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My home phone is 038 422924 and my mobile number is 083 6066880

 5th July 2009
It is best to use my home number to contact me unless I am at the bridge club. 
My e-mail is terry@pattayabridge.com or pattayabridge@yahoo.com
My MSN messenger ID is tj_quested@hotmail.com
Mon 29th     N-S
1st
Jeremy & Sally
60%
2nd 
Gus & Royd
59%
E-W
1st
Janne & Paul
63%
2nd 
Bob S & Ian
57%

Wed 1st      
N-S
1st
Janne & Linda
57%
2nd 
Bob S & Ian
52%

E-W
1st
Petter & Terje
61%
2nd 
Paul Q & Terry Q
55%

Fri   3rd     
1st
Derek & Gerard

=
1st  
Arne & Svein
60%
Bidding Quiz
     Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.

Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A partner opens 1♦ and you bid 1♥. Partner then
bids 2NT (18-19), what do you do?

♠ 102
♠ 542


♥ KJ986
♥ Q
With Hand B partner opens 2NT (20-21), what do you bid?
♦ 7
♦ KQJ432
♣ 97542
♣ AK10

Bidding Sequence Quiz
C
1♣
pass
1♦
pass

You are playing a short club and this is the sequence.

 
1♥
pass
1♠
pass
The 1♠ bid is natural and forcing.
2♥
pass ……..

How many ♣’s does opener have?.. and how many ♥’s?

Current club championship standings

	
	Gold Cup = Best 30
	Silver Plate = Best 10
	Bronze Medal = Best 5

	1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10
	1833.5 Janne Roos
1799.1 Paul Quodomine
1788.5 Hans Vikman
1768.3 Sally Watson
	650.3 Janne Roos

639.3 Hans Vikman

638.4 Paul Quodomine

630.1 Sally Watson
619.9 Jeremy Watson

616.8 Bob Short

615.1 Lars Broman

612.3 Ivy Schlageter
609.2 Jean Wissing 

607.6 Per Andersson


	334.8 Janne Roos

329.0 Hans Vikman

326.9 Paul Quodomine

324.5 Sally Watson

321.8 Ivy Schlageter 

321.7 Bob Short

321.7 Jeremy Watson

321.0 Per Andersson

316.9 Terje Lie
316.1 Lars Broman




Stopping after a 2NT (18-19) rebid – pt 1
Board 1 from Monday 29th 
Here is the first of two similar articles, where responder had no agreement on how to play in three of his major after partner had jump rebid 2NT showing 18-19.
Dealer:
♠ A9876

Table A
North
♥ 42

West(A)
North
East
South
Love all
♦ J862

-


pass

1♦

pass


♣ J3

1♥
(1)
pass

2NT
pass


3♥
(2)
pass

3NT
all pass


♠ 102
N
♠ KJ4


♥ KJ986
W
E
♥ Q5
 
‘Expert’ Table
♦ 7
S
♦ AK943
West(A)
North
East
South
♣ 97542

♣ KQ8

-

pass

1♦

pass
1♥
(1)
pass

2NT
pass

♠ Q53

3♣
(2)
pass

3♦
(3)
pass
♥ A1073


3♥
(4)
pass

pass
(5)
pass
♦ Q105
 

♣ A106




Table A:
(1)
Reasonable, pass is the equally unattractive possibility. The hand needs another ♥ for a weak jump shift to 2♥.

(2)
What did you bid with this West hand A in this week’s quiz? Most pairs have not discussed this and West rebid his ♥’s in the hope that partner would take it as a weak bid and pass.
‘Expert’
(1)
Let’s suppose that our expert also chooses to respond 1♥.
 Table:
(2)
Our experts have an agreement here of course. They play the PARROT convention and 3♣ here is similar to the Wolff sign-off and demands that partner bids 3♦.
(3)
Forced, regardless of whether the opening bid was 1♣ or 1♦,

(4)
This shows a weak hand and expresses a desire to play in 3♥.

(5) East obeys of course.

