* ¢ Club News Sheet — No. 50 10/10/2003 v A

Last week’s winners: Monday 6/10/03 Friday 10/10/03
I Jeff/Alex 63% I Jeff/Alex 62%
2 Clive/Ken  61% 2" Hans/Jan 61%

Well done Jeff/Alex. Perhaps you could try to remember your pair numbers next time? The management
have finally got the air conditioning working at Soi 4. Just 5 tables on Monday when we had 4 at the smaller
Friday club, perhaps the lack of air had something
to do with it? Anyway, numbers are on the up now and it will soon be peak season.

And what can we say about Arnold? Guess that America is fed up with cowboys and wants a real man? |
would not buy any shares in American colleges teaching politics — who needs an education in the USA? Brute
strength and ignorance? Whether it’s internal ‘elections’ or foreign policy, that’s all that counts, right? And, of
course, money (and oil).

Bidding Quiz

Hand A Hand B With Hand A you are playing 5 card majors. Partner
opens 1%, what is your response?

a 965 a 109

v Q93 v AQ With Hand B RHO opens 1 v, what is your bid?

¢+ K964 ¢ QJ532

® AS3 * AQJ6

Hand C Hand D With Hand C RHO opens 1a and you double. LHO
redoubles and this is passed round to you. What do

A 32 a A9 you do?

v K952 v AQJ7

¢+ AKQ ¢+ AKQ65 You are lucky enough to be dealt Hand D. What do

% J1085 103 you open?

Hand E Hand F With Hand E you are playing Standard American and
open 1. Partner responds INT. Do you bid on or pass?

A J743 A J652

v AK1072 # K103 With Hand F RHO opens 1&. What action, if any, do

* A8 ¢ A3 you take?

* KJ * AJ63

Hand G Hand H With Hand G partner opens a strong NT. Do you
transfer or use Stayman?

a KJ1085 a AK98

v AJ98 v AQ With Hand H partner opens 2 (weak, non-vul) in 2™

¢ A ¢+ A10984 seat. RHO overcalls 2a , what is your bid? Hint:

& 632 % 102 Do not double, that is penalties and you will not get rich.

At King Arthur’s Court

King Arthur’s chief chefhad a pet goldfish which he kept in a bowl on the kitchen scales. One unhappy
day the goldfish died and the chefput his arm into the bowl to retrieve the dead fish. He noticed that the
water level rose, but did the weight shown on the scales increase or not?



The Power of the 4-4 Fit Board 5 from Monday 6™

North South (G) West North East South

a AQ72 a KJ1085 - INT (1) pass 2 (2)
v KQ103 v AJ98 pass 2w pass 4e (3)
+ 876 * A pass pass pass

® A7 &% 632

(1) 15-17.

(2) Stayman. This is preferable to a transfer when 5-4 in the majors.
(3) It is not easy for South to investigate slam. Perhaps 4 ¢ (a cuebid/splinter/whatever)?

This was the bidding at two tables where N-S played a strong NT. South bid game when the fit was
uncovered and 12 tricks were made when #’s are trumps. Note that if you play in the 5-4 & fit, then this
makes one trick less. That is because the losing & can be tossed on a long a if ¥ ’s are trumps. That’s what
I keep saying, the 4-4 fit is golden and is sometimes even better than a 5-4 fit.

If South had transferred instead of using Stayman, then North would doubtless have super- accepted and
the w fit may have been lost.

Anyway, 4 pairs found the % fit on Friday (with just 1 pair in a silly 3NT — quite how you can miss two
enormous major suit fits is beyond me). Two pairs actually bid 6% (good stuff John/Dave, Don/Sid). 6% is
easier to reach playing Acol (as these two pairs do) as North opens 1% and South immediately thinks of
slam and has plenty of room to nvestigate. The ‘Fruit Machine’ Swiss convention, 4& by East showing a
sound raise to 4% plus two aces and a feature (in this case a singleton) would work admirably. Swiss is
mainly used by Acol players, Standard American players generally prefer the Jacoby 2NT convention. You
can, actually, play both — with Jacoby 2NT being stronger. Simply jumping into Blackwood works on this
deal of course.

