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Mon 31st    
1st
Gerry C & Ivy
59%
2nd 
Hans V & Sean
56%
Wed 2nd  

1st
Hans V & Janne
60%
2nd 
Niels K & Peter S
59%
Fri  4th   

1st
Hans V & Paul Q
63%
2nd 
Janne & Tonni
61%

Bidding Quiz
     Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.

Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A it’s love all. Partner opens 2♥ and RHO bids 3♣, 
what do you do?
♠ AQJ5
♠ QJ96


♥ K 
♥ A5
With Hand B you open 1♦ and partner bids 1♥. You bid 1♠ 

♦ AKQ94
♦ AJ874
and partner raises to 2♠, what do you do?

♣ A52
♣ K2



Hand C
Hand D
With Hand C you open 2♥ and LHO overcalls 3♣. Partner 

doubles. What is the double and what do you bid?

♠ 1086
♠ Q3


♥ AQ8753
♥ QJ43
With Hand D you open 1♣ and partner bids 1NT. RHO doubles
♦ 107
♦ A76 
(presumably a take-out of ♣’s) and LHO bids 2♥. This is passed
♣ J8
♣ AJ95
to you, what do you do?

Hand E
Hand F
With Hand E LHO opens 1♣ and RHO bids 1NT, what do
you do?
♠ K976
♠ AK   

♥ A7
♥ J984 
With Hand F you are in 1st seat at favourable vulnerability
♦ 432
♦ A865
(a)
What do you open?
♣ KQ74
♣ AK7
(b)
What do you open if playing Acol?
Bidding Sequence Quiz
G
1♥
pass
1♠
pass



3♥

 


Is 3♥ invitational or forcing?
H
1♥
pass
2♣
pass




3♥

 


Is 3♥ invitational or forcing?
J
2♥
3♣
dbl


Is dbl penalties or something else?
Overbid


Board 3 from Monday 31st May 
Four pairs out of five over-bid on this deal
Dealer:
♠ K742

Table A
South
♥ J9863

West

North
East
South(B)
E-W vul
♦ 1095

-


-

-

1♦

♣ Q

pass


1♥

pass

1♠
pass


2♠

pass

4♠
(1)

♠ 1085
N
♠ A3

all pass
♥ KQ
W
E
♥ 10742


♦ 62
S
♦ KQ3
Table B
♣ J98753

♣ A1064

West

North
East
South(B)
-

-

-

1♦
♠ QJ96


pass


1♥

pass

1♠
♥ A5

pass


2♠

pass

pass
(1)
♦ AJ874
 
pass
♣ K2




Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this South hand B in this week’s quiz? This jump to game is far too optimistic for me but was chosen by at least two experienced players.
Table B:
(1)
This pass was chosen by just one player and is fine by me, with an invitational trial bid (whatever your style is) a reasonable alternative as the answer to question B.
And what happened? 2♠ made +1. Everybody else went down, 3♠-1, 4♠-1 twice and 4♠-2.

______________________________________
Dave’s problems are usually quite tricky; this week they are from a different source and fairly easy:
Dave’s Column
Here is Dave’s first input on declarer play of the hand.


 



North
South

Book Bidding
♠ Q982
♠ A43


West

North
East

South

♥ AJ3
♥ KQ985
-


1NT
pass

2♦
♦ K4
♦ J82
pass

2♥

pass

3NT
♣ AQ53
♣ 92

pass

4♥
all pass
You are North, declarer in 4♥. East leads a ♦ to West’s ♦A and a ♦ is returned which you win with the ♦K. Plan the play.


Dave’s Column answer

Board 1 from Wednesday 2nd June   
Dealer:
♠ Q982



Book Bidding
North
♥ AJ3

West

North
East

South
Love all
♦ K4

-


1NT

pass

2♦

♣ AQ53


pass

2♥

pass

3NT
pass

4♥

all pass
♠ KJ5
N
♠ 1076


♥ 642
W
E
♥ 107

♦ A63
S
♦ Q10975

East leads a ♦, West takes the ♦A and 
♣ KJ84


♣ 1076

returns a ♦ won by the ♦K. Plan the play. 