And what happened? 3NT-1, 3NT-2, 3NT-3, 2NT-2, 2NT-1, 2♥= and 2♥+1.
The bottom lines: -
· You need to have some sort of agreement after a strength-showing 2NT rebid. There are a few conventions, but easily the best is the PARROT convention which is described on the website.
Stopping after a 2NT (18-19) rebid – pt 2
Board 27 from Monday 29th 

Here is another example of the same problem, both occurred on Monday.
Dealer:
♠ KQ10

Table A
South
♥ KQJ4

West

North
East
South
Love all
♦ A102

-


-

-

pass


♣ K103

pass


1♣

dbl
(1)
1♠
(2)


pass


2NT

pass
pass
(3)
♠ 53
N
♠ A97

pass
♥ 876
W
E
♥ A92
 
♦ J7654
S
♦ KQ8
‘Expert’ Table
♣ A64

♣ J952

West
North
East
South
-


-

-

pass

♠ J8642

pass


1♣

dbl
(1)
1♠
(2)

♥ 1053

pass


2NT

pass
3♣
(3)
♦ 93
 
pass


3♦
(4)
pass
3♠
(5)
♣ Q87



pass

pass

pass
Table A:
(1)
I would pass, I guess that this East is a member of the ‘double to show points’ brigade. With just three cards in both majors, double is a terrible bid.
(2) South decided to show his 5- card major, a very dubious decision.
(3) N-S had no agreements here on how to stop in 3♠, and so South passed.

‘Expert’
(1)
Let’s suppose that we have another ‘double on any hand’ opponent.
 Table:
(2)
And let’s suppose that this expert decides to bid his ♠’s rather than passing.


(3)
Here we have the PARROT convention again.

(4)
Forced.

(5)
And N-S reach the optimum contract.
And what happened? Contracts and results were all over the place but nobody wound up in ♠’s. 3♠ makes and would have been a clear top had they agreed to the PARROT convention.
The bottom lines: -
· Play PARROT after a 2NT rebid.
A trivial 7NT missed at ½ of the  tables
Board 3 from Friday 3rd  

Dealer:
♠ 542

Table A
South
♥ Q

West

North(B)
East
South
E-W vul
♦ KQJ432

-


-

-

2NT


♣ AK10

pass


6♦
(1)
pass
7♦
(2)


all pass
♠ J973
N
♠ 86


♥ 1075
W
E
♥ J9864
Table B
♦ 5
S
♦ 10987
West


North(B)
East
South
♣ J6432

♣ Q9

-

-

-

2NT
♠ AKQ10

pass


4♣
(1)
pass
4NT
(3)

♥ AK32

pass


7NT

all pass
♦ A6
 

♣ 875




Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with North hand B in this week’s quiz? I simply cannot understand this bid – why do you want to play in ♦’s (rather than NT) and why do you not want to look for a grand slam? 
(2) I would pass. You have said your hand with nothing to spare and partner presumably has a bust hand with loads of ♦’s. This South apparently raised to the grand because he had the ♦A.
Table B:
(1)
This 4♣ (Gerber) is the obvious answer to question B. The ♦ suit is a great source of tricks and there are only 4-5 points missing. So check on aces and bid 6NT or 7NT accordingly. If one ace is missing, do not bid 6♦ - 6NT will make if 6♦ does as the opponents can have at most one jack more and so partner must have the ♥K.
(3)
This shows 3 aces in response to Gerber.
And what happened? 7NT= three times, 7♦= twice, 6NT+1 once.
The bottom lines: -
· With a combined 35-36 points, look for a grand and only stop in 6NT if there is an ace missing.
· KQJxxx is huge when partner has opened 2NT.

Dave’s Column
Here is Dave’s input about defending the hand.

♠ AK7
N


West

North
East

South
♥ Q10
W
E


-
-
1NT

pass
♦ 743
S


4NT


-

6NT

all pass
♣ AK1098





♠ 10985






♥ 852
You are South and lead the ♠10. Declarer wins, cashes the 
♦ A62
♣Q and wins the next ♣ in dummy. He leads a ♦ to his ♦K,
♣ 753

do you win with the ♦A or not, and why?


Dave’s Column answer

Board 22 from Wednesday 1st 
Dealer:
♠ 432



Book Auction
East
♥ K9643

West

North
East

South
Both vul
♦ J109

-


-

1NT

pass

♣ 64


3♣
(1)
pass

3NT
(2)
pass

6NT
(3)
♠ AK7
N
♠ QJ6


♥ Q10
W
E
♥ AJ7

1st Expert Table
♦ 743
S
♦ KQ85

West


North
East

South
♣ AK1098

♣ QJ2 

-

-

1NT

pass

♠ 10985



4NT


(4)
pass

pass
(5)


♥ 852

♦ A62



2nd Expert table
♣ 753



West

North
East

South




-

-

1NT

pass
2♠
(6)
pass

2NT
(7)
pass
4NT
(8)
pass

6NT
(9)
all pass

(1) You have to agree what 3♣ means here, in SAYC it is invitational (to 3NT) and passable.
(2) I assume that this shows no slam interest,

(3) and so this bid makes no sense at all.

