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Mon 23rd  
1st
Paul Q & Terry Q
62%

2nd
Bob S & Nils
59%

Wed 25th 

1st
Terje Lie & Suchin 
63%


2nd
Hans V & Sigurd 
56%

Fri 27th 

1st
Paul Q & Hans V
62%

2nd
Bob P & Robbie
58%
Bidding Quiz

Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.
Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A you open 1NT and partner transfers with 2♥, 
what do you bid?
♠ AK5
♠ A5


♥ A1086
♥ J1076
(a) What do you open with Hand B? 
♦ 107
♦ KQ2
Suppose you choose 1♣, LHO overcalls with 1♦ and partner
♣ AQ74
♣ AKQ5
doubles, then (b) What do you bid now?
Hand C
Hand D
With Hand C LHO opens 1♦ and partner doubles, what
do you bid?
♠ Q842
♠ QJ84
♥ 10642
♥ J642 
With Hand D LHO opens 1♦ and partner doubles, what
♦ 73
♦ 73 
do you bid?
♣ J86
♣ Q86
 

Bidding Sequence Quiz

E
1♣
1♦
dbl
pass
What does the negative double show in the majors?

F
1♦
2♣
dbl
pass
What does the negative double show in the majors?

G
2♣
pass
2♦
pass
2♦ is negative.


2♥
pass
3♣

What is 3♣ - natural or something conventional?
Questions During the Auction



Board 6 from Wednesday 26th May
Dealer:
♠ KQJ





East
♥ AKQJ10

West

North
East

South
E-W vul 
♦ AK5

-

-

pass

pass

♣ A3


pass

2♣

pass

2♦
pass


2♥

pass

3♣
(1)
♠ 965

N
♠ 10842

pass


3NT

pass
(2)
pass
(3)
♥ 876
W
E
♥ 9542

pass
♦ 8643
S

♦ J10

 
♣ 852


♣ K64




♠ A73


♥ 3




♦ Q972


♣ QJ1097


(1)
South intended this as a natural bid, but North alerted.
(2)
At this juncture, East asked what the 3♣ bid was. North replied that it was a 2nd negative promising virtually nothing. 

(3)
South thought that he had a problem now. Partner had explained the bid differently from the intended meaning and this more than ethical player thought that he was obliged to pass.
And what happened? Everybody else was in 6NT or 7NT with a cold 13 tricks.

At the end of the session South told me what happened, after looking at the board later at home, here are my opinions and my decision about a corrected score:
(a) N-S were an unfamiliar partnership. North should not have alerted something that was not agreed. And if North was asked what 3♣ meant had there been no alert, he should have said something like “we have no agreement” or “we have not discussed it”.

(b) South also got it wrong – he was not obliged to pass. In this sort of situation where partner is asked about your bid and he gives an explanation which is different from the intended meaning, that does not ban you from bidding. You should bid as if the question was never asked and totally ignore what partner said, assuming he knows your meaning of the bid.

(c) So why did I adjust the score to 6NT+1? Both North and South behaved totally ethically (although they both got it wrong). But the problem was East’s question. Why on earth did he ask what 3♣ meant? You should not ask questions during the auction unless the answer may affect any bid you may intend to make. Clearly East had no intention of bidding and should keep any question until the end of the auction. 6NT (or maybe 7NT) is clearly what N-S would have reached had there been no question and resultant ethical confusion.
The bottom lines:

· Do not ask questions during the auction unless you intend to possibly bid and you need to know now.

· Another good reason for not asking during the auction is that it may help the opponents, it’s always possible that they don’t know what they are doing.

· If you do want to ask during the auction, you should ask when it is your turn to bid.

· Either defender can ask for an explanation of bids after the auction. If you are on lead you can ask immediately before leading. If partner is on lead, ask for the bidding cards to be left on the table and partner to lead (face down). You then ask your questions.

· If you are playing with two top players and wish to learn an aspect of the bidding, then ask your question after the bidding is over; or even better, after the deal is over.

Super-accept with just three trumps?

Board 8 from Wednesday 25th May
I generally like to have four trumps and a non minimum to super-accept, but there are always exceptions:

Dealer:
♠ AK98



Table A
West
♥ K752

West(A)
North
East

South
Love all 
♦ K842

1NT

pass

2♥

pass



♣ 8632


2♠
(1)
pass

4♠
(2)
all pass
♠ AK5
N
♠ QJ8642

Table B
♥ A1086
W
E
♥ QJ

West(A)
North
East

South
♦ 107
S

♦ A3

1NT

pass

2♥

pass
♣ AQ74


♣ KJ10


3♠
(1)
pass

6♠
(3)
all pass

♠ 1097


♥ 943





♦ QJ965


♣ 95


Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this West hand A in this week’s quiz? It’s maximum but with only three trumps this West chose to bid just 2♠.
(2)
With a six card suit maybe East should make an effort here. In this sequence 4♣ would ask for aces (or keycards by agreement) and 4NT quantitative. 