As it happens with this hand, slam is always there (by means oftwo ¢ ruffs in the South hand), so 13
tricks are there in #’s but just 12 tricks in & ’s.



Inviting after Partner Opens with a Weak Two Board 14 from Friday 10, love all

North (H) South West North East South

a AK98 A2 - - pass 2¢ (1)
v AQ v K98743 2a 3v (2) pass pass

¢+ A10984 ¢+ Q7 pass

102 % J863

(1) Weak. The ‘body’ in the w suit makes this a pretty ideal pre-empt.
(2) I guess that this was meant as mvitational?

I was South and wound up making 11 tricks. Game is perhaps not certain from North’s point of view
(maybe it depends upon how sound your partner’s pre-empts are? Or perhaps how good a declarer he is?).
So, what went wrong?

If you play weak two’s then the 2 opening is pretty clear-cut. The 3w bid at (2) is simply raising the
pre-empt. Unlike when partner opens one of a suit, a raise of a pre-empt is always weak (unless you bid
game, of course, when it may be either weak or strong). If you play Ogust over weak twos then this is the
way to find out if partner is max or not; you have to decide if 2NT after a 2a overcall is still Ogust (I would
assume it was). Anyway, when partner opens a weak two, any new suit is natural and forcing, 2NT is Ogust,
3 of the major is pre-emptive and 4 of the major is to play (it may be weak or strong, only you know!) and
double (of 2a here) would be for penalties. With this particular North hand you could take the conservative
approach (bid 2NT) or simply bid 4% . [ prefer 4w.

So, fully expecting a bottom board (I was the first to play this board) I decided to write it up. Upon
inspecting the traveller at home I discovered that this was the only + score for N-S and so missing game
made no difference! What happened? One pair bid 4% but went two off; another pair played in 3 ¢ (minus
two) by North and the last table allowed West to buy the contract in 2a (making +2). Shame on you (you
last two anonymous pairs). | think the 2# opening is obvious so the final contract should be 3w or4e. 1
don’t have their bidding, perhaps it’s best kept a secret?



The 2NT opener Board 16 from Monday 6"

North (D) South Table A:

a A9 A J7653 West North East South

v AQJ7 v 1065 pass 2NT (1) pass 3v (2)
¢+ AKQ65 + 83 pass 3a pass 3NT (3)
& 102 % A74 all pass

(1) 20-22 Table B:

(2) transfer West North East South
(3) just5 a’s pass le all pass

First of all, the bidding. Whether you open the North hand 1 or 2NT is perhaps personal preference.
I would open 2NT. The bidding to game is then straightforward. At table B the game was missed. Anyone
to blame? Perhaps not, but I would never pass 1 ¢ with that South hand (but many would — I’m not going
mto that again). 3N'T was reached at 3 tables on Monday but 44 by North was reached at one. Obviously
via a transfer, but at (3) it is incorrect to bid 4a ; 3NT tells opener that you have 5 & ’s and gives him the
choice. Mind you, 3NT is by no means that good a contract and 1 ¢ will be better on a bad lie of the
card(s): -

So then, onto the play. Looks like everybody got it right as 3NT made on all 3 occasions. Ona &
lead you have to make a decision. It does not help to hold up, so win &A, and then what? If opponents
regain the lead then they will cash enough & tricks to set you. You will not get to dummy again, so tackle
the s or the w’s? This is all about the odds. The # finesse is 50% and the odds ofa 3-3 splitin s is
35%. You cannot combine the chances, so finesse. If the finesse fails, then you would have been better off

playingin 1 ¢!



When LHO Redoubles

When you double an opening bid this is generally for take-out with shortage in the suit bid. If LHO
redoubles and this is passed round to you, you are usually in trouble. LHO’s redouble has advertised the
balance of power and partner’s failure to act simply says that he does not have a 5 card suit to rescue you
mto. When the redouble is passed round to you, you cannot pass — that is asking for a huge minus. You must
bid; bid any 5 card suit, otherwise bid your cheapest 4 carder. Let’s look at two such disasters from
Monday 6" : -

Board 19 from Monday 6" , E-W vulnerable.

