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Mon 31st  N-S
1st
Jean & Tomas
58%
2nd
Jorgen & Per-Ake
57%

E-W
1st
Bob S & Lars G
69%
2nd
Janne & Bengt JF
60%

Wed 2nd 
N-S
1st
Janne & Sigurd
60%
2nd
Lars B & Tomas
57%

E-W
1st
Bengt M & Bam Bam
59%
2nd
Arne & Svein
55%

Fri 4th   
N-S
1st
Sean & Jeremy
60%
2nd
Jean & Per And...
59%

E-W
1st
Lars B & Janne
62%
2nd
Paul Sc & Gus
59%

Bidding Quiz

Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.
Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A partner opens 1♦ and RHO overcalls 2♣, what
do you bid?
♠ Q4
♠ A

♥ A765
♥ 7
What do you open with Hand B (South 11 from Wednesday)
♦ QJ753
♦ AKQJ108
♣ 64
♣ KJ543
Bidding Sequence Quiz
C
1♣
1♦
dbl


dbl is negative, but what exactly does it show in the majors? 
D
1♦
2♣
dbl


dbl is negative, but what exactly does it show in the majors? 
E
1♦
1♠
dbl


dbl is negative, but what exactly does it show in ♣’s and ♥’s?

What does a negative double show?

Board 27 from Monday 31st Jan

The two unbid suits? – the unbid major? - and what when there are two unbid majors? There are many different treatments here and you have to agree. 
Dealer:
♠ A105



Table A
South
♥ J832

West

North
East

South(A)
Love all 
♦ AK109

-

-

-

pass

♣ AQ


pass

1♦
(1)
2♣

2♦
(2)
2♠


3♦
(3)
all pass
♠ J98763

N
♠ K2


♥ 109
W
E
♥ KQ4

Table B
♦ 42
S

♦ 86

West
North(A)
East

South(A)
♣ J107


♣ K98532


-

-

-

pass

♠ Q4

 
pass


1♦

2♣

dbl
(2)
♥ A765




2♠

3♥
(4)
pass

4♥
♦ QJ753


all pass
♣ 64



Table A:
(1)
Far too good for 1NT of course.

(2)
What did you bid with this South hand A in this week’s quiz? I don’t like this at all as any possible ♥ fit is buried.
(3)
3♥, with presumably no ♥ fit, is way over the top here; but 2NT looks OK.
Table B:
(2)
This is my answer to question A, but I guess it depends upon how you play negative doubles. I follow Marty Bergen’s advice and a double here guarantees only one 4-card major.
(4)
North is clearly strong enough to bid ♥’s, which partner probably has (if not he has ♠’s and will presumably bid 3NT).

And what happened? Two pairs missed game and played in 3♦. Six out of seven of the others played in 3NT and only one the 4-4 ♥ fit game. As it happens the lie of the ♠ suit makes 3NT a good contract, but you should be in 4♥ with these N-S cards.
· The bottom lines:

· A decent 4-4 fit usually gets an extra trick; Deep Finesse says that 5♥ and 4NT make here.
· One of the main objectives of any bidding system is to locate the ‘golden’ 4-4 major suit fits at either the part-score or game level.

· When the opponents interfere it is important to know how you are playing your negative doubles so that a 4-4 major suit fit is not lost.
· I adhere to (and recommend) Marty Bergen’s philosophy: -

· Seq C
1♣   1♦   dbl 
shows exactly two 4 card majors.
1♣   1♦   1♥/♠ 
shows just one 4(+) card major or maybe 5-4 or 4-5; just as if there was no overcall except that it cannot be 4-4.
Seq D
1♦   2♣
dbl
guarantees just one 4-card major, may or may not have two.
Seq E
1♦   1♠    dbl
If there is only one unbid major then a negative double 

promises four cards in this unbid major and says nothing about the other unbid suit (note that some play that it shows both unbid suits); I prefer Bergen’s treatment of concentrating on major suits.
Dave’s Column

North
South

West 

North

East

South

♠ J7
♠ A1092

-

1♣

pass

1♦
♥ AJ3
♥ K54

pass

2♣

pass

2♠
♦ 52
♦ AJ763
pass

2NT

pass

3NT
♣ AJ10752
♣ 4


all pass.
Your are North, declarer in 3NT. East leads the ♥8 (usually 4th highest) or else 2nd highest from a weak suit. Which nine tricks are you hoping to collect? How, and which ♥ do you play from dummy at trick one?