Table B:
(1)
This was Janne’s bid at the table. I normally like to have four trumps to super-accept, but this hand has great ♠’s and a weak doubleton (so a possible losing ♦ may well be ruffed in the short trump hand) and I too would super accept with this hand. With Paul Q I would bid 3♦ to show a weak doubleton there, but if you have no such agreements, simply jump to 3♠. 

(3)
Either way, East has a clear slam bid or try, possibly checking on keycards first (4NT would be RKCB after partner super-accepts).
And what happened? All but one bid and made the 6♠ slam.
Janne’s Column
West
East


♠ A9
♠ QJ852

♥ KJ83
♥ A8


♦ K98
♦ Q1065

♣ KQJ2
♣ A2




You are East, declarer in 6NT. In the bidding you have shown five ♠’s and four ♦’s and the opposition were silent. South leads the ♥Q. Now I wonder which is the key card that the opponents hold. Plan the play, think before you read on.
Janne’s Column Answer



Board 5 from Friday 20th May
If you start with ♠’s you will go down – at least one ♠ loser and the ♦A, so you can’t play on ♠’s. The key card is the ♦J – you must find it. Let’s say you play a small ♦ to the ♦K which holds. A 2nd ♦ to hand and the ♦J appears from North which you cover and South wins. If he now continues with a ♦ it kills the squeeze but he continued with a ♣ which you win with the ♣A.
Now you can try the ♠Q, but if South does not cover then take the ♠A. Next take the ♣ tricks in dummy (throwing ♠’s) and enter hand with a ♦ and cash the last ♦ throwing the last ♠ from dummy. 

West
East(You)
That leaves this position. North must hold the ♠K and 
♠ -
♠ J8
three ♥’s. It’s impossible for him, he must throw the ♠K
♥ KJ8
♥ 8

or a ♥, either way you take the rest.
♦ -
♦ -

♣ -
♣ -

The full deal was:

Dealer:
♠ K10




North
♥ 1097542


N-S vul 
♦ J4



♣ 764




♠ A9

N
♠ QJ852

♥ KJ83
W
E
♥ A8


♦ K98
S

♦ Q1065

♣ KQJ3


♣ A2



♠ 7643


♥ Q



♦ A732


♣ 10985


So why play for a squeeze instead of a ♠ finesse? Two reasons:
(1) It’s more fun, and

(2) Most players cover the ♠Q with the ♠K if they have it.

When partner makes a Negative Double

Board 27 from Monday 23th May
Dealer:
♠ 10743





South
♥ A542

West

North
East

South(B)
Love all 
♦ 1094

-

-

-

1♣
(1)

♣ 83


1♦

dbl
(2)
pass

2NT
(3)
all pass

♠ Q9

N
♠ KJ862


♥ KQ93
W
E
♥ 8


♦ A7653
S

♦ J8

 
♣ J7


♣ 109642




♠ A5


♥ J1076




♦ KQ2


♣ AKQ5


 (1)
What did you open with this South hand B(a) in this week’s quiz? 1♣, with the intention of rebidding 2NT over a 1♦ or 1♠ response or 4♥ over a 1♥ response was the popular choice. But I would not argue with a 2NT opening. I do not make a habit of opening 2NT with just 19 points but this hand has good cards and J1076 is worth more than one point.
(2)
This negative double does indeed promise exactly 4-4 in the majors (otherwise ignore the overcall) but I would like a point or two more.
(3)
What did you bid with this South hand B(b) in this week’s quiz? I believe that South groaned when North passed this 2NT bid – but this 2NT is wrong! North has promised four ♥’s with his negative double and 4♥ is the correct bid.

And what happened? South lucked out when 2NT made exactly but those in the 4-4 ♥ game all went down because of the bad split. It looks like most Norths could not stand passing partner’s 1♣ opening and so virtually everybody played in 4♥. The only other exception was the one player who did indeed open 2NT with this South hand and he got a top when East balanced with 3♠ and got clobbered, going for 300. 
Dave’s Column
Dealer:
♠ AK98



Book bidding
North
♥ Q75

West

North
East

South
love all 
♦ 842

-


1♦
(1)
dbl

redbl


♣ KJ7


2♣

pass

pass

3NT


all pass


N
♠ QJ53



W
E
♥ AK982
(1)
Playing Precision ♣, 1♦ does not promise ♦’s. 

