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My home phone is 038 422924 and my mobile number is 083 6066880

23rd Aug 2009
It is best to use my home number to contact me unless I am at the bridge club. 
My e-mail is terry@pattayabridge.com or pattayabridge@yahoo.com
My MSN messenger ID is tj_quested@hotmail.com
Mon 17th     
1st
Bill P & Bob S
58%
2nd =
 Hans V & Paul S
57%






2nd =
 Janne & Paul Q
57%

Wed 19th 
1st
Hans & Janne
67%
2nd 
Guttorm & Sally
61%

Fri   21st      1st
=
Guttorm & Janne


=
Bob P & Terry Q
55%
Bidding Quiz
     Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.

Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A partner opens 1♣, what do you do?
♠ Q96
♠ AK3

♥ 54
♥ Q87
With Hand B you choose to open 1♦. Partner responds 1NT, 
♦ J1098763
♦ AKQ109
what do you bid?
♣ Q
♣ J4




Hand C
Hand D
With Hand C partner opens 2♥, what do you do?
♠ K54
♠ 83


♥ A84
♥ AK975
With Hand D partner opens 1♦ and you bid 1♥. Partner bids
♦ 62
♦ A65
1♠, what do you do?

♣ A7632
♣ AJ3

And two problems from Paul’s Column:
Hand E
Hand F
With Hand E you open 1♦ and partner responds 2♣, what

do you bid now?

♠ J54
♠ J872


♥ AK5
♥ 864
With Hand F partner opens 1♥, what do you bid? 
♦ AK743
♦ K74


♣ KJ
♣ Q108
Bidding Sequence Quiz
G
1♦
dbl
1♥

Is 1♥ forcing?

H
1♦
dbl
2♣

Is 2♣ forcing?

J
1♦
pass
1♥
pass
1♠
pass
3♥

Is 3♥ forcing?

A 2nd bite at the cherry



Board 27 from Friday 21st    
A sound maxim is to always immediately raise partner’s pre-empt when holding three trumps. A belated raise by North at table A proved disastrous on this deal.

Dealer:
♠ K54

Table A
South
♥ A84

West

North(C)
East
South
Love all
♦ 62

-


-

-

2♥



♣ A7632

pass


pass
(1)
2♠

pass
pass


3♥
(2)
4♦

pass


♠ 83
N
♠ AQJ62

5♦

all pass
♥ J105
W
E
♥ 2
 

♦ K9874
S
♦ AQJ103
Table B
♣ KJ8

♣ 105

West
North(C)
East
South
♠ 1097


-


-

-

2♥
♥ KQ9763

pass


3♥
(1)
pass

3♠

♦ 5
 
all pass
♣ Q94




Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this North hand C in this week’s quiz? Presumably North was hoping that 2♥ would be passed out, but this is not a good idea as it gives the opposition more bidding space.

(2)
This is unwise – it should have been bid last time.
Table B:
(1)
This North simply raised partner’s pre-empt, this is virtually always correct when holding three trumps and made it difficult for E-W here.
And what happened? 5♦=, 4♠= and 3♠+1. The bottom lines: -
· It is usually best to immediately raise partner’s pre-empt when holding three trumps.
· To pass and later raise partner is a bad idea (unless you have the values to double them later); the opponents have had room to exchange information and are more likely to know what to do.
Paul’s Column.



Some strange bidding from Friday 21st 

On board 1 my partner and I had a fortunate misunderstanding.  Holding ♠J54 ♥AK5 ♦AK743 ♣KJ (Hand E) I naturally opened 1♦.  The opponents passed throughout and partner responded with 2♣.  I now had to choose a rebid.  Any number of NT would be ludicrous with ♠J54 in an unnamed suit, a ♣ raise would be possible but a card short, and a ♦ rebid also a card short.  The obvious answer?  2♥!  Partner cannot pass this after responding 2♣ so it must show values in ♥’s.  Partner's next call was 3NT holding ♠KQx ♥xx ♦xx ♣AQ109xx.  I of course raised to 6NT with my fitting ♣ cards and solid quick tricks as well as a ♠ helper.  He later stated that after my "reverse" he felt justified in bidding game on only 11 hcp.  But what would I have bid after a 2♣ response holding ♠xx ♥AKxx ♦AQxxx ♣xx?  Surely 2♥.  2♥ was not a "reverse" but merely a temporizing bid showing heart values and allowing partner to bid out his/her hand. 
Terry’s Comment. Regarding the ♠xx ♥AKxx ♦AQxxx ♣xx hand I would rebid 2♦ if partner considers 2♥ as showing reversing values. A reverse shows extras (15+) and your partner’s bidding was fine unless you have agreed that a reverse after a two-level response does not show extras. I (and many 2/1 players have this agreement but it is just that – it has to be agreed). Also, you have to agree if partner’s 3NT is stronger than 2NT (assuming that 2♥ was a strong bid or else playing 2/1 so the auction is game forcing). In addition, I do dot agree that 3NT as a rebid is ‘ludicrous’. Partner has promised 11+ and must surely have something in ♠’s, although a slam might be missed and I agree with your 2♥ rebid provided you have the necessary agreements with partner.


