Our website is www.pattayabridge.com Club News Sheet No. 462

Our blogsite is www.pattayabridge.wordpress.com

My mobile phone number is 083 6066880 25th Sept 2011

My e-mail is terry@pattayabridge.com or pattayabridge@yahoo.com

My Windows Live Messenger is tj_quested@hotmail.com

 

Mon 19th N-S      1st   Niclas & Bengt M          68%            2nd  Paul Sc & Guttorm        56%
               E-W      1st   Gerard & Derek             66%            2nd  Kenneth & John B         56%
Wed 21st N-S      1st   Bob S & Sigurd             62%            2nd  Paul Sc & Guttorm        59%
               E-W      1st   Gerard & Derek             62%            2nd  Hans V & Per-Ake        58%
Fri 23rd                1st  Gerard & Derek             56%            2nd =Bjorn & Guttorm           55%
                                                                                              2nd =Niclas & Bengt M         55%

Bidding Quiz          Standard American (short ♣) bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.

Hand A           Hand B           With Hand A you open 1♦ and partner bids 1♠, what do you do?

♠ 3                   ♠ Q76                                     
♥ AKJ6           ♥ 7                   With Hand B partner opens 2♥, what do you bid?
♦ Q8432          ♦ AJ752                                  
♣ Q107           ♣ AKJ3                                        

Hand C           Hand D           With Hand C it’s unfavourable vulnerability. Do you open
                                                in first seat?
♠ -                    ♠ QJ865                                 
♥ J108             ♥ 1082             With Hand D partner opens 1♦, and you bid 1♠. Partner rebids
♦ KQ953         ♦ -                    1NT, what do you do? 
♣ A8752         ♣ AJ962                                 
                                                       
Hand E           Hand F           With Hand E RHO opens 1♦, what do you bid?

♠ AQ105         ♠ KJ964
♥ AK3             ♥ Q6542          With Hand F LHO opens 1♦ and partner doubles. What do
♦ AJ4               ♦ 7                   you bid?
♣ KJ4              ♣ Q6
                       
Bidding Sequence Quiz            
                 
G      1♦     dbl     pass   2♦          What does the 2♦ cuebid of opener’s suit show?

 

Dave’s Column

West                East                                     West          North         East           South
♠ AQ2             ♠ 874                                  -                 pass           pass           pass
♥ AJ10            ♥ 943                                  2♣              pass           2♦              pass
♦ AK74           ♦ 92                                    2NT           pass           3NT           all pass
♣ KJ5              ♣ A10982      

You are West, declarer in 3NT. Plan the play on the ♠J lead.


Dave’s Column Answer                     Board 17 from Wednesday 21st Sept. 
     
Dealer:             ♠ KJ1093                                      Bidding            
North               ♥ KQ2                                           West          North         East           South
Love all           ♦ J653                                            -                 pass           pass           pass
                        ♣ 7                                                2♣             pass           2♦              pass
                                                                              2NT (1)      pass           3NT           all pass
♠ AQ2                   N             ♠ 874                      
♥ AJ10              W    E          ♥ 943                 (1)  22-24.       
♦ AK74                 S              ♦ 92                       
♣ KJ5                                    ♣ A10982          
                        ♠ 63                                        
                        ♥ 8765                                    
                        ♦ Q108                               Plan the play for declarer on the ♠J lead.
                        ♣ Q643                                  

Declarer should win the ♠, play the ♣K and (unless South shows out) a low ♣ from both
hands! If the defence wins the second ♣ declarer can later overtake the ♣J to ensure the
contract. If Dummy’s ♣8 wins as it should here (South should hold up) then take a ♥ finesse
and another later using the ♣A as an entry. Note that running the ♣J fails when South holds up
with ♣Qxxx.

 

Dave’s 2nd Column

North               South                                  West          North         East           South
♠ KQ6             ♠ AJ1087                            -                 -                 pass           1♠
♥ Q6                ♥ AJ102                              pass            2♠              pass           3♥
♦ 98632           ♦ A                                     pass            3♠              pass           4♠
♣ 842              ♣ KJ3                                 all pass

You are South, declarer in 4♠. Plan the play on a trump lead.

                                                                       
                                                                 
                                                                       
                                                                        
Dave’s 2nd Column Answer           Board 18 from Wednesday 21st Sept. 
     
Dealer:             ♠ KQ6                                           Bidding            
East                 ♥ Q6                                              West          North         East           South
N-S vul            ♦ 98632                                         -                 -                 pass           1♠
                        ♣ 842                                            pass           2♠              pass           3♥
                                                                              pass           3♠              pass           4♠
♠ 943                     N             ♠ 52                         all pass
♥ K975              W    E          ♥ 843                     
♦ J107                    S              ♦ KQ54                 
♣ Q76                                   ♣ A1095           West plays the ♠3, plan the play for declarer.
                        ♠ AJ1087                               
                        ♥ AJ102                                       
                        ♦ A                                         
                        ♣ KJ3                                     

Declarer should win the ♠ in dummy and lead the ♥6 to the ♥J. If the finesse wins, try to
ruff two ♥’s in dummy.
On the actual layout the ♥ finesse loses but you have two entries (high ♠ and ♥Q) as entries to take two ♣ finesses.

