opening bid. Did you think of opening 1NT? I did. It’s only
14 HCP’s but two aces are good, a 5 card suit to the AKQ is good and a 10 is good. I think
that it’s worth a strong NT. 
Now East is too weak to come in at the two level at (3) over a strong NT and N-S bought
the contract.

And what happened? 2 made exactly for the top to E-W. 2NT was somehow only one down and
scored an average. Table C’s North made 2 +1 for the top to N-S.

The bottom lines: -
- With a balanced hand within your opening NT range (after evaluation) open 1NT.
- Opening 1NT has many advantages (including no rebid problems). The big advantage on this deal is

that it kept the opponents out of their ’s.
- I have said a few times to transfer with a weak hand with a 5 card major suit; it does not matter if

partner only has a doubleton, the 5-2 fit usually plays better than NT. This deal is a perfect example.
Even with the trumps apparently badly stacked, 2 still made – even going down in 2 would
normally be an excellent score for N-S.



The play’s the thing – part 1 Board 11 from Monday 6th

Dealer:  A97 Table A
South  Q73 West North East (A) South
Love all  A108654 - - - pass

 9 1NT 2 ? (1)

 KQJ4  N  532 (My) Recommended bidding
 A8    W    E  K94 West North East South
 K72  S  QJ - - - pass
 Q1072  AJ865 1NT 2 3NT (1) pass

 1086 pass (2) pass pass
 J10652              
 93 It’s about the play but the bidding is also interesting as 
 K43 only 2 tables out of 5 reached the ‘cold’ 3NT: -

Table A: So what did you bid with Hand A in this week’s quiz? It’s not easy. You have game going
values but no  stop. You could simply punt 3NT but give the overcaller just  AK10xx (or
lots of other holdings) and you will go down. You need help from partner in ’s for 3NT to
make. What about a double? – that would be penalties and you need better trumps. So how
about the cue bid of 3? Now some people do play this as asking for a stop but the most
common use of the cue bid of the opponent’s suit in this situation is Stayman. So it looks like
the only option is 3 - but do you play that as forcing or not?

‘Expert’ Enter Lebensohl. I fully defined this yonks ago (it’s in the 2003 yearbook). It is Table?
perhaps a rather advanced convention in it’s complete form but sometimes it’s the 

only way. The theory is that if RHO overcalls your partner’s 1NT then you do not need 2NT
as a balanced raise with 8-9 points (double for penalties instead). So 2NT is a totally artificial
bid at (1) and demands that opener bid 3 at (2). 3NT subsequently by responder then
shows game values with a stop in the opponent’s suit. In this actual example responder had
no  stop and this is shown by a direct 3NT bid at (1) when playing Lebensohl (in standard
it promises a stop).

 A9 Anyway, onto the play in 3NT. North leads a  and
   YOU   Q73         DUMMY you win in dummy. Which suit do you attack?
        A10865          You can be pretty sure from the bidding that North

 9 has 6 ’s and the A for his overcall. Quite
possibly the K as well but that is not important

 KQ4  N  53 You count your tricks: 2’s,2’s,2’s & 3’s.
 A8    W    E  K94 It looks like a  to the J is obvious so that’s what
 K7  S  Q you do and it holds, but what now? You are
 Q1072  AJ865 in hand in this position, what do you lead? A ?

 108 NO. If a  finesse loses now then a  will come from
 J10652            South and you are down. You must play the K.
 9 You are home now. There may be a better line, but
 K43 you must get your 2nd  trick before attacking ’s. 

And what happened? 3NT was bid just twice and went down once.



The play’s the thing – part 2 Board 3 from Monday 6th

Dealer:  92
South  1094 West North East South
E-W vul  K10964 - - - pass

 Q93 1NT pass 3NT (1) all pass

 K863  N  AQ5
 AQ5    W    E  76 Just a word on the bidding. There is no other
 A3  S  QJ75 bid but 3NT with this East hand at (1) – values 
 K876  J1054 for game and no 4 card major. Do not worry 

 J1074 about a weak doubleton opposite a strong NT
 KJ832           unless the opponents have bid the suit.
 82  
  A2

Now the play. North leads a , how should West plan the play? First, as always, count the sure
tricks. So 3 ’s, 1 , 2’s and probably 2 ’s. One short, but there are good chances, (a) you may
get 3  tricks, (b) you may have 3 ’s (if North has the K), (c) the  finesse may work or (d) you
may get 4  tricks.