Dave’s Column Answer




Board 9 from Wednesday 2nd Feb
Dealer:
♠ J7



Bidding
North
♥ AJ3

West

North
East

South
E-W vul 
♦ 52

-


1♣

pass

1♦

♣ AJ10752


pass

2♣

pass

2♠
pass

2NT

pass

3NT
♠ K63
N
♠ Q854

all pass
♥ Q1072
W
E
♥ 986

♦ K10
S
♦ Q984

♣ Q983


♣ K6


♠ A1092

 
♥ K54

 Your are North. East leads the ♥8 (usually 4th highest) 
♦ AJ763
 or else 2nd highest from a weak suit. Which nine 
♣ 4

 tricks are you hoping to collect? How?
When first played, the expert North decided to aim for nine tricks via one ♠, three ♥’s, one ♦ and four ♣’s. But to get four ♣ tricks requires three entries to the North hand, which have to be the ♥AJ and the ♣A. Using the rule of 11, Declarer knew that East had not led 4th highest from ♥Q1098 so it must have been from a weak suit. So declarer called for dummy’s ♥K. Then he had to establish his ♣ suit. If the missing ♣’s were 3-3 any line of play would work. But if they are 4-2 a doubleton honour is much more likely than a doubleton ♣98. So Declarer led a ♣ to the ♣A  and returned a low ♣, bringing bring down East’s ♣K. East shifted to a ♦  but declarer put up the ♦A, played a ♥ to the ♥J. and led the ♣J to drive out West’s ♣Q. He now had nine sure tricks.
And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? Five pairs reached 3NT and only one made it. The other four N-S pairs stopped in minor suit partscore contracts and all made. 
Dave’s  2nd Column



West
East

West 

North

East

South

♠ Q653
♠ AJ

-

-

1♥

pass
♥ K108
♥ A9765

1♠

pass

2♣

pass
♦ AQ7
♦ 52
 
3♥

pass

4♥

all pass
♣ 643
♣ KQ82
 
You are East, declarer in 4♥. South leads the ♦J to the ♦Q and North’s ♦K and a 2nd ♦ knocks out dummy’s ♦A, removing a vital entry.

Having lost a ♦ and expecting a trump loser, how are you going to manage your needed dummy entries? You could take the ♠ finesse at trick three but how can you gain two more entries to lead ♣’s twice to your ♣ honours?

Plan the play.

Dave’s 2nd Column Answer




Board 10 from Wednesday 2nd  Feb
Dealer:
♠ K1092



Book Bidding
East
♥ Q3

West

North
East

South
both vul 
♦ K643

-


-

1♥

pass

♣ AJ10


1♠

pass

2♣

pass
3♥

pass

4♥

all pass
♠ Q653
N
♠ AJ


♥ K108
W
E
♥ A9765


♦ AQ7
S
♦ 52
 

♣ 643


♣ KQ82
 

♠ 874

 

♥ J42

 
♦ J1098
 

♣ 975



South leads the ♦J to the ♦Q and North’s ♦K and a 2nd ♦ knocks out dummy’s ♦A, removing a vital entry.
Having lost a ♦ and expecting a trump loser, how is East to manage his needed dummy entries? He could take the ♠ finesse at trick three but how can he gain two more to lead ♣’s twice to his ♣ honours?
An accurate defense is best countered by inspired declarer play. Assuming good luck in both black suits declarer’s first step is to lead the ♠Q. East covers and declarer wins the ♠A. Now what?
He could cash the ♥A and ♥K hoping to drop both missing honours, but the odds are not good. Instead, East led a trump towards dummy and inserted the ♥8. North won the ♥Q and forced declarer in ♦’s. East led another trump and finessed against South’s ♥J. A ♣ was led from dummy to East’s ♣K and another trump was led to dummy’s ♥K, drawing the last trump. Finally another ♣ was led from dummy and the fortunate lie of the ♣ suit gave declarer his game.
And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 3NT+1 three times, 4♥= three times, 3♥=, 4♥-1 three times and 4♥-2 twice.
Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
dbl. I play this negative double as showing just one major suit in this sequence. I don’t like 2♦ as that denies a 4-card major in my style.
Hand B:
1♦. Maybe it’s personal style/preference but I am usually reluctant to open 2♣ with extreme two-suiters. And with this hand you can be sure that with just two cards in the majors a 1♦ opening will not be passed out. So open 1♦ and next go make a game-forcing bid in ♣’s to show the strength and shape.
Bidding Sequence Quiz
There are dozens of different agreements as to how to play negative doubles. These answers correspond to the treatments that I prefer to play and are, I believe, as advocated by Marty Bergen. 
C
1♣
1♦
dbl


This double shows exactly 4-4 in the majors. With any other major suit holding bid as if there had been no double.

D
1♦
2♣
dbl


Here you are pushed to the two level and the double guarantees only one four-card major and says nothing about the minors.  
E
1♦
1♠
dbl


The negative double here shows four ♥’s (could be 5 but not strong enough for a forcing 2♥). It says absolutely nothing about the ♣ suit.
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