      The bottom lines

  1. Declarer should normally draw trumps unless there is a good reason not too. Often this is a
    need to ruff in dummy, but here it is because declarer needs three entries to dummy to take the ♥ finesse,
    and when this loses, two ♣ finesses.

     

    Current club championship standings

     

    Gold Cup = Best 30

    Silver Plate = Best 10

    Bronze Medal = Best 5

    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    8
    9
    10

    1824.3 Hans Vikman
    1812.8 Janne Roos
    1801.5 Bob Short
    1774.2 Sigurd Zahl
    1761.0 Paul Quodomine
    1758.8 Gerard Hardy
    1749.9 Derek Tyms
    1731.8 Paul Scully
    1725.0 Tomas Wikman
    1718.0 Bob Pelletier

    647.4 Hans Vikman
    645.2 Bob Short
    639.8 Per Andersson
    640.2 Paul Quodomine
    631.1 Janne Roos
    627.2= Gerard Hardy
    627.2= Derek Tyms
    624.0 Lars Broman
    626.3 Sigurd Zahl
    620.1 Paul Scully

    335.4 Bob Short
    332.2 Per Andersson
    329.9 Hans Vikman
    328.9= Gerard Hardy
    328.9= Derek Tyms
    325.3 Paul Scully
    321.7 Lars Broman
    320.4 Janne Roos
    319.9 Dave Hurst
    319.8 Bengt Malmgren

    The Triple

    Congratulations to Gerard and Derek, who won the triple (3 wins in one week) last week.


    New minor Forcing?                                           Board 18 from Wednesday 14th  

    Every convention has a disadvantage (often taking away the natural meaning). Here is an
    example of where New Minor Forcing (or Checkback Stayman) do not work well.

    Dealer:             ♠ QJ865                                        Table A
    East                 ♥ 1082                                           West          North         East           South(A)
    N-S vul            ♦ -                                                  -                 -                 -                 1♦
                            ♣ AJ962                                        pass           1♠              pass           2♦     (1)
                                                                                  pass           pass  (2)     pass
    ♠ K97                    N             ♠ A1042                         
    ♥ Q943              W    E          ♥ 75                         Table B
    ♦ A109                  S              ♦ KJ765                   West          North(D)   East           South(A)
    ♣ K43                                    ♣ 85                        -                 -                 -                 1♦
                            ♠ 3                                                 pass           1♠              pass           1NT  (1)
                            ♥ AKJ6                                         2♣   (3)      pass           pass (4)      pass
                            ♦ Q8432                                       
                            ♣ Q107                                        
                                                                                                            

    Table A:    (1)  What did you bid with this South hand A in this week’s quiz? This miserable ♦
                            suit is not a re-biddable suit.
                      (2)  North is not happy with the turn of events, bid bidding twice with this apparent
                            mis-fit could lead to disaster.      
    Table B:     (1)  This is my answer to question A. I would bid 1NT, but if you don’t like bidding
                            1NT with a singleton in partner’s suit then 2♣ is the only alternative. 
                      (3)  What did you bid with this North hand D in this week’s quiz? Playing natural
                              methods with 2♣ non-forcing, then 2♣ is very reasonable, offering partner the
                              choice of black suits. However, if you play Checkback Stayman or NMF then 2♣
                              would be forcing and this hand is not strong enough, so pass.
                      (4)    Playing 2♣ as natural, South passes of course.

  2. The bottom lines:

    1. Do not rebid a suit like Qxxxx if there is an alternative.
    2. It is acceptable to rebid 1NT with a singleton in partner’s suit if there is no other reasonable option.

    And what happened? Both 1NT and 2♣ played well, 2♦ did not.


