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Mon 26th 1st N-S Alain & Jean-Charles 64% 2nd Jeremy & Sally 57%
1st E-W Ivy & Wolfgang 59% 2nd Gastone & Paul Sav.. 58%

Wed 28th   1st Ivy & Wolfgang 61% 2nd Bob/Mike = Hugh/Sally 54%
Fri  2nd  1st N-S Hugh & Sally 60% 2nd Bob & Mike 59%

1st E-W Clive & Dave 68% 2nd Gerry & Tony 58%

Bidding Quiz      Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated.

Hand A Hand B With do you open with Hand A?

♠ AKJ2 ♠ 82
♥ AK7532 ♥ 965 With Hand B LHO opens 2NT and RHO bids 3♣, Stayman.
♦ QJ ♦ 1065 What do you do?
♣ Q ♣ AQJ32

Hand C Hand D With Hand C you open 1♣ and partner bids 1♥. RHO then 
sticks in a somewhat inconvenient 2♦, what do you do?

♠ QJ42 ♠ J2
♥ 10 ♥ 9 With Hand D partner opens 1♠ and you respond 2♣ (or 2♦).
♦ AJ6 ♦ K10975 Partner then bids 2♥, what do you bid now?  
♣ AJ532 ♣ AQJ94

 
Bidding Sequences Quiz All of these sequences occurred this week

E 1♣ pass 1♥ 2♦ How strong is the 2NT bid?
2NT

F 1♣ pass 1♥ 2♦ How strong is the 2♠ bid?
2♠

G 1♣ pass 1♥ 2♦ What is the double?
dbl

Leading Quiz

H  West West North East South
♠ K5 - - - 1♣
♥ J8 pass 1♥ 2♦ 2NT
♦ Q852 3♦ 3♥ pass 3NT
♣ KQ876 all pass

You are West, on lead against 3NT. Which ♦ do you lead?

J  West West North East South
♠ 9643 - - - 2NT
♥ 1074 pass 3♣ dbl 3♦
♦ Q742 pass 3NT all pass
♣ K9 all pass

What card should West lead after partner has doubled the 3♣ Stayman bid?



Editorial

Problems, problems, problems …

As if I did not have enough problems (finding a suitable venue that everybody will like is an
impossible task) a number of players decided to cause me more problems last week.

Without saying who is right or wrong (in my opinion) no less than 5 players were involved in totally
ridiculous petty conflicts this week: -

Alain, Jean-Charles, Mike, Bob and Clive all contributed to it being a pretty miserable week for me.
In summary, here are a few of what we had: -

1 Talking (in a foreign language) during the play of the hand.
2 Arguing about the last board instead of getting on with the next board.
3 An opponent walking out for a board when he was sick of the opponents behaving as 2 above.
4 A pair demanding an adjusted score when a board had not been played because of 3 above.
5 A pair not accepting an adjusted score when they sat N-S and a board was fouled at their table.
6 The usual continual complaints about the temperature (too hot – too cold).

Here is my opinion and ruling on just these points. 

1 Talking during the play is not allowed in the strict rules of bridge. We do make exceptions at this
club in that any player may ask any other play if he has revoked and friendly comments that do not
pass information to partner are allowed. Indicating that partner has made a bad play is not allowed
and speaking in a foreign language that the opponents do not understand during the play is both not
allowed and extremely rude. If you feel you need to say something during the play, then say it in
English.

2 All post-mortems should be left to the end of the round. This is very clearly written in the club rules.
It is rule 5 on the score cards, I suggest that people who religiously fill in these score cards every week
read (and obey) the rules written on them?

3 Walking out in the middle of a round is unacceptable – simply call the director and I will tell the
opponents to get on with the next board if necessary.

4 Up to now I have always given pairs their average for boards not played. One pair were not happy
with this and on this one occasion I (rightly or wrongly) gave then a favourable adjusted score. They
were not so happy about accepting an unfavourable adjustment for a different board fouled at their
table!

5 It is the duty of every played to ‘defend’ their cards. Only you (or partner if declarer) are allowed to
touch your cards. You are responsible for them being returned to the correct slot of the board. If an
opponent wishes to see your cards you may show them to him (or on Mon/Fri simply give him the
traveller). If a board is mis-boarded with say the E-S hands switched, then everybody at that table will
receive an unfavourable adjusted score. If a board is mis-boarded with just the N-S (or E-W) hands
switched then that pair will receive an unfavourable adjusted score. This is very clearly stated in
WBF rules.