S
♦ 1065

♣ 3



You are East, defending 3NT; you play 4th best leads, MUD and suit preference discards. Partner  leads the ♦7 (4th highest) to the ♦2, ♦10 and ♦Q. Declarer then plays off the ♣K, ♣J (West following with the ♣2 and the ♣4 to show an odd number of ♣’s) followed by a ♣ to the ♣A and then the ♣Q, West following with the ♣5 and the ♣6. On the 4th ♣ declarer discards the ♦4 from dummy. You discarded the ♥2 and ♥8, what do you throw on the fourth ♣?
Dave’s Column Answer

Board 1 from Wednesday 25th May
Dealer:
♠ AK98



Book bidding
North
♥ Q75

West

North
East

South
love all 
♦ 842

-


1♦
(1)
dbl

redbl

♣ KJ7


2♣

pass

pass

3NT

all pass
♠ 2
N
♠ QJ53


♥ 43
W
E
♥ AK982
 
♦ KJ973
S
♦ 1065

♣ 106542


♣ 3
 

♠ 10764

(1)
Playing Precision ♣, 1♦ does not promise ♦’s.
♥ J106




♦ AQ
The defenders play 4th best leads, MUD and Lavinthal discards.
♣ AQ98



West leads the ♦7 (4th highest) to the ♦2, ♦10 and ♦Q. Declarer then plays off the ♣K, ♣J (West following with the ♣2 and the ♣4 to show an odd number of ♣’s) followed by a ♣ to the ♣A and then the ♣Q, West following with the ♣5 and the ♣6. On the 4th ♣ declarer discards the ♦4 from dummy.
East has discarded two ♥’s on the second and third ♣, what should East throw on the fourth ♣?

In the final of a national teams event, N-S did well to avoid the doomed 4♠ reached at the other table where declarer went three off. 
Against 3NT West led his 4th highest ♦ because North’s 1♦ opening did not promise ♦’s. South won and played off four rounds of ♣’s. East discarded two ♥’s and then an unwise ♦5. Declarer crossed to the ♠A and led a low ♥. East won and continued with the ♠Q. Declarer was thus able to make ten tricks.
If East took the ♦7 as fourth highest then the rule of eleven tells East that the other three hand have four cards higher than the ♦7. East can see two of them and South’s ♦Q was the third. South thus has only one more ♦ higher than the ♦7. West has also confirmed a liking for ♦’s by playing his ♣’s from the bottom up after giving count (effectively suit preference for ♦’s).
On the fourth ♣ East cannot afford to discard a ♠, but should throw another ♥ to keep two ♦’s. Now when East wins the lead twice with ♥’s or ♠’s he has two ♦’s to return. 

And what happened at our club? 4♠-3 three times and a couple of spurious results.
Dave’s  2nd Column



West
East
West
North

East

South
♠ QJ84
♠ A72

-

1♦

dbl

pass

♥ J642
♥ AKQ105
1♠
2♦

2♥

pass
 
♦ 73
♦ 105
3♥

pass

4♥

all pass
♣ Q86
♣ A53
 
 

You are East, declarer in 4♥. South leads the ♦2, East took the ♦Q and ♦A and exited with a trump. You cash a 2nd trump, North discarding a ♦. Any ideas? Incidentally, you would not be seeing this hand if Eddie Kantar had not made (in his youth when his bidding was not so controlled).

Dave’s 2nd Column Answer

Board 5 from Wednesday 25th May
Dealer:
♠ K5



Book bidding
North
♥ 7

West(D)
North
East

South
N-S vul 
♦ AKQ864

-


1♦

dbl
(1)
pass

♣ K1072


1♠
(2)
2♦

2♥
(3)
pass

3♥

pass

4♥
(4)
all pass
♠ QJ84
N
♠ A72



♥ J642
W
E
♥ AKQ105
(1)
This hand is too strong for a 1♥ overcall. 
♦ 73
S
♦ 105
(2)
What did you bid with this West hand D in 
♣ Q86


♣ A53
 
this week’s quiz? I (Terry) agree with this 

♠ 10963

 
book bidding and this was also the sequence
♥ 983

 

at our table. The reasoning for bidding ♠’s 
♦ J92

before ♥’s is that with both majors you want
♣ J94


compete, so bid ♠’s now and back into ♥’s next go if LHO bids again and partner passes.
(3) Showing a strong ♥ hand.

