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My home phone is 038 422924 and my mobile number is 083 6066880

     10th Feb 2008
It is best to use my home number to contact me unless I am at the bridge club.
My e-mail is terry@pattayabridge.com or pattayabridge@yahoo.com
My MSN messenger ID is tj_quested@hotmail.com
Mon 4th
N-S
1st

Jeremy & Sally
68%

2nd
Bob & Royd
56%


E-W
1st

Derek & Gerard
60%

2nd
Goran & Margit
55%
Wed 6th 
N-S
1st

Jean-Charles & Terry 
54%

2nd 
Holger & Ursula
54%

E-W
1st

Josteinn & Vaiur
56%

2nd
Hans V & Lasse
52%
Fri 8th     
N-S
1st

Gastone & Terry
59%

2nd
Anne & Mike
57%


E-W
1st

Hans V & Lars G
62%

2nd
Michele & Holger
58%

Bidding Quiz
     
Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated.
Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A partner opens 1♠ in 2nd seat, what do you do?
♠ 7
♠ -

 

♥ 10542
♥ AQJ8742
With Hand B you open 1♥, LHO overcalls 1♠ and this is 

♦ 9642
♦ K632
passed back to you, what do you do?

♣ A432
♣ J5

Hand C
Hand D
With Hand C partner opens 1♥ and RHO overcalls 1♠, what
do you do?

♠ KJ1094
♠ QJ10862


♥ 10
♥ AKJ
With Hand D partner opens 1♦ and RHO overcalls with a weak 3♣
♦ QJ4
♦ KQ104 
(a) what do you do?
♣ Q972
♣ -

(b) suppose you bid 3♠ and partner raises to 4♠, what do you bid now? 
Bidding Sequence Quiz
E
1♠
pass
1NT
pass 
Is 3♥ forcing?
3♥

F
1♦
3♣
3♠

Is 3♠ forcing?

G
1♦
4♣
4NT

What is 4NT?

.
The non-automatic re-opening double?

Board 4 from Wednesday 6th 
Dealer:
♠ -


West

North(B)
East

South(C)
West
♥ AQJ8742

pass


1♥

1♠

pass
(1)
Both vul
♦ K632

pass


2♥
(2)
3♣

dbl

♣ J5

3♠


pass

pass

dbl
all pass
♠ 875
 
N
♠ AQ632


♥ 9653
  W    E
♥ K
(1)
What did you bid with this South hand C in this

♦ A875
S
♦ 109

week’s quiz? Playing negative doubles you
♣ 106

♣ AK843
 
should pass and pass partner’s subsequent double.

♠ KJ1094

(2)
What did you bid with this North hand B in this

♥ 10

week’s quiz? Playing negative doubles you
♦ QJ4


would normally double automatically. But 
♣ Q972


this really is one of the very few exceptions.

Even though you know that partner has a ♠ stack, 

2♥ must be right.


And what happened?
-
3♠ was doubled at two tables and went -1 (200) and -3 (800). At other tables there were the usual spurious results including 4♥-1, 4♠*-3 and 4♣-4(undoubled!).


Bridge Cryptogram
Each letter denotes a specific letter in the alphabet.
	1
	2
	3
	4
	5
	6
	7
	8
	9
	10
	11
	12
	13
	14
	15
	16
	17
	18
	19
	20
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	22
	23
	24
	25
	26
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	__
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	__
	__
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	__
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	__
	__
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	__

	9
	11
	19
	21
	17
	8
	6
	
	5
	10
	16
	
	11
	
	2
	10
	8
	6
	
	13
	17
	3
	4

	  __
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	__
	__

	11
	8
	12
	
	9
	11
	21
	21
	17
	8
	6
	
	17
	21
	
	13
	15
	4
	
	3
	11
	17
	8

	  __
	__
	__
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	__

	26
	11
	19
	21
	4
	
	10
	5
	
	12
	17
	21
	9
	19
	13
	4
	21
	
	11
	8
	12

	  __
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	__

	12
	17
	16
	4
	26
	13
	10
	16
	
	26
	11
	2
	2
	21
	
	11
	13
	
	13
	15
	4

	  __
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	
	__
	__
	__
	__
	__
	.

	22
	16
	17
	12
	6
	4
	
	13
	11
	22
	2
	4
	


The long pause…

Board 29 from Wednesday 6th 
This deal caused a director call and some controversy on Wednesday. My position (and the internationally accepted rules) are very clear. So here we go again - a long pause and pass followed by partner making a very dubious bid. Now I am not that impressed with any of the bidding at this table, but one thing is carved in stone – if your partner makes a long pause and passes then you have to have a very clear bid in order to bid anything other than pass. Hesitation followed by a pass, and partner then dubiously bidding, is the main cause of controversy and director calls worldwide.