On board 4 an opponent heard his partner open 1♥ and holding ♠J872 ♥864 ♦K74 ♣Q108 (Hand F) after a pass bid what?  1♠? 2♥?  (They were playing 5 card major openings).  No, this self-proclaimed expert who is critical of everyone at the table picked a non-forcing 1NT!  When we bought the contract in 2♠, making, their 6-3 heart fit had been lost and 3♥ was making.

Terry’s comment. 1NT is totally ludicrous of course. With a weakish hand with three trumps worth only one bid it is standard practice to support partner rather than introduce the ♠ suit.
On board 21, which my partner and I did not play, we did note that one N/S pair holding ♠J10 ♥A10874 ♦KJ2 ♣A98 opposite ♠AK754 ♥KQJ65 ♦Q105 ♣-  managed to propel themselves all the way to 3♠ missing the cold slam in the 5-5 ♥ fit.  That would have been an interesting auction to see!
Terry’s comment. I don’t know their auction. At our table we interfered with an Unusual NoTrump, competed to 5♣, and they stopped in 5♥. I assume that there was similar interference and the pair you cite could not cope.
On board 26 an artificial opening showing both majors, weak, let the vulnerable opponents to play in 2♥ with a trump suit of ♥J10962 opposite ♥73.  Why do people think these methods improve their game?  -300 against nothing.

Terry’s comment. Both sides were vulnerable and with a ♥ suit this poor I agree. These methods can work, but you have to be disciplined, especially when vulnerable. Anyway, people can play whatever conventions they like at our club.



< end of Paul’s column >

It’s not forcing



Board 7 from Friday 21st    
If you know that your side has values for game (and partner does not), then don’t make an invitational bid – make sure that any bid you make is either a game bid or else forcing.

Dealer:
♠ 83

Table A
South
♥ AK975

West

North(D)
East
South
both vul
♦ A65

-


-

-

1♦



♣ AJ3

pass


1♥

pass

1♠
pass


3♥
(1)
pass

pass
(2)
♠ J1097
N
♠ Q54

all pass
♥ J8432
W
E
♥ Q10
 

♦ J4
S
♦ Q98
Table B
♣ K5

♣ 109742

West
North(D)
East
South
♠ AK62


-


-

-

1♦
♥ 6

pass


1♥

pass

1♠

♦ K10732
 
pass


3NT
(1)
all pass
♣ Q86




Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this North hand D in this week’s quiz? This is a poor bid for two reasons – first: is should show a good 6-card suit; and second it is not forcing! If you really want to make a forcing bid in ♥’s, then bid 2♣, 4th suit forcing, and then ♥’s which I play as game forcing.

(2)
With a minimal opener and a singleton trump South obviously passed.
Table B:
(1)
This North simply bid what he thought he could make and this is the most obvious answer to question D.
And what happened? 3NT+1 twice, 3♥=.
The bottom lines: -
· A jump in a previously bid suit is generally invitational, to make it forcing go via 4th suit forcing.
Dave’s Column
Here is Dave’s first on the play of the hand.
North
South
You are South, declarer in 3NT. West leads the ♥5, 

plan the play.

♠ AK3
♠ 984
♥ Q87
♥ KJ2
♦ AKQ109
♦ 532
♣ J4
♣ Q532
Dave’s Column answer

Board 25 from Wednesday 19th 
Dealer:
♠ AK3



Book bidding
North
♥ Q87

West

North(B)
East

South
E-W vul
♦ AKQ109

-


1♦
(1)
pass

1NT
(2)

♣ J4


pass

3NT
(3)
all pass
♠ J2
N
♠ Q10765
(1)
2NT is a reasonable alternative. 

♥ A10653
W
E
♥ 94
(2)
Even with this lousy shape, with 6 points 
♦ J764
S
♦ 8

South must respond.
♣ K8

♣ A10976 
(3)
What did you rebid with this North hand B

♠ 984



in this week’s quiz? This 3NT is correct, 
♥ KJ2


 
3♦ as chosen at one table is not enough.
♦ 532



 
♣ Q532


West leads the ♥5, plan the play.

You seem to have nine easy tricks with two ♠’s, two ♥’s and five ♦’s. And that is what the original declarer assumed. He won the first trick in hand, played a ♦ to dummy’s ♦Q and cashed the ♦K. East’s discard was a blow. Suddenly South realized that he did not have an entry to take the ♦ finesse. One down.

The correct play is simple… provided that you think of it at trick one. Play the ♥Q on the opening lead. If East wins then you have two entries to the South hand. Here the ♥Q wins and you play two top ♦’s, when the bad break appears you can force a ♥ entry to hand to take the marked ♦ finesse. 

And what happened at the Pattaya Bridge Club? 3NT-2 twice, 1♦+2 and 3♦=.
Dave’s 2nd Column
Here is Dave’s 2nd input on the play of the hand.
West
East
You are East, declarer in 3NT. 





