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My home phone is 038 422924 and my mobile number is 083 6066880

     23rd Dec 2007
It is best to use my home number to contact me unless I am at the bridge club.
My e-mail is terry@pattayabridge.com or pattayabridge@yahoo.com
My MSN messenger ID is tj_quested@hotmail.com
Mon 17th
N-S
1st

Paul K & Sean
63%

2nd
Gun & Lennart K
54%
E-W
1st

Arnt & Terje
64%

2nd
Hans V & Lars B
57%
Wed 19th 
N-S
1st

Gun & Lennart K
61%

2nd
Paul K & Sean B
59%


E-W
1st

Dave & Terry
66%

2nd
Derek & Gerard
62%
Fri    21st
N-S
1st

Gun & Lennart K
55%

2nd
Arnt & Frode
51%


E-W
1st

Dave & Royd
61%

2nd
Jan & Kaare
58%

Bidding Quiz
     
Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated.
Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A partner opens 1♦ and RHO overcalls 2♥ (weak), 
♠ K82
♠ AQ10763
what do you bid?



♥ AK973
♥ 9763
 
♦ 854
♦ Q6
With Hand B LHO opens 1♣ and partner overcalls 1♥, what do
♣ 87
♣ 10
you bid?
Hand C
Hand D
With Hand C everybody is vulnerable. Partner opens 1♥ and RHO doubles, what do you do?
♠ A984
♠ AQ10



♥ 6
♥ 5
 
♦ KQ96
♦ KQJ106
With Hand D it’s favourable vulnerability. You open 1♦ and 
♣ AQ52
♣ J1095
LHO overcalls 2♥. This is passed to you, what do you do?
Hand E
Hand F
With Hand E RHO opens 1♠ and LHO raises to 2♠. This is
passed round to you, what do you do?
♠ A63
♠ 973
♥ 9732
♥ Q1074
With Hand F partner passes and this is passed round to LHO
♦ A952
♦ AK5
who opens 1♣ in 4th seat. RHO bids 1♠ and this is raised to 2♠ 
♣ 92
♣ QJ3
by opener. Partner doubles; what do you do?

Bidding Sequence Quiz 

G
1♠
pass
2♠
pass
 

pass
dbl
     How strong is dbl?
Leading Problem
     You are North, what do you lead against 2♦ doubled?

♠ A984
West
North(C)
East
South



♥ 6
-
-
-
1♥

♦ KQ96
dbl

redbl
pass
pass



♣ AQ52
2♦
dbl
all pass

The Club Championships
It’s all very close with just one more week to go, this week the Gold Cup race was again very entertaining. Jan attempted to stop his slide by playing with a professional twice; on Wednesday they were thrashed by Dave and the local beach bum and on Friday Dave again beat Jan and his professional when Dave was in harness with the partner that Jan dumped in favor of a professional. These two results by Dave not only give him a comfortable cushion against Jan and any professional partner he may get, but also put Dave ahead of Lewis who is not playing any more this year. Perhaps we will be seeing Norwegian champion Geir Helgemo at the club this week?
	
	Gold Cup = Best 30
	Silver Plate = Best 10
	Bronze Medal = Best 5

	1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10
	1860.4 Dave Cutler

1855.6 Lewis Berg

1847.5 Jan v Koss

1833.8 Paul Savelkral

1816.8 Janne Roos

1806.4 Lars Gustaffson

1770.0 Bob Pelletier 

1748.7 Ivy Schlageter

1747.1 Wolfgang Foitik

1734.4 Sally Watson


	670.5 Lewis Berg

666.8 Janne Roos

658.9 Dave Cutler

655.2 Jan v Koss

647.8 Lars Gustaffson

645.3 Paul Savelkral

644.1 Bengt Malmgren

643.7 Terje Lie

634.5 Derek & Gerard

627.1 Gunnar Barthel


	350.4 Janne Roos

346.0 Lewis Berg

343.2 Bengt Malmgren

341.1 Jan v Koss

336.7 Paul Savelkral

335.2 Dave Cutler

333.4 Terje Lie

332.5 Lars Gustafsson

331.8 Derek & Gerard

325.6 Gunnar Barthel




Bridge Cryptogram


Each letter denotes a specific letter in the alphabet.