Suppose you play the J at trick one and it holds. You then play the J from table and this loses to
the Q. The 10 comes back which you win with the A.

  YOU                     DUMMY We now have this position. You have two tricks
          in the bag and the lead in hand. What now?

I am no expert but I can see a very reasonable
 K863  N  AQ5 line. Play a . South wins and returns a .
 AQ5    W    E  76 You then cash the last two ’s and 3  tricks,
 -  S  Q7 making sure that you win the 3rd  in dummy.
 K87  1054

 -
  YOU  10            DUMMY You are then in this position with the lead in 
       K96                dummy. Things have not gone particularly well,

 The Q was wrong so (a) failed. The ’s did 
not split and so (d) failed. But you still have an 

 6  N  - excellent chance with either (b) or (c). You
 AQ5    W    E  76 arranged to be in dummy now  and so can take 
 -  S  Q7 the  finesse. It works so you are home. Had it 
 -  - failed then you would have got a  trick.

 J
 KJ8         That was just one possible line. There are quite possibly
 - other better ones but I cannot see how 3NT goes down
 - when the  finesse works.

And what happened? 3NT went down once and two down (!) once. Two pairs played in a silly 4.
3NT was bid 3 times but made only once. A 1 in 5 success rate (2 pairs failing to bid 3NT and 2 pairs
failing to make it) is not good on a deal like this. 4 was minus two.

The bottom lines. Try all your options. Play on your long suits first. In this example, play ’s, then 
’s and keep the  finesse to the end.



A Multi misunderstanding? Board 2 from Monday 6th

Dealer:  Q1076 Table A
North  Q10 West North East South
N-S vul  AQ764 - - 2 (1) dbl (2)

 96 pass 3 (3) pass 3 (4)
pass 3NT all pass

 5  N  AK8432
 A8    W    E  754 Table B
 10982  S  J35 West North East South
 KQ5432  107 - - 2 (1) 2 (2)

 J9 3 (3) 3 3 (4) 4
 KJ9632        pass pass 4 (5) pass
 K5  pass dbl all pass
  AJ8

(My) Recommended Bidding
West North East South
- - 2 (1) 3 (2)
pass 4 (3)

Table A: (1) A clear 2 opener.
(2) This South chose to double, I prefer 3.
(3) This is a trifle strong for just 3 (about 8-9). I would bid 3NT.
(4) This now shows a stronger hand than 3 at (2).

Table B: (1) This 2 was ‘multi’ – a weak two in either ’s or ’s (and a few other strong options).
(2) The lower level lets in South easier.
(3) But this 3 bid is wrong. When partner pre-empts then a new suit is forcing. This West
does not have the values to bid and should pass.
(4) There’s a golden rule to pre-empting – bid you hand just once. The opponent’s action
has indicated to everybody that this is a weak 2 hand and so he should pass. (5) Bidding
the hand 3 times is inexcusable.

‘Expert’ I would only recommend playing the ‘multi 2’ to experienced partnerships. So 
 Table? playing Standard American we have a 2 opener. Now what did you bid with this 

South hand at (2) in this week’s quiz? It’s a respectable 6 card suit – so bid it. If you double
then that implies just 4 ’s – unless you subsequently bid ’s after doubling when it shows a
much better hand.

And what happened? 2 was passed out at one table (was South sleeping?). 3NT made, 4
doubled went for it’s deserved  -800. The other two tables played in 4 by South. It made once and
went down once.

As it happens, I can’t see that any game contract legitimately makes. 4 should lose two ’s, a 
and a . 3NT fails spectacularly if East finds the switch to the 10. He probably should have at Table A
where North bid ’s. An initial 10 lead would mean at least 3 off, unfortunately East woodenly led out
the A and K but failed to find the  switch and so 3NT made easily.

And now it’s time for a signalling commercial. Suppose that you are East in the above Table A
defending 3NT. Just suppose that you do lead out the A,K. What should you lead to trick 3? Why,
the 10 obviously! (if partner had signalled with the 2 – Lavinthal).



Another Multi misunderstanding? Board 8 from Friday 10th

Dealer:  9 Table A
West  K98 West North East South
Love all  KQ732 2 (1) dbl (2) 4 (3) pass

 AQJ8 pass pass

 A107432  N  QJ865
 J    W    E  AQ532 Table B
 54  S  J West North East South
 K652  103 2 (1) dbl (2) 2 (3) 3 (4)

 K pass (5) 3NT (6) pass (7) pass
 10764      pass
 A10986  
 974

Table A: (1) A clear 2 opener. Double at (2) is reasonable. It would be nice to have 4 ’s but I
think that double is the best choice with these good 15 points but no  stop.
(3) Nothing could be easier than raising partner to game.