Dealer:
♠ Q754


West

North
East

South

North
♥ AJ

-


pass

pass

1♦
Both vul
♦ 9874

3♣
(1)
3♦
(2)
4♣
(3)
pass
(4)

♣ 1085

pass


dbl
(5)
all pass


♠ J8
 
N
♠ A1093


♥ KQ73
  W    E
♥ 9642
(1)
A bit too ragged a suit for me when vulnerable.
♦ 5
S
♦ KJ2
(2)
But West’s bid has made it awkward for North.
♣ K97632

♣ QJ
(3)
I would pass, presumably East thought that West

♠ K62


was a bit stronger? I would need 3 ♣’s to raise.

♥ 1085
(4)
After a long pause. I would pass pretty much
♦ AQ1063


in tempo with this hand, but if I had paused 
♣ A4


then I would bid 4♦ - pausing and passing causes
more friction, arguments and director calls than 

any other aspect of bridge. 
(5) After partner’s pause, this is simply not cricket. 

North has nothing more than already shown.
And what happened? 4♣ doubled went -2 for a near top to N-S. The director was called and I ruled that North should not double and the result was changed to 4♣-2 undoubled.
The bottom lines: -

· Try not to think for a long time and then pass - it only causes problems for partner (or me if partner decides to bid and I am subsequently called over by the opponents).

· If you do think for a long time, then bid rather than passing (this means there is never a problem).

· If partner does make a long pause and the pass, then you are banned from the auction unless you have a very clear bid. It is quite possible that North intended to double without partner’s hesitation, but that is not the point. It does not matter if that is the bid that you would have made, what matters is that the bid must be very clear after partner’s hesitation/pass and in my opinion double at (5) is not at all obvious.

Pass a forcing bid?


Board 8 from Friday 8th  

One should ‘never’ pass a forcing bid of course, but there are always exceptions… ?
Dealer:
♠ A9852


Table A
West
♥ KQJ7

West

North
East

South(A)
Love all
♦ AQ3

pass


1♠

pass

pass
(1)

♣ K

pass
♠ A1063
 
N
♠ QJ4

Table B
♥ A96
  W    E
♥ 83

West



North
East

South(A)
♦ 875
S
♦ KJ10

pass


1♠

pass

1NT
(1)
♣ QJ6

♣ 109875
 
pass


3♥
(2)
pass

pass
(3)

♠ 7

 
pass
♥ 10542


♦ 9642



♣ A432




Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this South hand A in this week’s quiz? Since virtually every North ended up as declarer in 1♠ it appears that pass was the overwhelming favourite.
 Table B:
(1)
This South could not stomach the thought of partner playing in 1♠, and so bid in the hope of finding a better spot.
(2) A 2nd suit, and absolutely forcing…
(3) … but there are always exceptions. South was happy to have found a better spot.

And what happened? 7 North’s played in 1♠, making 7 or 8 tricks. 3♥ made 11 tricks for a complete top to N-S.

The bottom lines: -
-
Whether you should ‘bend the rules’ with this type of South hand is up to you. It may go horribly wrong (partner bidding 3♠ or 4♠) but that is less likely if you play Benjamin twos. If you do choose to bid 1NT then you can pass any rebid and most will leave you in a better spot.
Dave’s Column
Here is this week’s Dave input involving the best play for the contract. 
North
South
East leads the ♥5 against your contract of 5♣. West wins with the


♠ 92
♠ AJ10 
♥A and returns the ♥7
♥ 9
♥ 103
(a) How are the ♥ honours placed?
♦ A86
♦ K742
(b) What is your game plan?
♣ AKQJ532
♣ 10876


Dave’s Column answer
Board 1 from Wednesday 6th  
Dealer:
♠ 92



West

North
East

South 

North
♥ 9

-


1♣

pass

1NT
Love all
♦ A86

2♥


3♥
(1)
4♥

pass

♣ AKQJ532

pass

5♣

all pass
♠ K753
N
♠ Q864
(1)
Asking for a ♥ stop. 