	1
	2
	3
	4
	5
	6
	7
	8
	9
	10
	11
	12
	13
	14
	15
	16
	17
	18
	19
	20
	21
	22
	23
	24
	25
	26

	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 


	__
	__
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	
	__

	22
	24
	12
	15
	
	9
	6
	25
	14
	15
	12
	25
	
	11
	6
	1
	12
	2
	
	6

	  __
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	
	__
	__

	7
	6
	8
	6
	15
	26
	20
	15
	19
	
	7
	20
	17
	
	14
	24
	12
	15
	
	24
	12
	
	20
	  2

	  __
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	__
	__

	7
	16
	25
	25
	16
	22
	20
	15
	19
	
	14
	24
	25
	12
	12
	
	16
	23
	
	21
	16
	18
	25

	  __
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	.
	
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__

	9
	16
	20
	15
	14
	2
	
	
	17
	16
	
	15
	16
	14
	
	8
	12
	6
	9
	
	6
	7
	16
	18
	14

	  __
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	
	__
	
	__
	__
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	__
	__
	.

	22
	20
	14
	24
	16
	18
	14
	
	6
	
	4
	12
	25
	21
	
	19
	16
	16
	17
	
	24
	6
	15
	17
	


Qui Culpa?




Board 5 from Monday 17th  
N-S missed a comfortable 4♥ (or 4♠), who would you blame?

Dealer:
♠ AQ10763


Table A
North
♥ 9763

West

North(B)
East

South
N-S vul
♦ Q6

-


pass
(1)
1♣

1♥

♣ 10

pass


2♥
(2)
pass

pass
(3)
pass
♠ 54
 
N
♠ K82


♥ J4
  W    E
♥ Q10

Table B
♦ 532
S
♦ 10874
 
West


North(B)
East

South
♣ QJ8532

♣ AK76
 
-


pass
(1)
1♣

1♥

♠ J9


pass



2♣
(2)
pass

4♥
(4)
♥ AK852

all pass
♦ AKJ9



♣ 94





Table A:
(1)
A weak 2♠ is a possible opener with this hand, presumably this North belongs to the school who do not pre-empt with a side 4-card major. I have no problems either way and would not argue with a 2♠ opening especially as the ♥’s are so weak and the ♠ suit is reasonable.
(2) What did you bid with this North hand B in this week’s quiz? With four ♥’s and great shape this simple raise is too timid.

(3) I think that this hand is probably worth a try (with 3♦).

Table B
(1)
This North also decided not to open. 


(2)
And this is what I probably would have bid, an Unassuming cue bid, showing a sound raise to 3♥. However, this would probably not be the choice of an expert (who would bid 3♣ to show a sound raise with 4 card support).
(4) Either way South now has an easy 4♥ bid.
And what happened? 2♥ made +3 for a bottom, with everybody else making 4♥+1. 
The bottom lines: -

· Upgrade a hand with 4-card support for partner.
· Remember the Unassuming Cue bid, showing a sound raise to three of partner’s overcall.

· I have updated the Unassuming Cue Bid page on the website to include the unassuming jump cue bid, which experts now apparently use when they have a sound raise with 4-card support. 
A poor take-out double



Board 23 from Monday 17th  

I repeatedly say that a take-out double should be short in the suit opened and playable in the other three suits. In the direct seat is should also have points! – about an opening hand.

Dealer:
♠ A984


Table A
South
♥ 6

West

North(C)
East

South
both vul
♦ KQ96

-


-

-

1♥

♣ AQ52

dbl
(1)
redbl
(2)
pass

pass


2♦


dbl

all pass

♠ 10763
 
N
♠ KJ5


♥ -
  W    E
♥ AJ7532

Table B
♦ A10543
S
♦ 87
 
West


North(C)
East

South
♣ 10983

♣ 74
 
-


-

-

1♥

♠ Q2


pass



1♠

pass

2♥

♥ KQ10984

pass


3NT

all pass
♦ J2



♣ KJ6





Table A:
(1)
Right shape, but with 4 points and vulnerable it’s likely to go for a number.

