


    





Club News Sheet – No. 256  
Out website is www.pattayabridge.com
Our blogsite is www.pattayabridge.wordpress.com





30th Sept 2007
My home phone is 038 422924 and my mobile number is 083 6066880

    
It is best to use my home number to contact me unless I am at the bridge club.
My e-mail is terry@pattayabridge.com or pattayabridge@yahoo.com
My MSN messenger ID is tj_quested@hotmail.com
Mon 24th 

1st

Per-Ake & Sally
58%

2nd Bob & Dave
57%
Wed 26th    
1st 

Bob & Sally
61%
2nd Gerry & Per-Ake
61%

Fri    28st           
1st

Phil & Tomas
61%
2nd
Bob & Dave
55%
Bidding Quiz
     
Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated.
Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A partner opens 1♠, what do you bid?
♠ AK63
♠ A7543 



♥ 8754
♥ AJ1085  
What, if anything, do you open with Hand B?
♦ K6
♦ J9
♣ Q85
♣ 3
Obey the Law


Board 13 from Monday 24th  
Dealer:
♠ Q92


West

North
East

South

North
♥ QJ85



 -

pass

pass

1♦
both vul
♦ -



1♥

pass

2♥
(1)
dbl
(2)

♣ 1087643

pass

pass

3♥
(3)
all pass

♠ J65
N
♠ 8743
(1)
This is correct – always raise partner with 3
♥ 109762
  W    E
♥ A43

card support. 
♦ J104
S
♦ K9852
(2)
Take-out 
♣ AK

♣ J
(3)
This is silly – it’s one above the Law when

♠ AK10


vulnerable against a partscore.
♥ K


♦ AQ763
 

♣ Q952

And what happened? Even though 3♥ was not doubled West went minus four for 400 away and a poor score on a partscore deal.

The bottom lines: -

-
Obey the Law; East needs 4 ♥’s to bid 3♥ at (4).
 The Jump Cue Bid overcall



Board 20 from Monday 24th  
I wrote a page on the website about the jump cue cid overcall a few months back and subsequently noted that Google took months to find it. They have finally found it and it’s listed at number 1. Also, my recent blog article on it is at number 2. It makes one wonder if it’s worth having a website if blogs get indexed immediately and web pages take two months.
Dealer:
♠ KQ


West

North
East(B)
South
West
♥ 42



pass

pass

1♥
(1)
3♥
(2)
both vul
♦ A8432



4♥

4NT
(3)
dbl
(4)
pass
(5)

♣ 8754
pass

5♣
(6)
all pass
♠ 1062
N
♠ A7543

♥ KQ976
  W    E
♥ AJ1085


♦ K765
S
♦ J9
 
♣ 2

♣ 3


♠ J98



♥ 3

♦ Q10
 

♣ AKQJ1096

(1)
What did you open with this East hand B in this week’s quiz? When 5-5 in the majors, you should open 1♠ and then bid ♥’s next go.
(2)
The jump cue bid overcall, it promises a completely solid minor and asks partner to bid 3NT if he has a ♥ stop.  The ♠ and ♦ suit should really be a bid better for the bid.

(3)
North did not understand partner’s jump cue bid overcall and for some reason thought that he had both minors. Anyway, North bid 4NT now in the asking partner to bid his best minor. Had North understood the 3♥ bid he should bid 5♣ as that is obviously partner’s suit.
(4)
A totally unnecessary double.

(5)
South believes that North has a ♥ stop and is willing to play in 4NT.

(6)
Thanks to East’s double, North can now bid the correct contract.

And what happened? 5♣ made exactly. 4NT would have gone four down.
The bottom lines: -

· When 5-5 in the majors, open 1♠.
· Do not double the opponents if they are in a silly contract and have a decent place to run. 

Dave’s Column   Here is this week’s Dave input involving the best play for the contract. 
West
East
You are West, playing in 4♠ after North has bid ♣’s.
♠ AKQ976
♠ J10
North cashes the ♣AKQ and switches to the ♦K, how
♥ A42
♥ K86
do you play the hand?
♦ 10
♦ A9862
 
♣ J74
♣ 1092

Dave’s Column answer
Board 4 from Wednesday 26th 
Dealer:
♠ 32

You are West, declarer in 4♠. North cashes the
West
♥ J7
♣AKQ and switches to the ♦K. You win this with
Both vul
♦ KQJ9
the ♦A, how should you continue?

♣ AKQ83


You have 9 top tricks and the only hope of a 10th 

♠ AKQ976
 
N
♠ J10
trick is to set up a long ♦. So at trick 5 you should
♥ A42
  W    E
♥ K86
ruff a ♦, play a trump to the ♠J and ruff another ♦.

♦ 10
S
♦ A9862
Go back to dummy again with the ♠10,  
♣ J74

♣ 1092
a 3rd ♦ ruff sets up the last ♦ in dummy. So draw 

♠ 854

the last trump and the ♥K is the entry to this 
♥ Q10953
winning ♦.

♦ 753

Can the defense do anything to prevent declarer
♣ 65

from making his contract?

Yes, North has to try to remove an entry to dummy. It is not possible to dislodge the ♥K but a trump switch at trick 4 defeats the contract.
And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 4♠ was bid just once and went one down doubled. 3♠ made exactly at another table and North went one or two down playing in a minor at the other two tables.