♠ A43


 
♥ KQ985



♦ J82



♣ 92


As declarer you want to go to work on ♠’s but you cannot afford to draw trumps first as that would leave you with a losing ♦. So you might play a ♥ to the ♥Q  and a ♠ towards the ♠Q. West can jump in with the ♠K but that’s the end of the defense. With the ♠’s 3-3 and the ♣ finesse working there are numerous ways to take the rest of the tricks.
Terry comment: It looks like virtually any line works as long as you ruff a ♦ before drawing trumps – I think that that is the point of the hand.

And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 4♥+1 three times, 3NT+1 and 4♥-1.
Dave’s 2nd Column

Here is Dave’s second problem on the play of the hand.
West
East

Book Bidding
♠ A7532
♠ KJ8

West

North
East

South
♥ 1084
♥ 3


-

pass

1♦

1♥
♦ -
♦ AKQ76

1♠
pass
3♣

pass 

♣ J8532
♣ AQ97

4♣
pass

4♠
all pass
You are West, declarer in 4♠. North leads the ♣4, plan the play.

Dave’s 2nd Column answer




Board 2 from Wednesday 2nd June 
Dealer:
♠ 94



Book Bidding
East
♥ Q52

West

North
East

South
N-S vul
♦ J985432

-


-

1♦

1♥

♣ 4


1♠
(1)
pass

3♣
(2)
pass
4♣

pass

4♠

all pass
♠ A7532
N
♠ KJ8

♥ 1084
W
E
♥ 3
(1)
Generally showing 5 ♠’s if playing negative
♦ -
S
♦ AKQ76

doubles. 

♣ J8532


♣ AQ97
(2)
A ♥ splinter here should promise 4-card 

♠ Q106


 
support. When I was West on this deal 
♥ AKJ976


my partner simply bid 4♠.
♦ 10



♣ K106

North leads the ♣4, plan the play.

The ♣4 looks like a singleton, so you rise with the ♣A and play a trump to the ♥A and back to the ♥K. Then run the ♦’s to throw your losing ♥’s – at least that’s the plan. On this actual layout South ruffs the 2nd ♦ and takes a ♥ and a ♣ but you still make 4♠.

If you duck the initial ♣ lead then South wins with the ♣K and gives North two ♣ ruffs to set you by one trick (South should return the ♣10 – a Lavinthal suit preference signal – to ask for a ♥ return in order to get the lead with a ♥ to give another ruff).
And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 4♠= three times, 5♣= and 6♣-2.
Raising partner’s 1NT response

Board 27 from Friday 4th June 
Dealer:
♠ AJ8

West

North
East(E)
South(D)
South
♥ 1096

-


-

-

1♣
Love all
♦ K95

pass


1NT

dbl
(1)
pass

♣ 10863

2♥


pass

pass

2NT
(2)

pass


3NT
(3)
all pass




♠ 10542
N
♠ K976


♥ K852
W
E
♥ A7
(1)
What did you bid with this East hand E in this 
♦ QJ108
S
♦ 432

week’s quiz? This dbl is a take-out of ♣’s, and 
♣ 2

♣ KQ74

very silly bid with 4 ♣’s and a doubleton ♥. 
♠ Q3

 
I would pass, you have a partner who can 
♥ QJ43

balance (and then you find the ♠ fit!).
♦ A76
(2)
What did you bid with this South hand D in 
♣ AJ95


this week’s quiz? This 2NT is wrong as it shows a good hand, I would say 18-19. A penalty double is also not good as you know 

that the opponents have 8+ ♠’s and can run there. Pass is the only sensible bid.

(3)
North thought that South had a good hand and was inviting 3NT.