(2) What did you bid with this North hand C in this week’s quiz? This redouble is spot on – it’s a mis-fit, go for the vulnerable penalty.

Table B
All the other tables bid sensibly 

And what happened? What did you lead in this week’s leading quiz? North knows that the declaring side have at most 13 points – so where is declarer going to get any tricks except by cross-ruffing? North should lead a low ♦.

North actually led a ♥ and failed to lead a trump when in again with a ♣. West thus got his cross-ruff going and escaped for just two down and an undeserved top (-500) when it should have been 1100 away. Every other N-S was scoring 600-660 playing in 3NT

The bottom lines: -

· When you know that you have the majority of the points and are defending – lead a trump! Where are the opponents going to get their tricks except by cross-ruffing?

The Automatic re-opening double


Board 16 from Wednesday 19th  

Dealer:
♠ AQ10


Table A
West
♥ 5

West

North(D)
East

South(A)
E-W vul
♦ KQJ106

pass


1♦

2♥
(1)
pass
(2)

♣ J1095

pass


2♣
(3)
pass

3NT
(4)
all pass

♠ J753
 
N
♠ 964


♥ 2
  W    E
♥ QJ10864

Table B
♦ 973
S
♦ A2
 
West


North(D)
East

South(A)
♣ KQ643

♣ A2
 
pass


1♦

2♥
(1)
pass

(2)

♠ K82


pass



dbl
(3)
pass

pass
(5)
♥ AK973

pass



♦ 854



♣ 87





Table A:
(1)
A weak jump overcall. It’s a bit on the good side but it’s adverse vulnerability and partner is a passed hand and so I think it’s fine (well I have to say that – because that’s what I bid).
(2)
What did you bid with this South hand A in this week’s quiz? Obviously you expect to get 800+ from the penalty and since you are playing negative doubles you pass and wait for partner’s ‘automatic’ re-opening double.

(3) What did you bid with this North hand D in this week’s quiz? This North chose to bid out his shape. Words fail me – I cannot say how bad I think this bid is.
(4) Think I’ll give up playing negative doubles with this partner.

Table B
(3)
This North got it right, partner obviously has a ♥ stack.

(5)
Thank you partner. 

And what happened? 

3NT made exactly for 400, but at other tables N-S were collecting anything from 500 to 1100 for 2♥ doubled.
The bottom lines: -

· If you play negative doubles, then remember the automatic re-opening double or you will miss big penalties.
Dave’s Column
Here is this week’s Dave input involving the best play for the contract. 
West
East
You are East, playing in 4♠ and South leads the ♣Q, plan the play.
♠ K653
♠ AQ952
 
♥ K54
♥ AJ8
 
♦ Q64
♦ J82


♣ K87
♣ A5
Dave’s Column answer
Board 14 from Wednesday 19th    
Dealer:
♠ 10



West

North
East

South 
East
♥ 10632

-


-

1NT
(1)
pass
Love all
♦ K975

2♣


pass

2♠

pass

♣ 9642

4♠

all pass

♠ K653
N
♠ AQ952
(1)
It’s up to your partnership if you open 1♠ or 
♥ K54
  W    E
♥ AJ8
 
1NT with a 5-card major. I generally prefer 
♦ Q64
S
♦ J82

1NT with this hand type as there is then no 
♣ K87

♣ A5

rebid problem

♠ J84



♥ Q97
 
♦ A103



♣ QJ103
South leads the ♣Q, how do you play in 4♠ by East?