♥ AQ8742
  W    E
♥ KJ65

♦ J3
S
♦ Q1095
East leads the ♥5 which West wins with the ♥A.
♣ 4

♣ 9
West returns the ♥7 which you ruff.


♠ AJ10



♥ 103
(a) How are the ♥ honours placed?
♦ K742
(b) What is your game plan?
♣ 10876


(a) Regarding the two missing ♥ honours, East must have the ♥K (West won with the ♥A). East has the ♥J as with ♥AQJ West would return the ♥Q (or ♥J).

(b) Onto the game plan. You have lost a ♥ and have a ♠ as well as a ♦ loser. Counting tricks you have 7 ♣’s, 2 ♦’s and a ♠; a total of 10. You must find an extra trick and you have two possible plays: -

(1) Take two ♠ finesses and try to rid yourself of the ♦ loser.

(2) Play on ♦’s, hoping for a 3-3 break.

As for percentages, one of the two finesses working is about 75%, while a 3-3 break is 36%. So take two ♠ finesses.
And what happened at the Pattaya bridge Club? Just two pairs played in 5♣ and both made it. The player who overbid to 6♣ went one down. But at the other three tables E-W competed to 5♥ and all went just two down (only one was doubled). 5♥ doubled should go 3 down for a poor score, but N-S have to defend accurately (North needs to lead ♠’s twice) to get their 5 tricks before the ♦’s get set up for declarer.
The bottom lines: -

· One of two finesses is about 75%

· A suit splitting 3-3 is 36% 
· Play with the odds.

Dave’s 2nd Column
Here is Dave’s 2nd input involving the best play for the contract. 
West
East
You are East and open 1♦, South overcalls 4♥ and partner bids 5♦.


♠ AJ10
♠ K874
South leads two top ♥’s and North shows an even number. 

♥ 73
♥ 52
At trick three South shifts to a trump and you play a 2nd trump 

♦ A10965
♦ KQJ87
upon which North discards a ♠. 

♣ K43
♣ A2
Now you play two top ♣’s and ruff a ♣, all following. How do you now play the ♠’s?

Dave’s 2nd Column answer
Board 2 from Wednesday 6th  
Dealer:
♠ Q9432



West

North
East

South 

North
♥ 109

-


-

1♦

4♥
Love all
♦ 4

5♦


all pass

♣ J8765



♠ AJ10
N
♠ K874
 

♥ 73
  W    E
♥ 52

♦ A10965
S
♦ KQJ87

♣ K43

♣ A2



♠ 5



♥ AKQJ864

♦ 32

♣ Q109


South leads the ♥K followed by the ♥A, North playing the ♥10 and ♥9 – thus showing an even number playing ‘ace for attitude, king for count’. At trick three South shifts to a trump and you play a 2nd trump upon which North discards a ♠. 
Now you play the two top ♣’s and ruff a ♣, all following. How do you play the ♠’s?
Have you been counting? Whenever you come across a hand that depends upon a 2-way finesse for a queen it will probably be a counting hand.

If you can, you should delay the play of the key two way ♠ suit until you have more information about the other suits. 

Here the bidding and play indicate that South started with seven ♥’s. South followed to two rounds of ♦’s and three rounds of ♣’s so can have no room for more than one ♠. Cash the ♠A and run the ♠J through North – he must have the ♠Q.