    Responding to a take-out double.                      Board 6 from Friday 23rd   

    Dealer:             ♠ KJ964                                        Table A
    East                 ♥ Q6542                                        West          North         East(C)      South
    E-W vul           ♦ 7                                                 -                 -                 pass (1)      2♣
                            ♣ Q6                                             pass           2♦     (2)     pass           2NT  (3)
                                                                                  pass           3♥     (4)     pass           4♠     (5)
    ♠ 8732                   N             ♠ -                            pass           4NT  (6)     pass           5♣    (7)
    ♥ 97                   W    E          ♥ J108                     pass           5♦     (8)     pass           5♥     (9)
    ♦ 10862                 S              ♦ KQ953                 pass           6♠     (10)   all pass
    ♣ 1093                                   ♣ A8752                
                            ♠ AQ105                                       Table B
                            ♥ AK3                                           West          North(F)    East(C)      South(E)
                            ♦ AJ4                                             -                 -                 1♦    (1)      dbl    (11)
                            ♣ KJ4                                            pass           2♦     (12)   3♣             3NT  (13)
                                                                                  pass           4♥              pass           4NT  (14)
                                                                                  pass           pass  (15)
                                                                                                            

    Table A:    (1)  Did you open with this East hand C in this week’s quiz? This East decided to pass.
                      (2)  Relay.
                      (3)  22-24, the great top cards and ♠10 are enough compensation for the flat shape.
                      (4)  Transfer.
                      (5)  The sequence is not game forcing, so this is a super-accept.
                      (6)  RKCB
                      (7)  3 keycards
                      (8)  Trump queen? Note that unlike the king ask, the queen ask does not guarantee all
                            keycards present and may just be looking for the small slam (as here).
                      (9)  Yes, and the ♥K (cheapest king)
                     (10) Knowing that partner has the ♥K is enough for North to go for the slam.
                           
    Table B:     (1)  This East is a firm believer in the rule of 20 (with the points in the long suits)
                             and so he opened 1♦ and this is my answer to question C.
                      (11) What did you bid with this South hand E in this week’s quiz? This double (with
                             the intention of bidding 3NT over a 1♥ or 2♣ response) is best. The hand is
                             obviously far too strong for an immediate 1NT.
                     (12) What did you bid with this North hand F in this week’s quiz? North meant this a
                            ‘pick a major’, which is the generally accepted meaning.
                     (13) South did not understand North’s 2♦ bid.
                     (14) Apparently meant as Blackwood.
                     (15) North assumed that South simply wanted to play in NoTrumps (as would I).

    And what happened? 6♠ is where you want to be. 4♠+2 scored well, 4NT+1 did not.


    Raise partner’s weak two?
                                     Board 13 from Wednesday 21st  

    Dealer:             ♠ KJ93                                          Table A
    North               ♥ J863                                           West(B)     North         East           South
    Both vul          ♦ Q                                                -                 pass           2♥              pass
                            ♣ 10984                                        2NT  (1)     pass           3NT (2)      pass
                                                                                  4♥     (3)     all pass
    ♠ Q76                    N             ♠ 1082                    
    ♥ 7                     W    E          ♥ AKQ1052            Table B
    ♦ AJ752                 S              ♦ 109                       West(B)     North         East           South
    ♣ AKJ3                                 ♣ 76                        -                 pass           2♥              pass
                            ♠ A54                                            pass (1)      pass          
                            ♥ 94                                              
                            ♦ K8643                                 
                            ♣ Q52                                          

    Table A:    (1)  What did you bid with this West hand B in this week’s quiz? This West chose to look for game using Ogust.
                     (2)   Showing AKQxxx
                     (3)   Knowing that partner has no points outside ♥’s, maybe West should pass andhope that the ♥’s are 3-3.       
    Table B:     (1)  This is the correct answer to question B. With a singleton trump there is no realistic chance of game.
                       
    The bottom lines:

    15 points may sometimes be enough to look for game opposite partner’s weak two, but not with a singleton trump.

    And what happened at our club? 4♥-2, 4♥-1, 3NT=, 2♥+1 twice and 2♥=.
    So half the field sensibly passed and half bid a hopeless game. One made a very lucky 3NT,
    presumably with considerable help from the defence.

     

    Bidding Quiz Answers  

    Hand A:   1NT. It’s not usually a good idea to rebid 1NT with a singleton in partner’s suit,
                      but here it’s the best of evils. This miserable ♦ suit is not re-biddable and the only
                      other reasonable bid is 2♣. You cannot bid 2♥ of course as that’s a reverse promising 15+.
    Hand B:    Pass. With a singleton trump there is no realistic chance of game.
    Hand C:   1♦. The hand conforms with the rule of 20 and has an easy rebid. With the points in the long
                      suits and a void this is a very clear opener in my style. To pass would  (did) just make it easy for the opponents.
    Hand D:   2♣, that is if you do not play it as convention (e.g. NMF or Checkback)) in which case you have to pass.
    Hand E:    double. With the intention of raising a 1♠ response to 4♠ and bidding 3NT over a 1♥ or 2♣ response.
                      The hand is far too good for a 1NT overcall and 3NT would show a different hand type (and will miss a possible ♠ fit).
    Hand F:    2♦, this asks partner to bid his best 4+ card major if he has one.

    Bidding Sequence Quiz Answers  
                     
    G      1♦     dbl     pass   2♦          2♦ here generally shows both majors and asks partner to bid his
                                                        best major (if it is at least 4 cards).