Suppose you win the ♣ lead, draw trumps and take the ♥ finesse. It loses and South exits safely in ♣’s or ♥’s. You will later have to tackle the ♦ suit yourself, and with the honours split, you will lose a total of 4 tricks (3 ♦’s and a ♥).
You would like to force the opponents to make the first play in ♦’s. How can this be done? After winning the ♣ lead and drawing trumps, you must eliminate the ♣ suit. What does that mean? You cross to the ♣K and ruff a ♣ in hand; the defenders will not now be able to play that suit (if they did it would give you a ruff and discard). What do you do next? Take the ♥ finesse? No, because if it loses , South will probably have a safe ♥ return. Instead you must cash the ♥A and ♥K and exit with the ♥J. It makes no difference which defender wins the third round of ♥’s. He will have to play a ♦ or give you a ruff and discard.
And what happened?

Seven pairs out of 8 ended up in 4♠ and four made it. 
The bottom lines: -

· Don’t take a 50% finesse if you have a 100% end-play.
Dave’s 2nd Column
Here is Dave’s 2nd input involving the best play for the contract. 
North
South
You are South, playing in 6♦ and West leads the ♣K.
♠ 753
♠ AQ2
How do you play the hand?
♥ AQ
♥ K5
 

♦ K542
♦ AQJ10976

♣ 8643
♣ A
Dave’s 2nd Column answer
Board 15 from Wednesday 19th    
Dealer:
♠ 753



West

North
East

South 

South
♥ AQ

-


-

-

2♣
N-S vul
♦ K542

pass


2♦
(1)
pass

3♦

♣ 8643

pass

4♦

pass

4NT
(2)
pass


5♥
(3)
pass

5NT
(4)
♠ K104
N
♠ J986

pass

6♣
(5)
pass

6♦
♥ 10862
  W    E
♥ J9743
 
all pass
♦ 3
S
♦ 8


♣ KQJ75

♣ 1092
(1)
Waiting
 

♠ AQ2

(2)
RKCB
♥ K5
(3)
2 keycards and no ♦Q
♦ AQJ10976
(4)
kings?


♣ A
(5)
None. There are other responses but this pair show the number of kings (excluding the trump king)
It does not matter who is declarer as the play is much the same (except that with North as declarer the contract goes down on a ♠ lead). Dave’s book assumes that South is declarer. How do you play on the ♣K lead from West?


♠ 753


There are two possible losers in ♠’s and you
 


♥ -
would like to force West to lead this suit. You can 

♦ 54
achieve this when West has 5 or more ♣’s. You
♣ 8
win the ♣ lead, draw trumps with the ♦A and 

cross to the ♥Q to ruff a ♣. You then play the ♥K

♠ K104
N
♠ J986
to the ♥A and ruff another ♣. Finally you reach 
♥ 10
  W    E
♥ J9
dummy again with the ♦K and you have this end
 
♦ -
S
♦ -
position.

♣ QJ

♣ -
You lead dummy’s last ♣ and East discards. 

♠ AQ2

Success is now guaranteed.
♥ -
Instead of ruffing the ♣, you discard a ♠ loser. West
♦ QJ10
wins the trick and has no safe return. He must either 
♣ -
lead a ♠ into your ♠AQ or play a ♣ or ♥, either of
which will give you a ruff and discard.
And what happened?

Five pairs out of 8 reached 6♦, two made it and three went one down.

The bottom lines: -

· When you have a holding such as AQx you would like the player on your left to play the suit. 
· Sometimes you can throw a specific defender on lead with the last card of a different suit.
Balancing – part 1




Board 5 from Friday 21st   

When you are in the balancing, or pass-out seat, at a low level then you can bid with less points that normal as partner obviously has values.

Dealer:
♠ KQJ94


Table A
North
♥ J108

West

North
East(E)
South
N-S vul
♦ J74

pass


1♠

pass

2♠

♣ 87

pass


pass

pass
(1)

♠ 10
 
N
♠ A63

Table B
♥ KQ54
  W    E
♥ 9732

West



North
East(E)
South
♦ K86
S
♦ A952
 
pass


1♠

pass

2♠

♣ KJ1064

♣ 92
 
pass


pass

dbl
(1)
pass

♠ 8752


3♥



pass

pass

pass
(2)
♥ A6


♦ Q103



♣ AQ63





Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this East hand E in this week’s quiz? This pass is very lame – a balancing double is not perfect (partner may bid ♣’s) but if partner has 4 ♥’s or bid ♦’s then you will find a fit. The opponents have a ♠ fit and the odds are that you have a fit somewhere.
Table B
(1)
This East got it right with a balancing double
(2)
With 4 ♠’s South should bid 3♠ - The Law of Total Tricks (9 trumps in total).. 