And what happened? The defence was not optimum and 3NT made! Other contracts were 1NT+1, 1NT= and 1NT-1. 2♥ would probably go -2 for a decent result to N-S.
The bottom lines: 
-
You need a good hand (generally about 18-19) to raise partner 1NT response to 2NT, and this also applies when the opponents intervene. 
When partner pre-empts


Board 11 from Friday 4th June 
Dealer:
♠ AQJ5

Table A
South
♥ K

West

North(A)
East
South(C)
Love all
♦ AKQ94

-


-

-

2♥

♣ A52

3♣


dbl
(1)
pass

3♥
(2)
pass


4♥

all pass




♠ 32
N
♠ K974


♥ J
W
E
♥ 109642


♦ 63
S
♦ J852
Table B
♣ KQ1097643

♣ -

West

North(A)
East
South(C)
-

-

-

2♥
♠ 1086


3♣


dbl
(1)
pass

pass
(2)
♥ AQ8753

pass



♦ 107
 

♣ J8




Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this North hand A in this week’s quiz? This double is wrong as it is generally played as penalties – there is little point in playing a negative double here when partner has shown a weak hand with a 6-card major.
(2)
What did you bid with this South hand C in this week’s quiz? Luckily for North, South also did not understand the double and so bid.

Table B:
(1)
This North also found the meaningless double.

(2) And this is the correct answer to question C – partner has made a penalty double and he is the captain, there is no reason whatsoever to over-rule him
And what happened? 4♥=, 5♣-3, 4♣-2 and 3♣-1. Deep finesse says that 4♥ makes +1 and that 3NT makes +2.
The bottom lines: 
-
So what should you bid with this North hand A? I would bid 4♥, with 3NT as a dubious alternative (partner may have no entry or you may not be able to run ♥ tricks when playing in NoTrumps). This will almost certainly score better that 3♣* which you would need to set by three tricks.

-
When partner pre-empts and RHO overcalls, then a double by you is penalties.
Paul’s Column



Friday, April 4 offered some interesting hands.

4 card or 5 card major openings?

For 30 years I played a variety of systems in the U.S. using 5 card major suit openings with good results.  Seldom did I encounter 4 card major openings until coming here though I knew the debate has raged for decades over which is superior.  Here are a couple of hands where I played 4 card majors with excellent results.
♠Q965




Board 10       
♥6




East dealt and passed as did South
♦J108632


and  West opened 1♥, all passed.

♣K7

♠AJ42
♠108

♥AQ1084
♥973

♦7
♦KQ94

♣AQJ
♣10863

♠K87

♥KJ62

♦A6

♣9642
East’s decision to pass 1♥ was based both on the fact that this hand was sub-standard for either a raise on 3 small opposite 4 and it simply was below minimum even with the doubleton spade.  Result: +140 (played well for a top.)  At least one pair reached 4♥ for a shared bottom after an apparent raise by East.  (One pair actually played TW0 ♥ –1).

♠87



Board 12.  

♥AKQ2



West opened 1♥, all passed!
♦QJ93

♣985




Terry Comment
♠AK   (F)
♠J6542


What did you open with West hand F(b) in
♥J984
♥763


this week’s quiz playing Acol? I note that 
♦A865
♦7


West opened 1♥ and not 1♦.This is indeed 
♣AK7
♣QJ43


correct playing modern Acol, where a 4-
♠Q983




card major should be opened in preference 
♥105




to a 4-card minor. A few club members 
♦K1043



believe that you should bid up the line, but 
♣1062




that is not the Acol philosophy.
If East’s former hand was sub-standard for a response this CERTAINLY was!!  Result?  Another top when North led the ♠8 and West was able to ruff 3 ♦’s in dummy (side suits being favorably divided) and claim +170.

A Bols Bridge Tip from years ago.



Board 5

When the Bols Corporation of the Netherlands sponsored an annual competition for the best 12 bridge tips of the year this was one of them … virtually ALL being submitted by current or former world top-ranked players.  While the entire article is lengthy it can be summarized as thus: “If a player pre-empts over an opening bid he/she will usually have an attacking lead in that suit vs a subsequent game/slam by the opposing side. Thus a SIDE suit lead must send a message to partner … this is a singleton or I want (hope) you can work out what to do!  Equal vulnerability.