♠ A3
♠ KQ3
South leads the ♥4 and North plays the ♥K. 
♥ 652
♥ A7

Plan the play.
♦ Q108
♦ KJ953


♣ AJ654
♣ K32

 
Dave’s 2nd Column answer


Board 26 from Wednesday 19th  
Dealer:
♠ 87654



Book bidding
East
♥ KJ9

West

North
East

South
both vul
♦ A42

-


-

1NT

pass

♣ 97


3NT

all pass
♠ A3
N
♠ KQ3

♥ 652
W
E
♥ A7
South leads the ♥4, plan the play.
♦ Q108
S
♦ KJ953


♣ AJ654

♣ K32 



♠ J92




♥ Q10843


♦ 76



♣ Q108
 

The key is to determine how their ♥’s are divided. Based on the opening lead, if North has the ♥3, ♥’s are 4-4 and it’s safe to attack ♦’s as the opponents can take only 3 ♥’s and a ♦. But if South has the ♥3, ♥’s are 5-3 and it is no longer safe to attack ♦’s; four ♥’s and one ♦ will be lost. You must attack ♣’s for 5 ♣ tricks.
Duck the first ♥. If North returns the ♥3 indicating that ♥’s are 4-4, your troubles are over (play on ♦’s). If North returns some other ♥ and South plays the ♥3, indicating a 5 card suit, try the ♣’s. If North returns the ♥J then take the ace and watch if South plays the ♥3 or not.

And what happened at the Pattaya Bridge Club? 3NT+1, 3NT= and 3NT-1 twice.
The bottom lines:

-
The normal card for third hand to return with two remaining cards in partner’s suit is the higher. With three cards remaining the lower, this helps opening leader (and declarer) to know how the suit is dividing. But in this actual example North would have returned the ♥J if holding ♥KJ103 originally. 
The weak jump shift



Board 24 from Monday 17th 

A jump shift (say 1♣ p 2♥) traditionally shows a strong hand with a good suit. These days the more disruptive Weak Jump Shift is becoming more and more popular, and it proved very effective on this deal.

Dealer:
♠ 10875

West

North
East(A)
South
West
♥ AJ83

1♣


pass

2♦
(1)
pass
Love all
♦ AQ

pass


pass

♣ 972

(1)
A weak jump shift. A 6-7 card suit and

♠ KJ2
N
♠ Q96

insufficient points to respond 1♦.
♥ Q102
W
E
♥ 54

♦ K5
S
♦ J1098763

♣ A10853

♣ Q


♠ A4


 
♥ K976



 
♦ 42
 

♣ KJ64


And what happened? 2♦= twice, 3♥+1(S) twice and 3♥*(S)=. 

The bottom lines: -
· In my opinion the weak jump shift is more useful that the strong one (it comes up more often). One North asked me if it should have been alerted (he assumed it was strong). At our club we alert the unusual and a weak jump shift is very popular. I believe that under ACBL rules the weak jump shifts need alerting but am not sure (everything changes all of the time). I guess it’s safest to alert (or ask about) any jump shift as it could be played either way and I have no idea, nor desire to know, the latest WBF rules on this.

Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
2♦, provided that you play weak jump shifts.
Hand B:
3NT. 3♦ is not forcing and does not show the power of this hand.
Hand C:
3♥. It’s virtually always correct to raise partner’s pre-empt when you hold three trumps.
Hand D:
3NT. This is the simple ‘obvious’ bid. An alternative is to bid 2♣, 4th suit forcing, to make the auction game forcing. What you do not do is bid 3♥ which is not forcing and partner may (did) pass.
And the two problems posed by Paul, with his answers:

Hand E:
2♥. Any number of NT would be ludicrous with ♠J54 in an unnamed suit, 3♣ and 2♦ would both promise an extra card in the suit.
Hand F:
2♥. The 1NT found at the table is silly.

Bidding Sequence Quiz Answers
G
1♦
dbl
1♥

1♥ is forcing…

H
1♦
dbl
2♣

…but 2♣ is not forcing (redbl with a good hand).
J
1♦
pass
1♥
pass
3♥ is invitational. If you want to bid ♥’s as game forcing, then

1♠
pass
3♥

bid 2♣ (4th suit) and then bid ♥’s over partner’s response.

Current club championship standings

	
	Gold Cup = Best 30
	Silver Plate = Best 10
	Bronze Medal = Best 5

	1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10
	1890.8 Janne Roos
1875.8 Hans Vikman
1838.7 Paul Quodomine
1789.8 Sally Watson
	673.8 Janne Roos

672.4 Hans Vikman

649.3 Paul Quodomine

633.8 Sally Watson
619.9 Jeremy Watson

618.1 Bob Short

615.1 Lars Broman

614.1 Ivy Schlageter
611.3 Gerard Hardy  
611.3 Derek Tyms
	350.7 Hans Vikman

350.6 Janne Roos

333.3 Paul Quodomine

324.5 Sally Watson

321.8 Ivy Schlageter 

321.7 Bob Short

321.7 Jeremy Watson

321.0 Per Andersson

316.9 Terje Lie
316.1 Lars Broman








PAGE  
3

