* ¢ Club News Sheet — No. 19 7/3/2003 v A

Last week’s winners: Monday 3/3/03 Friday 7/3/03
winners  Mike/Ole 58% winners Mike/Peter-M  67%
AL Per/Tomas 55% WAL Per/Tomas 60%

Same winners and runner-ups, except that Ole has gone home.

Your 2™ bid having transferred

Many people play transfers to majors over INT by partner, but what do you do
after partner has completed the transfer? The following is a general guideline, where invitational is 11/12
points when playing a weak NT and 8/9 pomts when playing a strong NT. Game forcing is 13+ playing a
weak NT and 10 + playing a strong NT.

Having transferred, your 2" bid is: -

Pass 5 card suit or longer, insufficient values for an mvitation.

2NT 5 card suit, mvitational values; opener may pass, sign off in 3 of the major or bid game
(3NT or 4 of the major).

3 ofthe major 6+ card suit, invitational values; opener normally passes or bids 4 of
the major.

3NT 5 card suit, game forcing values; opener may pass or bid 4 of the major.

4 ofthe major 6+ card suit, game forcing values; opener should pass (unless also playing Texas
transfers, in which case the bid is mildly slam interest).

a new suit at least 5-4 shape, game forcing,

On Monday I was asked to comment on the following auction. It was board 27.

West East West opened INT, East bid 2 ¢ (transfer to ), West
completed the transfer and then East bid 4 . Both players

a AJ6 a Q73 thought that their partner had misbid the hand and I was

v A v KJ872 asked to comment. Of course they were both correct (their

+ AQJ987 *2 partner had mis-bid the hand). First of all, the opening bid.

& J92 % AK87 I am simply repeating myself when I say do not open INT

with a singleton. It is a psyche and is not appreciated in this
club where we have a number of beginners and people trying to improve their game. This hand should
simply open with 1 ¢ and rebid 3 ¢. Apart from being totally the wrong shape, the hand is far too strong for
a strong INT. Now what about East’s bidding? You simply have to refer to the guidelines above about
responding to transfers to see that this is totally incorrect. This pair are two of our leading players and really
should know better than to bid like this. It sets a bad example. Quite how 2 other pairs finished in a lousy 6
v baffles me, perhaps they have been taking lessons from our two stars here? The biding should go 1 - 1
¥ -3¢ -3NT-pass;orle-1% -3e-3w -3NT - pass. East has a very powerful hand but, in view of
the mis-fit, should settle for 3NT.



The Power of the 4-4 fit

One of our members asked me to explain why the 4-4 fit is so desirable. He added that since 5 card
majors systems are becoming ever more popular, surely that implies that the 5-3 fit is just as good? Not so.
Standard American and similar systems are not designed specifically to locate 5-3 fits. If opener opens 1w,
responder will normally reply 1 s with a 4 card suit, looking for a 4-4 & fit. If opener opens a minor, then 4
card majors are subsequently bid up the line, looking for the 4-4 fit. Playing 5 card majors may take one
bid longer than Acol to locate a 4-4 major fit, but it does get there. The thing about a

4-4 fit is that you can normally draw trumps in three

West East rounds and get an extra trick with a ruff. Even on the
occasions when trumps are 4-1 you can still normally get a

a KJ86 a AQ105 ruff. The 4-4 fit has flexibility (you can often choose which

v AQ1084 v KJ97 hand to take a ruffin). With a 5-3 fit, a ruff with the 5 card

¢+ A9 * Q5 suit does not give an extra trick. Look at this hand, 3 1points.

& 72 & AJ8 What contract would you prefer to be in? 3NT, 4%, 6NT,
or 6% ? Answer at the bottom of this page.

What’s Your Bid? East hand 1 from Friday

Al Your RHO deals and opens 14, what is your bid? Hans held this hand and

v J42 doubled, with the intention of bidding 3 & over West’s probable 2 reply?

+ AK64 Not for the first time, I disagree with Hans on this one. As I stated last
% AKJ97 week, I prefer a double of 1a to virtually guarantee 4 w’s. A 2& overcall

is quite adequate on this hand. If you have a ¥ game, then partner will
reply 2w to a 2& overcall. I would hate to suggest s as trumps (by doubling 1 4 ) with such an anaemic
v suit. Finally, I would definitely prefer a six card & suit for the double followed by a bid at the 3 level, I
do not consider this hand good enough. Hans’ opinion is that you may miss a « game if you don’t double.
To each therr own. I am not adverse to Moysian (4-3) fits but I do not go out of my way to reach them,
and I would definitely prefer a suit better than J42.

The Power of the 4-4 fit — Answer

I guess you spotted the trap question? The answer is that 64 is the correct contract. A good 4-4 fit is
often better than even a 5-4 fit. The reason is that you get an extra trick with a ruff (whichever hand you
take it in). There is only a problem if you get an unlucky 4-1 or 5-0 & split, but there are still good chances
with the bad 4-1 split: - draw two rounds of trumps, discovering the bad break, and then play & A and
another &. If the opponents do not ruffa # then you are home. Ruffa & and draw trumps. You make 4
trumps, one ruff, 5 ¥’s, one & and one ¢. Total 12. Note that if you discover a 4-1 split after drawing two
rounds of trumps, you cannot afford to draw another round — the &K may be with the outstanding trump
and he will pull your remaining trumps, leaving you a trick short. With the expected 3-2 trump split there is
no problem, simply draw all the trumps before going for your ruff. With a ¢ lead the play is slightly
different. You then need the 3-2 trump split as you have to pitch the losing ¢ before the opponents get in
with & K. So pull trumps and run the # ’s, pitching the losing ¢ on the 5" w. Note that this is impossible if

¥ ’s are trumps (you have no trump left!).



