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Mon 2nd  
N-S 
1st 
Tomas & Ivy
62%

2nd
Jeremy & Sean
54%

E-W
1st 
Gus & Enzo
65%

2nd
Jean-Pierre & Michel 
54%

Wed 4th
N-S 
1st 
Paul Q &  Terry Q
62%

2nd
Gus & Enzo
56%


E-W
1st 
Paul Sc & Dave H
58%

2nd
Frode & Olaf
55%
Fri 6th 
N-S 
1st
Gus & Enzo
55%

2nd 
Mike G & Jean
54%

E-W
1st 
Ivy & Dave C
58%

2nd
Jan & Frode
57%

Bidding Quiz

Standard American (short ♣) bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.
Hand A
Hand B
What do you open with Hand A?
♠ 3
♠ -
With Hand B partner opens 1♠ and RHO overcalls 1NT, 


♥ 1096532
♥ J75

what do you bid?

♦ J9
♦ KQJ2




♣ J853
♣ J106532


Bidding Sequence Quiz


C
1♣
3♣
dbl


What is the 3♣ cuebid of opener’s suit?
D
1♠
1NT
2♣


Is 2♣ forcing?

E
1NT
pass
4♣
pass

4♣ is Gerber and 4♠ shows two aces, 

4♠
pass
4NT


what is 4NT, to play or asking for kings?
The 2011 championship winners.

Congratulations to the five winners, who all receive a year’s free membership or a trophy.
Gold (best 30)
1st   Hans Vikman



2nd 
Bob Short



3rd 
Jeremy Watson

Silver (best 10)
Sean Burgess

Bronze (best 5)
Per Andersson

For anybody who has not yet paid (excluding the above), membership fees are due now.

Bidding when RHO has overcalled 1NT


Board 24 from Wednesday 4th  
Dealer:
♠ 742





West
♥ AK84

West(B)
North
East

South
Love all 
♦ 1087

pass

pass

1♠

1NT
(1)

♣ 974


pass
(2)
pass

pass
♠ -
N
♠ KQ1098


♥ J75
W
E
♥ 105


♦ KQJ2
S

♦ 9654



♣ J106532

♣ AQ



♠ AJ653




♥ Q932






♦ A3




♣ K8





(1) A somewhat off-beat 1NT overcall.
(2) What did you bid with this West hand B in this week’s quiz? Without the overcall you would 
bid 1NT, but after a 1NT overcall you can now bid 2♣ as that no longer shows 10+ points.

And what happened? At most tables South passed and E-W mostly played peacefully in 2♦ or 
3♦ as it is difficult for N-S to enter the auction when South has East’s suit.

The bottom lines:

· If partner opens and RHO overcalls 1NT then a new suit bid by you is non-forcing 
(because you would double with 9+ points).
Dave’s Column
West
East

West
North

East

South
♠ J10
♠ AK9854

-

-
1♠
pass
♥ Q3
♥ KJ9
 

2♦

2♥

3♠

pass
♦ KQJ108
♦ 32

4♠

all pass
♣ K653
♣ A10
East found himself in a 4♠ contract that looked cold for a moment. When North won the 
♥A and returned the ♥10, South ruffed and returned a ♦ to North’s ♦A. North continued with 
another ♦, won in dummy. All of a sudden declarer was in a position where he had to guess the 
trump suit. Missing four ♠’s at this moment, should declarer finesse or play for the remaining 
♠’s to be 2-2?

Dave’s Column Answer

Board 2 from Wednesday 4th Jan  
Dealer:
♠ Q76



Bidding



East
♥ A1087654

West

North
East

South
N-S vul 
♦ A4

-


-

1♠

pass


♣ J



2♦

2♥

3♠

pass



4♠

all pass


♠ J10
N
♠ AK9854


♥ Q3
W
E
♥ KJ9
 

♦ KQJ108
S
♦ 32

♣ K653


♣ A10


♠ 32



♥ 2



♦ 9765




♣ Q98742


Take the ♠ finesse. Assuming your opponents are not daffy, North would have led a ♥ back 
at trick four to let South ruff with his ♠Q if he had it. With three trumps to the ♠Q North did not 
lead a second ♥ as that would place him with the ♠Q when South failed to ruff in with it. 
Psyches and extremely weak pre-empts are not allowed at our club. 
♠ 3
This is North hand 17 from Friday and somebody opened a Multi 2♦ with 

♥ 1096532

this hand. I am sure that the vast majority of the club (with two exceptions)  
♦ J9
will agree that this is absurd. Over a year ago a decision was made to stop

♣ J853
these ridiculously light pre-empts and that Australian rule of 15 for pre-empts

has been adopted.

The rule is that you add up your HCPs and the lengths of your two longest suits and if the 
result is 15 or more you are allowed to pre-empt. We have relaxed this slightly for weak 2♦, 2♥, 
2♠ or Multi openings to a rule of 14.
But this hand is only 12 for the rule and is certainly not allowed. The score was adjusted, as 
it will be for all similar infringements.
Bidding Quiz Answers   
Hand A:
pass. Opening this two count with a pre-emptive 2♥ or Multi is not allowed at this club. 
Hand B:
2♦. This is not forcing after RHO has overcalled 1NT.
Bidding Sequence Quiz Answers


C
1♣
3♣
dbl


This is up to partnership understanding. Some play it as a 







two-suited overcall (such as Ghestem) but nany play it as 







showing a long solid minor and asking partner to bid 3NT 







if he has a ♣ stop.

D
1♠
1NT
2♣


2♣ is not forcing after a 1NT overcall, as with a good hand you would double.
E
1NT
pass
4♣
pass
 
After Gerber, any NT bid is a sign-off. 

4♠
pass
4NT


To ask for kings it’s 5♣.
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