6 We will be moving downstairs next week (from Wed 7th May), so hopefully the temperature issue will
be resolved and I am actively looking for a new venue anyway.

Running this club peacefully is not easy. It seems that an enormous number of players have
grudges against other players. Please try not to make life so difficult for me.



Passed out in 1♥ making 10 tricks Board 9 from Monday 26th 

What did you open with Hand A in this week’s quiz? In Standard American it’s a clear 1♥ opener
(nowhere near good enough for 2♣) and ½ of the field were left to play in 1♥ with 4♥ cold. The
answer, of course, is to play Benjamin twos.

Dealer: ♠ 54 Table A
North ♥ J1084 West North East South(A)
E-W vul ♦ 982 - pass pass 1♥ (1)

♣ 7543 pass (2) pass (3) pass (4)

♠ 10987  N ♠ Q63 Table B
♥ Q   W    E ♥ 96 West North East South(A)
♦ K43 S ♦ A10765  - pass pass 1♥ (1)
♣ A10962 ♣ KJ8 dbl (2) 2♥ (5) pass 4♥

♠ AKJ2 all pass
♥ AK7532
♦ QJ  ‘Expert’ Table
♣ Q West North East South(A)

- pass pass 2♣ (1)
pass 2♦ (6) pass 2♥ (7)
pass 4♥ (8) all pass

Table A: (1) What did you open with this South hand A in this week’s quiz? It’s nowhere near good
enough for 2♣ and unless playing strong twos (or Benjamin twos) I too would open 1♥.

(2) Pass is fine. 
(3) And North has nowhere near enough to bid in an uncontested auction.
(4) In the balancing seat I would double, but pass (as found at 4 out of 8 tables) worked

very well.
Table B: (2) This West chose to double, it’s marginal (the ♥Q is not worth two points).

(5) But now North has enough for 2♥ after a double (it’s weak).
‘Expert’ (1) Our experts do not like to play comfortable game contracts in partscores, and so
 Table they play Benjamin twos. 2♣ here was 8 playing tricks.

(6) It’s usually best to simply relay over a Benjamin 2♣ and find out partner’s hand type.
(7) 8 playing tricks in ♥’s.
(8) Our experts not play the Benjamin two as forcing, so 3♥ here would be invitational. Thus 4

♥ shows two tricks and no more. If you do not think that this hand is worth two tricks in
support of a strong two, then have a look at my article entitled ‘the problem with playing
tricks’.

And what happened? The deal was played 8 times and four South’s played in 1♥ +3. One more
somehow managed to stop in 3♥ (+1) and just three bid game.

The bottom lines: 
- Play Benjamin twos.

 



A silly double – I don’t think so Board 25 from Monday 26th Feb

What was you answer to question B in this week’s quiz? One experienced player said that double
at (3) was ‘silly’. That really is just a silly comment – double is obvious and what at least four players
(including me) bid at the table.

Dealer: ♠ 82
North ♥ 965 West North(B) East South
E-W vul ♦ 1065 - pass 2NT (1) pass

♣ AQJ32 3♣ (2) dbl (3) 3♦ (4) pass
3NT all pass

♠ AJ75  N ♠ KQ10
♥ QJ82   W    E ♥ AK3
♦ 98 S ♦ AKJ3  
♣ 1086 ♣ 754

♠ 9643
♥ 1074
♦ Q742  
♣ K9

(1) With a totally flat 4333 type shape this is a doubtful 2NT opener.
(2) Stayman.
(3) Showing good ♣’s and asking for a ♣ lead. This is very obvious – any other lead will likely cost a trick

and on a good day dummy or partner will have the ♣K and a ♣ lead may set an eventual 3NT contract.
(4) East has two extra bids after the double. Redouble generally shows good ♣’s and offers 3♣ doubled as

a final contract should responder have reasonable ♣’s. That leaves 3♦ and pass when you have no major
and it seems to me that one of these should show a ♣ stop and the other deny one. I do not know if
there is a recognized treatment for this. It seems logical to me to use pass as showing a ♣ stop (partner
may just wish to play in 3♣ doubled in the knowledge of something in ♣’s opposite). An alternative
approach (as stated on the web site for interference over a 2♣ Stayman bid) is to play redouble as
showing ♣’s (and so a stop), 2♦ as no 4 card major and pass as both 4 card majors.