West 19 (C) RHO opened 1a and this hand doubled. Four % ’s and support for all
unbid suits — double is fine. LHO redoubled and this was passed round

A 32 to this hand — it passed! The opponents wrapped up an easy 9 tricks —
v K952 that is 920 away. 44 was bid at all the other tables. Whether 4 4 made
¢+ AKQ or not is irrelevant (it was marginal) — minus 920 is a cold bottom.

& J1085 This hand cannot pass the redouble, bid 2&. 2w is OK but [ prefer 2.

Board 1 from Monday 6" , Love all.

South 1 (F) RHO opened 14 and this hand doubled. Reasonable?

NO. A take-out double should be short in the suit bid and playable
A J652 in the other 3 suits. This hand should pass. The people who think
v K103 that you should double with any opening hand are 100 years out-of-
¢+ A3 date. This deal is an example of why. Partner did not have 4 a’s and
* AJ63 you are up the creek without a paddle. Even so, you cannot pass 1&

redoubled. It made + 3 for 830 away. Game by opponents was dicey, 3NT either made
or went one off.

The bottom line. Unless you are happy with conceding these huge scores when opponents cannot even make
game, then don’t double on unsuitable hands and do not pass redoubles.

How M any Points for Stayman? Board 2 from Friday 10*

When partner opens I1NT then 2& is Stayman, asking for a 4 card major suit. But how many points
does responder need to have to bid Stayman? The answer is that it depends. No, I am not a politician, that is
the correct answer. In principle, you need mvitational values to bid Stayman (so 8 pts if you play a Strong
NT and 11 pts if you play a weak NT). There are a few exceptions when you can bid ‘garbage’ Stayman
with lesser values. I have covered these in earlier news-sheets, but they are the exception rather than the rule.

West 2 This was my bidding partner’s hand on Friday. I opened 1NT and this Hand
bid 2&, Stayman. It would work out fine if opener bids 2 s, but the odds

a Q987  are against that! There is no recourse if partner bids 2 ¢ or 2. This hand

v 832 must pass 1NT. What happened? Partner bid 2 ¢ and this hand then bid

¢ K53 2NT. That is invitational, promising 8 pts when playing a strong NT. Luckily

& J43 partner (me) was minimum and so passed 2NT. 2NT went minus one. So a
bottom? Not quite, one E-W pair actually managed to bid to 3 a by East with

the 3-4 fit! How?? Anyway, do not bid Stayman unless you are happy with any reply.



Support with Support Board 8 from Monday 6™_

West (E) East (A) West (me)  North East (Hans) South
a J743 A 965 le (1) pass INT (2) pass
v AK1072  » Q93 pass (3) pass

¢ A8 + K964

« KJ % AS3

An easy game was missed (West actually made 10 tricks in NT). Who’s fault? Should West bid on
over INT? Did East make the incorrect response? Let’s see: -

(1) A semi-balanced 16 count. A strong N'T is worth considering, but it is generally accepted not to
open INT with 9 cards in the majors. Thus 1w is fine.
(2) A balanced 9 count so INT? No. With Qxx you should support partner’s 5 card major. INT is often a
‘courtesy bid’ and generally denies 3 card support, especially
Qxx! 2w is more constructive than INT and is certainly correct with 9 pts.
(3) Should West make a try (with 2NT)? Perhaps fairly close on first inspection, but not really. The raise
to 2NT shows 17-18 points. This is a reasonable 16 but no more; partner has denied three #’s to
the Q or J and the suits outside ¥ ’s all need downgrading. Pass is the only sensible bid.

But what if East had bid 2% at (2)? Then it’s a different story. With support opposite, this West hand
is worth a game try. 2NT is best and East should either bid 3NT or 4w . So, the bidding should be: -

le - 2% - 2NT - 3NT (or 4w ifyouprefer). The Moral: Do not suppress support for
opener’s major.

The Strong NT is Better?

Now in previous news-sheets I have indicated the superiority of the weak NT in various scenarios. It
is, of course, all swings and roundabouts. This sequence
Ix— INT — 2NT is not very satisfactory; the problem is that the 1NT bid may be anything from 6 pts to
a poor 10 pts. When you have a balanced 15 or 16 as opener you should pass, but you will occasionally
miss game. This is not usually a problem playing a strong NT as most 15-16 balanced hands would have
opened INT to start with. The exception, however, is the hand type we have here. With points for a
INT opening but with 5 w’s and 4 & ’s you have the problem. Tough. With 5 a’s and 4 ¥ ’s there is no
problem; open 1 a and rebid 2% . You cannot rebid 2a with the hand given as that would be a reverse,
forcing.