(4) An optimistic bid as East has shown his hand.
South leads the ♦2. East took the ♦Q and ♦A and exited with a trump. You cash a 2nd trump, North discarding a ♦. Plan the play.
There are a couple of chances. If North had specifically the ♠K109 and the ♣K then declarer could draw three rounds of trumps ending in dummy and lead the ♠Q. No matter how North plays his ♠’s, he could be thrown in with a third ♠ to force him to lead a ♣, which would be won in dummy and a losing ♣ from hand thrown on the thirteenth ♠. 
Alternatively, if North returned a ♦ that enables a ruff in dummy and a ♣ to be discarded from hand and another ♣ discard on the thirteenth ♠.

But Eddie Kantar did not try that, he could not imagine being that lucky. Instead he played North for ♠Kx. He drew three rounds of trumps and then the ♠A and a low ♠, and low from dummy. North won the ♠K and had to lead from the ♣K or give a ruff and discard.
And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 4♥=, 3♥= twice, 3♦=(N) and 4♥-2.
Giving attitude/count when playing upside down attitude (low to encourage)
(a) You hold ♣85  and are defending a suit contract. Partner leads the ♣A and you want him to continue so you get a ruff. Which card do you play? Does the 80followed by the 5 show a doubleton?
(b) You hold ♣875  and are defending a suit contract. Partner leads the ♣A and you do not want him to continue. Which card do you play?
(c) You hold ♣875  and are on lead. You want to lead this suit, which card?
Answers:

(a) Play the ♣5. When followed by the ♣8 this shows encouragement (quite likely a doubleton). When playing low to encourage you have to play low-high when holding a doubleton and a desire to ruff. High-low simply shows dislike and says nothing about count.
(b) Play the ♣8. If partner continues then he knows by your high-low that you do not have a doubleton (or do dot want to ruff).
(c) Lead the ♣7 if you play MUD. This shows 3 or more lowish cards when followed by the ♣8. If you lead the ♣8 (so followed by a lower card) this would imply a doubleton.
Bidding Quiz Answers

Hand A:
3♠ (or whatever your super-accept bid is with this shape). It’s normally best to have four trumps, but with this super maximum, three great trumps and a weak doubleton, this hand should play very well in ♠’s.
Hand B:
(a)
1♣ or 2NT. I don’t usually like 2NT with just 19 points, but the ♥J1076 is worth more than one point.
(b)
4♥. Partner’s negative double promises exactly 4-4 in the majors, so bid the ♥ game. 2NT (what you would have bid if partner had responded 1♦) is totally wrong as it is passable and you know there is a 4-4 ♥ fit. 


Hand C:
1♥. This weak hand is only worth one bid, so bid the cheapest suit.

Hand D:
1♠. This is the bid I chose at the table and this is what Eddie Kantar says “Bid 1♠ intending to bid ♥’s next, the right procedure when strong enough
to bid twice; with a weaker hand bid 1♥”.
Bidding Sequence Quiz Answers

E
1♣
1♦
dbl
pass
This shows EXACTLY 4-4 in the majors, with any other shape ignore the overcall.

F
1♦
2♣
dbl
pass
In Marty Bergen’s style (which I play), this guarantees only one 4-card major.

G
2♣
pass
2♦
pass
What is 3♣? Many players play this as a 2nd negative, which
2♥
pass
3♣

I believe is popular in America. However, this is by no means universal and should be agreed. Some play 2NT as the 2nd negative and some do not play a 2nd negative at all.

I personally don’t like 2nd negatives. If playing just the one strong bid (as with Paul Q) we play 2♥ negative. This is explained on the website and there are copies in the red conventions folder.
Current club championship standings

	
	Gold Cup = Best 30
	Silver Plate = Best 10
	Bronze Medal = Best 5

	1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10
	1780.0 Janne Roos
1741.7 Hans Vikman
1725.0 Tomas Wikman
	639.8 Per Andersson
638.4 Hans Vikman
627.6 = Janne Roos
627.6 = Paul Quodomine
624.0 Lars Broman
617.8 Paul Scully
613.5 Bob Short
604.4 Tomas Wikman
602.5 Jeremy Watson
601.7 Sean Burgess
	332.2 Per Andersson
326.2 Hans Vikman
325.3 Paul Scully
321.7 Lars Broman
318.9 Janne Roos
318.4 Dave Hurst
314.8 Bob Short
314.0 Paul Quodomine
312.2 Gerard Hardy
311.7 Jeremy Watson
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