And what happened? The deal was played 8 times. I know of four auctions where North doubled the
Stayman bid, two South’s obediently led the ♣K to set the contracts and two South’s ignored partner’s
double and let the contract make with an overtrick. 3NT was reached at all of the 8 tables and went down
just the twice.

The bottom lines: 
- A double of 3♣ (or 3♦/♥ transfers) over a 2NT opening shows a good holding in the suit bid and

asks for that suit to be led.
- With Kx in a suit that partner has asked to be led, lead the king.
- The double is clearly a very good bid. If the opponents run and land in 4♥ or 4♠ on the 4-3 fit then

that does not score as much as 3NT making with overtricks which is what happens if you do not get
a ♣ lead – and partner most certainly will not lead a ♣ unless you double.



Dave’s safety plays Boards 17 & 27 from Wednesday 28th Feb

Dave put in two virtually identical prepared boards on Wednesday involving a safety play to ensure
the contract. Here is his write-up, extracted from a bridge book: -

♠ 65  N ♠ J1093 East opens 1NT which West raises to 3NT
♥ K54   W    E ♥ AQ3 with his long diamonds.
♦ A109763 S ♦ KQ  
♣ Q7 ♣ A962 Lead: ♥J

How do you play the hand? 
Hint: You have 3 ♥’s, 1 ♣ and at least 5 ♦’s. Think what may go wrong.
Tip: If possible guard against a 4-1 break which occurs nearly one third of the time.

Play (according to Dave’s book): The point is that you need only 5 tricks in the ♦ suit and not 6. So you
should win the first trick with the ♥A and play the ♦K. Then play the ♦Q overtaking with the ♦A. You then
continue with the ♦10 and you still have the ♥K as an entry to dummy for the remaining ♦’s. The defence can
take only 3 ♠ tricks and a ♦ trick which you conceded.

The contract will fail if you don’t overtake the ♦Q and the ♦’s split 4-1.

And what happened? Nobody found this safety play either time and usually went down.

Terry’s comments: -
I agree with Tomas, who played the hand twice and went down on both occasions. But who are

Tomas and I to argue with this esteemed author? It seems to me that the line of play to adopt depends
upon the competition type. At rubber bridge or teams it is essential to make the contract and you should
play as indicated.

But at pairs scoring things are different. Overtricks are all important and I believe that on this
particular deal you should certainly not overtake the 2nd ♦ at pairs scoring.

My reasoning: the author concedes that playing for the ♦’s 3-2 succeeds 2/3 of the time. So at pairs
you will get an overtrick (and a shared top) 2/3 of the time and go down (so a bottom) 1/3 of the time.
At pairs the size of the top or bottom does not matter. 

The bottom lines: -
- Sometimes the best line of play depends upon the scoring in use.
- Overtricks are not that important at teams but are very important at pairs scoring - which is the type

of scoring that we usually use at the Pattaya Bridge Club.



Beware of mis-fits Board 16 from Wednesday 28th Feb

A familiar theme: -

Dealer: ♠ A8754
West ♥ AQJ4 West North East South(D)
E-W vul ♦ QJ2 pass 1♠ pass 2♣ (1)

♣ 7 pass 2♥ pass 2NT (2)
pass 3NT all pass

♠ Q3  N ♠ K1096
♥ 108732   W    E ♥ K65
♦ 64 S ♦ A83  
♣ K1052 ♣ 863

♠ J2
♥ 9
♦ K10975  
♣ AQJ94

(1) I don’t think that it makes much difference if you choose 2♣ or 2♦.
(2) But what did you bid with this South hand D in this week’s quiz? It’s a mis-fit but fortunately you have

decent ♠ support, 2♠ is the bid. A bid of the other minor would be 4th suit forcing and 2NT will only lead
to problems with a mis-fitting hand. Note that this hand started off as a good 11 points, but partner’s two
bids means the hand is now junk.

And what happened? 5 tables out of six reached the hopeless 3NT, with the 6th in an equally hopeless 4
♠.

The bottom lines: 
- Beware of mis-fits.
- Bail out ASAP with mis-fits.
- Do not play mis-fits in No Trumps unless you have points to spare.
- Note that it’s a combined 25 points but 3NT went anything from one to three down.

Lead Quiz Same problem as on the front page, the full deal is on the next page.