So, pretty straightforward bidding at Table A, but what was this fiasco at Table B?

Table B: (1) The dreaded Multi 2. I don’t know the exact variant that this pair play (and it appears
neither do they?). Anyway, one of the options in the multi 2 opening is a traditional
weak 2 and so West opened 2.
(2) I don’t want to go into the defence to the multi, but standard is that you double on the

first round with 15+ (with less you pass as you get another go). So North doubled, fine.
(3) This is where it started to go wrong for E-W. I believe that 2 here showed some sort

of point range? It’s all nonsense of course. East should simply bid 4 (pass or correct).
East’s bid was so much easier at Table A

(4) North has doubled for take-out and South has enough to bid his suit here.
(5) West would have bid 2 if South had not bid. This is the big problem with the multi.

When the opponents interfere nobody has any idea who has what. Anyway, for what it’s
worth I think that West is correct here.

(6) As I said, nobody had much idea what was going on. North (me!) figured that if E-W
had ’s then somebody would have bid them by now? Partner had made a free bid (but
was it really ’s?). Anyway, in these days of uncertainty, ‘if 3NT looks like a remotely
sensible option – then bid it!’.

(7) And quite why East passed here baffles me. Since N-S have ‘freely’ bid to 3NT then
obviously West has a weak two in a major. If you cannot find 4 here (pass or correct)
then don’t play the multi.

And what happened? One would have thought that if anybody at the table knew what was going on it
was East. Apparently not – he led the J! (I believe that a strong  hand was one of East’s options for
the 2 opener). Declarer took the repeating  finesse for his contract. I note that four down (or even
eight down – so 400 away) would still have been a complete top for N-S. Is this bridge? And at other
tables? 4 made exactly at Table A (420) and at the third table N-S bid to 6(!) doubled and minus
three (500). 

The bottom line. The multi 2 is an amusing gadget that is best left to experienced pairs.



The power of the weak two opener Board 2 from Monday 30th

And I don’t see the point is making life difficult for everybody with the multi when the weak 2 or 2
 works very well: -

Dealer:  KJ9 West North East South
East  10963
N-S vul  Q4 - - 2 pass (1)

 AK73 pass pass (2)

 A8653  N  72
 7    W    E  AQJ842
 532  S  J876
 9842  J

 Q104
 K5               
 AK109
  Q1065

An easy 3NT was missed by N-S, anyone to blame? 
The ‘norm’ for bidding 2NT over the weak two is a decent 16-18 points. This South hand is

borderline and I certainly would not argue with the pass at (1). So should North do something at (2)?
This situation is completely different from the balancing seat if the opening was a 1 level bid; here East is
limited and West may have a quite respectable hand (perhaps a mis-fit) for his pass. I think that it’s very
dangerous to venture forth with this North hand, especially vulnerable, when you are flat and have length
in the opponent’s suit.

And what happened? This bidding was repeated at one other table. Two tables bid to 3NT by South
(so I guess that South tried 2NT?).

The bottom line:- The weak two can sometimes be a very powerful tool, especially if the opponent’s
points are distributed 13-13 or similar!

Bidding Quiz Answers

Hand A: 3 - provided that you play it as forcing! If there was no intervention then you would not
have bothered to mention a  suit and would simply have bid 3NT. Under standard methods
a 3NT bid here would show a  stop. You cannot double (penalties) with just two ’s; it’s
too good for a natural 2NT; both 2NT and 3NT would promise a  stop under normal
methods; and 3 is Stayman. The best solution is to play Lebensohl  (I discussed it a few
pages back). But luckily you have a  suit. If you play 3 as forcing here then that’s your
bid (hopefully partner will bid 3NT with a  stop).

Hand B: 1NT. I suspect that nearly everybody would open 1? I think that it’s worth a strong NT.
But then not everybody agrees with me all the time.

Hand C: (a) Pass or 1? It’s very borderline and I won’t argue with either.
(b) 1. This is not denying a 4-card major, but simply bidding up the line. With a 5 card 
suit (as opposed to a 4-carder) it’s definitely best. If you bid 1 and partner rebids 1NT
what will you do? 2 would show 5 ’s and 4 ’s.

Hand D: 1. Up the line.