♠5

♥108742

♦AK963

♣72

♠K1063
♠AQJ42

♥AQJ953
♥K6

♦J
♦Q8762

♣A5
♣J

♠987

♥VOID

♦104

♣KQ1098643
After 1♠ by East South bid 3♣, and West pondered and bid 4♠.  Not my choice!  Now South led the ♦10 won by North’s ♦K and North had to work out the position.  Was South’s lead a singleton, or had he a surprise for declarer?  After considering the likely layouts North led back a heart RUFFED by South.  +450 for E/W was a bottom since 2 pairs reached 6♠ and were allowed to make on the “routine” ♣K lead, and one N/S pair suffered –500 on what can only be 5♣ doubled.  Was this a “top” for us?  Well, as we can see it was while even 480 for N/S would be as well, but kudos to South for his enterprising lead and North for working it out and the only lead back which would defeat the slam which made twice!

A Little humor





Board 18    East dealt.

♠VOID
While East was arranging his cards WEST opened 
♥10632


1♠! North was there with a double, an action I 
♦1085



consider very poor on that hand ,,, especially now 
♣AKJ654


that it condoned the opening bid out of turn.  

East redoubled, South passed and West bid 2♠ 
♠J97632
♠AQ5

( 6+ spades and a minimum opener).  North passed 
♥AK6
♥Q74

and East raised to 4♠.  After the opening lead 
♦KQ9
♦A632

dummy went down and West asked somewhat 
♣2
♣Q107

peevishly “Why didn’t you open that 14 point 
♠K1084


hand??  East just smiled and said “I never got a 
♥J98



chance to!”
♦J74

♣983





<  end of Paul’s Column  >
Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
4♥. You could try 3NT but partner may have no entry. Double here is penalties and I don’t think it’s a good bid. 
Hand B:
It’s close between pass and 3♠ (or whatever game try you play), but the hand is not worth a jump to 4♠. 
Hand C:
Pass. The double is penalties and partner is the captain. Negative doubles do not apply when partner has pre-empted.

Hand D:
Pass. You expect 2♥ to go down but you should not double as you know that the opponents have 8 or more ♠’s and they might run there. 2NT is of course an overbid promising a much stronger hand.
Hand E:
Pass. Double with this hand would be take-out of ♣’s and is very silly with ♣ length and only two ♥’s. 

Hand F:
(a)
1♦, it’s nowhere near good enough for a (20-21) 2NT.
(b)
1♥. Playing Acol you should open a 4-card major in preference to a 4-card minor (assuming 1NT is not possible); with two 4-card minors open 1♣ and with two 4-card majors open 1♥. I like the way Hans Vikman says this: – with two 4-card suits including ♥’s, open 1♥.
Bidding Sequence Quiz Answer
G
1♥
pass
1♠
pass




3♥

 


3♥ here is invitational.
H
1♥
pass
2♣
pass




3♥

 


3♥ here, after a two-level response, is forcing.
J
2♥
3♣
dbl

double is penalties. Negative doubles do not apply when partner has pre-empted.
Current club championship standings
	
	Gold Cup = Best 30
	Silver Plate = Best 10
	Bronze Medal = Best 5

	1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10
	1845.7 Paul Quodomine
1841.9 Janne Roos 
1815.1 Hans Vikman
	649.7 Janne Roos 
642.1 Hans Vikman 
640.1 Paul Quodomine 

626.8 Tomas Wikman
619.8 Lars Broman
615.9 Jean Wissing

615.9 Sally Watson

609.5 Duplessy & Coutlet

597.8 Bengt Malgren
591.0 Johan Bratsburg
	330.4 Janne Roos 

329.6 Tomas Wikman
327.9 Hans Vikman
324.8 Sally Watson
323.4 Paul Quodomine 
322.9 Lars Broman

320.3 Jean Wissing 

319.5 Duplessy & Coutlet

309.3 Jeremy Watson

308.2 Bob Short
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