The Club Championships
The current standings for the top 5 in each competition are: -
Gold Cup = Best 30
Silver plate = Best 10


Bronze medal = Best 5

1826.4  Jan v Koss
666.8  Janne Roos
350.4  Janne Roos

1816.8  Janne Roos
654.9  Jan v Koss

343.2  Bengt Malmgren
1812.3  Dave Cutler
644.2  Dave Cutler
340.3  Jan v Koss
1760.9  Bob Pelletier 
644.1  Bengt Malmgren
332.9  Paul Savelkral

1724.5  Phil Lovell
636.7  Paul Savelkral

332.0  Lewis Berg
Dave’s 2nd Column   Here is another Dave input, this time it’ about defence. 

N

♠ J3

North opens 1♠, you (East) overcall 2♥ and South bids 3♠

W    E
♥ AKQ963
which North raises to 4♠. You lead the ♥A and partner

S
♦ 1095
 
plays an encouraging ♥4 (playing upside-down attitude).
♣ 98
 
You continue with the ♥K and partner plays the ♥8.
♠ 9764

 
You know that both partner and declarer are now out of 
♥ J103

♥’s, so what card do you play now and why?
♦ QJ3


♣ AK7

Dave’s 2nd Column answer
Board 16 from Wednesday 26th 
Dealer:
♠ AK1082


West

North
East

South
West
♥ 72

pass


1♠

2♥

3♠
(1)
Both vul
♦ K6

pass


4♠

all pass

♣ QJ62


(1)
This South hand, with 4 trumps, is worth a 

♠ Q5
 
N
♠ J3

raise to 3♠. If you play 3♠ here as pre-emptive
♥ 84
  W    E
♥ AKQ963

then bid 3♥ to show a sound raise to 3♠
♦ A8742
S
♦ 1095
 
or better.
♣ 10543

♣ 98
 

♠ 9764

Here’s what Dave’s book says about the play: - 
♥ J103


♦ QJ3


♣ AK7



“It’s declarer’s lucky day, isn’t it? When he plays the ♠A and ♠K, the suit will break 2-2 and he won’t lose a trump trick. That’s very true if he has an early chance to draw trumps. But if East can lead a suit that both West and North can ruff it’s different. If West ruffs with the ♠Q this will force the ♠A or ♠K from declarer. East’s ♠J will score a trick.

The technique is known as an ‘uppercut’. Let’s follow the play as it could happen.

East cashes the ♥A and ♥K, what should West’s reaction be when East leads the ♥Q at trick three? You may think that he should ruff with the ♠Q, attempting an uppercut, but that would cost a trick is declarer has another ♥. The answer is that East has to lead a low ♥ at trick three – inviting West to ruff with his highest trump.”

And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 4♠ was bid three times and made on two occasions. It went down when Ivy was West and trumped her partner’s ♥Q with the ♠Q.

Dave’s 3rd Column   Here’s another Dave input involving the best play for the contract. 
West
East
You are East, playing in 6♠ with silent opposition.
♠ AK63
♠ QJ1072
South leads the ♦J, how do you play the hand?
♥ 8754
♥ AK93

♦ K6
♦ A
 
♣ Q85
♣ AJ10

Dave’s 3rd Column answer

Board 14 from Wednesday 26th 
Dealer:
♠ 954


West(A)

North
East

South

East
♥ J6

-


-

1♠

pass
Love all
♦ Q8532

2♣
(1)
pass

2♥
(2)
pass

♣ 963

4♥
(2)
pass

4NT

pass

5♦


pas

6♥

all pass
♠ AK63
 
N
♠ QJ1072


♥ 8754
  W    E
♥ AK93
(1)
What did you bid with this West hand A in

♦ K6
S
♦ A
 
this week’s quiz? You have values for game
♣ Q85

♣ AJ10
 
but a direct 4♠ is a weak bid. Unless you 

♠ 8

 
play the Swiss convention in conjunction
♥ Q104

with Jacoby 2NT it’s best to bid a minor
♦ J10974


and then raise partner to 4♠ next go. I don’t
♣ K742


like to bid Jacoby 2NT here as I prefer a much stronger hand for the Jacoby 2NT.
(2) E-W play 2/1 so there’s no need to jump.

(3) Playing 2/1 this shows a weaker hand than 3♥
Now Dave’s book’s problem was the play in 6♠, but that is without me as West. You probably know me by now – go for the 4-4 fit, so Lewis actually ended up in 6♥ rather than 6♠ but the play is very similar. Anyway, let’s look at the book’s play in 6♠: -


♠ -

You win the ♦J lead and draw 3 rounds of trumps

♥ -
(♠’s). You have a ♥ loser and maybe a ♣ loser.

♦ Q8
You should not take the ♣ finesse unless it’s


♣ 963
absolutely necessary. The correct play is to 


play the ♦K discarding a ♣ and then play the ♥A, 
♠ 3
 
N
♠ J10
♥K and another ♥. 
♥ 8
  W    E
♥ 3
That leaves this position when South wins the 
♦ -
S
♦ -
3rd round of ♥’s with the ♥Q. South is end-played;
♣ Q85

♣ AJ
he must either lead into the ♣AJ or else give 

♠ -

you a ruff and discard. 

♥ -
Had North held the ♥Q then you would then

♦ 109

have to take the ♣ finesse.

♣ K74




And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? Lewis played the hand in 6♥ and made it on the lines give above. Other scores were 6♥-1, 6♠-1 and 3NT+2. The bottom lines.

· Understand the strip and end-play, it often avoids needing to take an unnecessary finesse.
Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
2♣. The hand is worth game but 3♠ is not forcing and 4♠ is generally played as a pre-emptive bid. So bid 2♣ and raise partner to 4♠ next go to show a sound raise rather than a pre-emptive one. If you play Jacoby 2NT then I guess that that is an option but I would like a much stronger hand (about 15+).
Hand B:
1♠. It’s 20 for the rule of 20 and well worth an opening as it has both majors and has an easy (2♥) rebid. I note that somebody opened 1♥ - that’s a poor choice as you may well miss a ♠ fit. 
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