Specific Types of Doubles
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This double by South is RESPONSIVE, and asks
North to pick the suit.

This double by West is a SUPPORT DOUBLE and
shows 3 card support for partner. Many people play
a penalty double here — i.e. South stole your rebid.
Up to you if you play support doubles.

This double by South is a COMPETITIVE
DOUBLE and asks partner to choose between the
other two suits.

This double by East is a COOPERATIVE
DOUBLE and gives partner the choice of passing
for penalties or bidding on. Since East has limited
values, it cannot be strictly penalties.

This double by West is a game try, a MAXIM AL
OVERCALL DOUBLE. There is no room left for
any other game try, 3a would just be competitive.

This double by East is NEGATIVE, in theory it
shows the other 2 suits. In practice, it generally
promises 4 cards in any unbid major(s) and may
not have the other minor. See news-sheets 9 & 10.

If East fails to bid or double the overcall and South
passes, then West should normally re-open with a
double so that East can pass for penalties.

Of course, if East cannot make a penalty pass, any other bid by
him is weak.

The only exceptions when opener is allowed another bid but double are: -

(1) when opener has a very shapely/weak opener and cannot stand to defend the doubled contract, in which
case he either rebids his suit or bids another suit.

(2) when opener has a very shapely very strong hand (a near 2& opener). A jump rebid.

(3) a weak hand with 3 or 4 ofthe overcaller’s suit. With length in overcaller’s sutt it is less likely that partner
has a penalty pass and some partnerships allow opener to pass under these circumstances.



w N E S This double by East is penalties. Presumably he was
le le pass 2w happy to have passed a re-opening double by West.
pass pass dbl This is just an extra 2 or 3 hundred. It is a notable

exception to the rule about opponents bidding and
agreeing a suit. Negative doubles really are fun. Incidentally, I had this exact sequence a few years ago
playing with an excellent Australian partner (remember Carol?). She bid 3 & over my double, contending
that my double was for take-out. Absolute nonsense, if I had a hand that could bid for take out over 2% I
certainly would not have passed over 1% (a negative double?). Bridge is quite often simply a matter of
logic.

A double of opponents after they have found a fit is usually for take out.
A double ofany bid after anyone at the table has bid no trumps naturally is usually for penalties.

% N E S This is a notable exception, the double is for take
lv pass INT dbl out of w’s. But be wary, you need a good hand as
partner has passed, East has shown values and West is unlimited.
W N E S This double by South is for penalties. In reality it is
le 1a 24 44 unlikely that South can set 5 . It is, in fact, a
ANT pass Se dbl STRIPED-TAIL APE DOUBLE. The theory is

that if you feel the opponents have a sure slam, they
may settle for a doubled game that scores less even with an overtrick. If you hear a re-double, you run like a
striped—tail ape to 5a and opponents may double you there instead of bidding their certain slam (again good
for you). Am serious or not? Double Dutch?

4NT Quantitative

This is board 16 from Friday. Two pairs reached a very optimistic 6NT and I was asked how the hand
should be bid: -

North South North South

a KQ32 a A75 INT (1) 2& (2) (1) 15-17

v QJ7 v AKS85 260 (3) ANT (4) (2) Stayman

+ K1093 ¢+ Q4 pass (3)denies 4 w’s
® A2 * Q93 (4) mvitational

South knows that there are a combined 31-33 points but no fit. If North is max, then 6NT is a
reasonable proposition. Even if you normally play 4NT as ace-asking it is invitational in this sequence where
no trump suit has been bid (44 would be Gerber). With a minimum opening North should decline the
mvitation. I guess that Hans agrees with me on this one (we don’t always disagree — it’s just that when we
do it is usually very interesting) as I note that they were the only pair to reach 4N'T. In this example, if North
had a couple more points, he would bid 5 #, just in case there is a 4-4 ¢ fit and 6 ¢ was a better contract
than 6N'T.



The 2NT Response to a suit bid.

A 52 South hand 17 from Friday. Partner opens 14, what do you bid? You

v A975 cannot bid 2w as that promises a 5 card suit, so INT (6-9) or 2NT(11-12)?
¢+ AI9 I sincerely hope that nobody out there would consider 2&? It really is a

&« J742 lousy bid but I’'m sure that it would be the choice of'a couple of people?

With 10 points you have to evaluate to see if it is worth 2NT or just INT.
Two aces are a plus feature, but with poor support for partner’s suit, poor intermediates and a very bad
shape after partner’s 1 s, the hand is only worth INT. You need a really good 10 points for 2NT. What
happened? At our table, South bid 2N T, North bid Blackwood and ended in a hopeless 6 4.
If you think that 2& is a reasonable bid, have a word with me and I will type up a sheet or so as to why it
is so bad — no room left in this news sheet.