And what happened? 

N-S were left to play comfortably in 2♠ at no less than 4 out of 6 tables! Are there so few people who understand balancing? Just two East’s got it right; at one table West made 3♥ for a top and at the other N-S bid to 3♠ and went one down.
The bottom lines: -

· If the opponents stop at the two level with a fit, then it’s usually best to balance as you too usually have a fit.
· You do not need your full quota of points to balance in the pass-out seat with a double, 7 or 8 is fine.

Balancing – part 2




Board 18 from Friday 21st   

We saw just now that one can balance with as few as 8 or 9 points, therefore partner of a balancer needs to show constraint.
Dealer:
♠ A852


Table A
East
♥ A83

West(F)
North
East

South
N-S vul
♦ QJ4

-


-

pass

pass

♣ 10862

pass


1♣

pass

1♠
pass


2♠

dbl
(1)
pass
♠ 973
 
N
♠ J

4♥
(2)

all pass
♥ Q1074
  W    E
♥ K962


♦ AK5
S
♦ 107632
 
Table B
♣ QJ3

♣ A52
 
West(F)
North
East

South

♠ KQ1064


-



-

pass

pass
♥ J5

pass


1♣

pass

1♠
♦ 98

pass


2♠

dbl
(1)
pass
♣ K974


3♥
(2)
pass

pass

pass
(3)


Table A:
(1)
This is not actually the balancing seat, but both opponents have limited their hands and the same rules apply – you can ‘balance’ here with 8 or so points and with 9 cards in the red suits double here double is an excellent bid.

(2)
Unfortunately West did not realize that partner was bidding 3 of his points and he jumped to game. Had he stopped to ponder the fact that partner had already passed twice he should have realized that he had few points.
Table B
(2)
This West got it right

(3)
With 4 ♠’s South should bid 3♠ - The Law of Total Tricks (9 trumps in total). 

And what happened? 

Results were all over the place and 4♥-2 actually scored an average. The top E-W score was 3♥ making and a couple of South’s made 9 tricks in ♠’s, but deep Finesse says that N-S should only make 8 tricks in ♠’s.
The bottom lines: -

· If  partner balances (or bids when both opponents are limited) then do not leap about – that is called ‘hanging partner’.
Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
Pass, and next go pass partner’s automatic double.
Hand B:
2♣, an Unassuming cue bid – showing a sound raise to 3♥. 2♥ is too feeble with great shape and 4 trumps and 3♥ is pre-emptive. Having said that, the expert bid these days is 3♣ - a jump unassuming cue bid! This shows a sound raise to 3♥ with 4 trumps and was obviously devised by a devout follower of the Law of Total tricks.
Hand C:
Redouble. It’s a mis-fit so go for the (hopefully huge) vulnerable penalty.
Hand D:
Double, ‘automatic’. Partner is almost certainly sitting with a ♥ penalty hand.
Hand E:
Double. You are in the balancing seat and do not want the opponents to play peacefully in 2♠. Double is not perfect as you have only 2 ♣’s but you are very likely to have a ♥ fit and really should balance.
Hand F:
3♥. Partner does not have much except 8+ red cards. Do not jump to 4♥ - partner is bidding your hand (3 of your points) for you because he has shape.
Bidding Sequence Answer
G
1♠
pass
2♠
pass
 

pass
dbl
Dbl here is in the balancing seat and may be a little as 8 points.

Leading Quiz Answer
A trump. This may possibly cost a trump trick but declarer has at most 13 combined points and can only get a reasonable number of tricks if he gets a cross ruff going. Leading the singleton ♥ is pointless as you do not need ruffs (your side has so many high cards) – you need to reduce any ruffs that dummy may have.
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