West West North East South
♠ K5 - - - 1♣
♥ J8 pass 1♥ 2♦ 2NT
♦ Q852 3♦ 3♥ pass 3NT
♣ KQ876 all pass

You are West, on lead against 3NT. Partner overcalled in ♦’s which you supported. Which ♦ do you
lead?



Way too high Board 3 from Friday 2nd March

N-S got too high on this deal – what was the initial problem?

Dealer: ♠ 9763
South ♥ AQ97543 West North East South(C)
E-W vul ♦ - - - - 1♣

♣ 94 pass 1♥ 2♦ 2NT (1)
3♦ 3♥ (2) pass 3NT (3)

♠ K5  N ♠ A108 pass pass (4) pass
♥ J8   W    E ♥ K62
♦ Q852 S ♦ K109743  
♣ KQ876 ♣ 10

♠ QJ42
♥ 10
♦ AJ6  
♣ AJ532

(1) What did you bid with this South hand C in this week’s quiz? There are two reasonable options. If you
play double here as negative (specifically 4 ♠’s without reversing values) then you can double, or you can
simply pass. This 2NT bid shows a much stronger hand (sequence E – in principle 18+ points but
perhaps a shade less). Remember, it is RHO who has pushed the bidding up to the two level and 2NT
may well be too high. 2♠ would also be incorrect as it’s a reverse and promises a strong hand.

(2) I play this as forcing.
(3) I guess 3♠ is reasonable now; but it’s too high anyway.
(4) North considered 4♥, but South has bid No Trumps twice and must have good ♦ stop(s)? 4♥ would

also be too high if E-W find their ♠ ruff or ♣ ruff or both.

And what happened? 3NT went minus four. Virtually every N-S got too high on this board (presumably
with similar bidding). 3♥ is the best spot. Five North’s were in 4♥ (with two making); just two N-S’s
managed to stop fairly low in 3♥ and 3♠.

The bottom lines: 
- A 2NT bid after partner has responded at the one level shows 18-19 points.
- This is still true if RHO overcalls at the two level although you may shade it slightly with a good

holding in his suit.
- 13 points if far too much of a shade.
- The bidding could have gone 1♣ p 1♥ 2♦ p 3♦ 3♥ allpass.

- What did you lead in the bidding quiz on the previous page? With three or four to an honour you
should lead low – it is incorrect to lead an honour in partner’s suit (unless you only have a
doubleton). Dorothy (West) correctly led the ♦2; the ♦Q here would have given declarer a trick.

- The answer to the ‘initial problem’ question posed at the top of the page is that South’s 2NT bid is
an overbid.



Bidding Quiz Answers

Hand A: 1♥. It’s not good enough for a Standard American 2♣. But if you play Benjamin twos then
open 2♣ (8 playing tricks in ♥’s). 

Hand B: dbl, asking for a ♣ lead.
Hand C: pass. If you have agreed to play dbl here as negative (showing 4 ♠’s) then that’s possible but

it’s not standard and would have to be agreed. 2♠ is a reverse showing 16+ points and 2NT
also shows a strong hand of at least 16+.

Hand D: 2♠. It’s a mis-fit but luckily you do have decent ♠ support. 2NT is an overbid (because of the
mis-fit) and bidding the other minor would be forcing and so a gross overbid.

Bidding Sequences Quiz Answers  

E 1♣ pass 1♥ 2♦ 2NT here is 18-19, partner may have as few as 5-6 points.
2NT

F 1♣ pass 1♥ 2♦ The 2♠ bid is a reverse and so is 16+.
2♠

G 1♣ pass 1♥ 2♦ In ‘standard’ double is penalties (i.e. showing good ♦’s). Many
dbl experienced players play responsive doubles here, so then the double

shows exactly three ♥’s. Another reasonable treatment is that the double is
negative, specifically showing 4 ♠’s but insufficient values for a reverse.

Lead Quiz Answers

H The ♦2. Leading the ♦Q will never gain and may well cost a trick if declarer has something like ♦
AJx or ♦KJx. The ♦Q is only reasonable if you have reason to believe that dummy may have the
♦K. You should only lead the honour if it’s doubleton or maybe if you think that dummy has a
higher honour. On this bidding dummy certainly has nothing in ♦’s.

J The ♣K. Partner’s double of the 3♣ Stayman bid demands a ♣ lead; and, as I said above, with
two to an honour you lead the honour.