And what happened at the Pattaya bridge Club? Just two pairs bid to 5♦ and both made it, at one table South switched to the singleton ♠ at trick three to give declarer no problem. 
The bottom lines: -

· Use the opponent’s bidding and signaling to help you to count the hand.
· Hands where one opponent has made a pre-emptive bid are easier to count. Once you know that an opponent has a long suit, count that hand – you do not need to count both hands.
Missing just the AK of trumps

Board 25 from Wednesday 5th  

Dealer:
♠ -


Table A
West
♥ 1097

West

North
East(D)
South
Love all
♦ 975

1♦


3♣

5♠
(1)
pass

♣ AQJ10976

6♠
(2)
all pass

♠ AK43
 
N
♠ QJ10862

‘Expert Table’
♥ Q4
  W    E
♥ AKJ

West



North
East(D)
South
♦ A832
S
♦ KQ104

1♦


3♣

3♠
(1)
pass
♣ 852

♣ -
 
4♠


pass

5♣
(3)
pass

♠ 975

 
5♦
(4)
pass

5NT

pass
♥ 86532

7♠


all pass
♦ J6



♣ K43




Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this East hand D(a) in this week’s quiz? On the face of it this jump to 5♠ seems very strange; but actually, lacking more refined methods, I think it’s quite reasonable. I play the bid just the same as an opening 5♥/♠ bid -  asking partner to bid six with one top honour and seven with two. On the bidding it’s fairly likely that partner has the ♦A.
(2)
As indicated above, I would bid 7♠ here.

‘Expert’
(1)
Assuming that you do not play negative free bids then 3♠ is forcing here and is 

 Table:

the bid I would choose and is the answer to question D(a). 

(3)
What did you bid with this East hand D(b) in this week’s quiz? You need to find out if partner has the ♦A and also what he has in the way of top ♠ honours. Blackwood is a poor choice with a void because if partner responds two or three keycards you have no idea if he has the useless ♦A or not. The best bid is 5♣, a cue bid, showing 1st round control of ♣’s and inviting partner to cue bid.  
(4)
A cue bid, showing 1st round control of ♦’s, so obviously the ♦A.
(5)
The Josaphine Grand slam force, asking partner to bid a grand slam with two of the top three ♠ honours.

And what happened? 5 out of 7 bid 6♠ making +1 with the other in a poor 4NT. I guess that North overcalled 4♣ and West passed the 4NT bid of East. Nobody found 7♠.
The bottom lines: -
· Pre-empt to the limit. At non-vul a 4♣ bid by North can (did) cause havoc.

· 5NT, when a suit has been agreed and Blackwood not invoked, is the GSF.

Negative Free Bids (NFB)

Negative free bids are a variation on Negative Doubles that I do not recommend. Playing Negative Free Bids the 3♠ bid at (1) would not be forcing. With this strong hand East would have to double and hope to be able to show his ♠’s next go. The problem is that a ♣ raise by South could well cause problems as you loose a level or two of bidding and finding the grand would be almost impossible.

The bottom lines: -
-
Do not play Negative Free Bids. Expert opinion of NFBs is divided and it is well known that a raise by overcaller’s partner can cause havoc.
Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
1NT. At least, that’s what I bid. If you pass (as just about everybody in the club did) then LHO will doubtless pass again and 1♠ will probably be a poor contract.
So try 1NT and pass partner’s rebid, praying that partner does not leap too high in ♠’s or NoTrumps.
Hand B:
2♥. This is a rare exception of a case where your hand is unsuitable for a re-opening double. Partner clearly has a ♠ stack but your hand is not suitable for defending 1♠ doubled.
Hand C:
Pass, and pass partner’s expected double.
Hand D:
(a)
3♠. This is forcing. An interesting option that an opponent tried at my table is 5♠ which (in my opinion) asks partner to bid 6♠ with a top ♠ honour and 7♠ with both the ♠A and ♠K. This assumes that opener has the ♦A.
(b)
5♣, a cue bid showing 1st round control of ♣’s and inviting partner to cue bid. 4NT (RKCB) is a poor bid with a void as you will generally not know if the response includes the useless ♣A or not. So cue bid 5♣ and if partner bids 5♦ (showing the ♦A) then bid 5NT – the Josaphine GSF, asking partner to bid the grand with two of the top three ♠ honours.
Bidding Sequence Answers
E
1♠
pass
1NT
pass 
3♥ is game forcing.

3♥


F
1♦
3♣
3♠

3♠ is forcing unless you play negative free bids, which I do not (unless partnering somebody who does – Bengt or Sean for example).

G
1♦
4♣
4NT

I guess this is Blackwood or RKCB. You cannot have everything and if you want to play in 4NT then tough, the 4♣ bid has fixed you.
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