(4) This slam invitational bid is much better – West does not have enough to charge into slam

(5) With his totally flat 16 points East obviously declines.

(6) This pair of experts play 4-way transfers, and this shows a ♣ suit.

(7) A super-accept, here showing Qxx of ♣’s.

(8) Now West knows that there are 5 ♣ tricks and can either invite or bid an optimistic 6NT.

(9) With ♣QJx, East may possibly accept the invitation.

Anyway, it’s not a good contract, and you are South defending it. You lead the ♠10 which declarer wins with his ♠J, cashes the ♣Q and overtakes the ♣J in dummy. He then leads a ♦ to hid ♦K – do you win with the ♦A? Why or why not?

In actual play, South took his ♦A. With no chance of developing a ♦ winner declarer had to take the ♥ finesse and the slam made.

What would happen if South did not take the ♦A? Assuming he played in tempo, declarer is favorite to go wrong. Instead of risking a 50% ♥ finesse he may well play North for the ♦A and lead up to his ♦Q. South would win and return the suit – one down.
And what happened at the Pattaya Bridge Club? 6NT= twice, 3NT+3 five times.
Dave’s 2nd Column
Here is Dave’s 2nd input the play of the hand.
North
South
You are South, declarer in 3NT.
♠ AKJ
♠ Q109
West leads the ♥2 which East wins with the ♥K. The ♣10 
♥ J103
♥ Q8
comes back and your ♣J is taken by the ♣Q. West continues
♦ K872
♦ AJ1094
with the ♣A and a ♣ to your ♣K upon which East discards
♣ 542
♣ KJ6
a ♥. Plan the play, particularly in ♦’s.

Dave’s 2nd Column answer


Board 23 from Wednesday 1st 
Dealer:
♠ AKJ



Book bidding 
South
♥ J103

West

North
East

South
Both vul
♦ K872

-


-

-

1♦

♣ 542


2♣

3♦
(1)
pass

3NT
all pass
♠ 532
N
♠ 8764


♥ A952
W
E
♥ K764
(1)
Many players these day play this as a weak 
♦ 6
S
♦ Q53

pre-emptive raise, with 3♣ showing a sound
♣ AQ987

♣ 103

raise to 3♦ or better. 

♠ Q109




♥ Q8
 

 
♦ AJ1094



♣ KJ6




The defence started with the ♥2 and East won with the ♥K and shifted to the ♣10. West took the ♣Q and ♣A and led a third ♣ to declarer’s ♣K, East discarding a ♥. Declarer then tried the ♦AK (8 ever 9 never) and that was three down. How would you play the hand?
South should gather all the evidence and then count and use logic rather than following a ‘rule’.
West is known to have started with 5 ♣’s, and his lead of the ♥2 suggests 4 ♥’s. South needs to know about the ♦’s but should not play that suit before playing three rounds of ♠’s. When West follows to all three, South knows 12 of West’s original 13 cards. South should cash the ♦K and confidently finesse the ♦J for 9 sure tricks.

Terry’s comment. A small ♣ lead looks clear to me (4th highest longest and strongest and preserve the ♥A as an entry), and then declarer is on more of a guess.

And what happened at the Pattaya Bridge Club? 3NT= twice, 3NT-1 four times and 3♦-1.
Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
3♣, with the aim of stopping in 3♥. This is provided that you play the Parrot convention which enables you to show a forcing ♥ hand or a weak one.
Hand B:
4♣, Gerber. All you need to know is how many aces partner has and then bid 6NT or 7NT. 
Bidding Sequence Quiz Answers
C
1♣
pass
1♦
pass
1♣ initially shows possibly just two ♣’s


 
1♥
pass
1♠
pass
1♥ shows 4 ♥’s and possibly still just two ♣’s

2♥
pass ……..

2♥ shows 5 ♥’s and therefore at least five ♣’s, probably six, depending upon partnership style.
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