At King Arthur’s Court — Solution

The ‘weight” of the tank increases. Suppose his arm has a volume of 1000cc, then this displaces 1 litre
of water and the scales register an equivalent increase in weight. Another way of looking at it: - when you
put your arm (or whole body or whatever) into water, it weighs less, so where does the weight go?

Ian says that Merlin was correct about the three coins. Was he? I guess that a degree in maths says
nothing if I get something like this wrong? But did 1?



Overcall or Double or What? Board 12 from Monday 6™, N-S vul.

North South (B) West North East South
a AQJ84 A 109 pass pass le 2¢ (1)
v 33 v AQ pass pass (2) pass pass
+ K106 ¢ QJ532 pass

% 1085 % AQJ6

An easy 3NT game was missed. Who’s fault? I did not play this hand, but was called over by two
experienced players and asked to comment. I said not to tell me the complete bidding, but just give me
the hand in question. I was given the South hand and asked what to do over the 1 ¥ opening from RHO.

I overcalled INT. There was a pregnant silence! It appears that this bid had not come under
consideration. One thought that 2 ¢ was correct and the other thought that the South hand should double.

First of all, let’s clear double out of the way. A double of 1 ¥ usually promises 4 a’s or a very good
hand (such that you bid again if partner responds in & ’s). This is not a very good hand and cannot
double. This hand is nowhere near strong enough to double and then bid ¢ ’s; and double followed by
NT shows 19+ points.

So then, 2 ¢ ? N-S were vulnerable and so this should show a decent hand. A vulnerable 2 level
overcall should be close to an opening bid. What’s more, it is usually a 6 card suit or a good 5 carder
(especially if a minor). This & suit is miserable. With the points outside #’s, 2 ¢ is a very poor bid. Not as
bad as double, but not far off.

INT is the obvious overcall. This shows 15-18 points and guarantees stopper(s) in the suit bid. As with
INT openers, a INT overcall does not guarantee a stopper in every suit, this a4 holding is fine. The INT
overcall stands out a mile. Unlike 1NT openers, INT overcalls may sometimes be a little unbalanced as
long as they contain stopper(s) in the bid suit. Many people would even open this South hand with a strong
NT.

At this juncture, Hans wandered over. Upon hearing that I had said to overcall INT he said that 2 ¢ is
the correct bid and that you should not overcall INT with a weak doubleton. I’ll be diplomatic for once —
no further comment. Just read Marty Bergen.

Anyway, if you overcall INT then game is easily reached. Playing transfers it goes: (after the 1w
opening) - INT - 2w (xfer) - 24 - 3NT - pass. Easy.

After a 2 ¢ overcall it is not so easy. Should North bid 24 ? Is 2a forcing? Should North jump to 3
a ? Or perhaps cue bid? Or pass? If North bids 2a and South bids 2NT is that forcing? How many
points does it show? There are no clear-cut answers to most of these questions and they are partnership
agreements. It’s so much easier after a INT overcall isn’t it? If you can bid your hand in one go, do so.

And what happened at the other tables? It was played 4 times and nobody bid game. Guess people
need to read up on the INT overcall?

Bidding Quiz Solutions Hand A:  2w. Better than INT when playing 5 card majors
Hand B:  INT. Semi-balanced with ¥ stop(s)
Hand C:  Bid 2& (or 2w ). Do not pass.
Hand D:  Iprefer 2NT, but 1 ¢ is equally good. Not good enough for a strong 2 ¢ .
Hand E: Pass. Not good enough for 2NT.
Hand F: Pass. With length in their suit and not enough for a INT overcall, do not dbl.
Hand G: 2& Stayman. It’s best not to transfer when 5-4 (or 4-5) in the majors.
Hand H:  Are you a man or a mouse? Bid 4% . If you play Ogust then a
pessimistic 2N T is acceptable. 3w is weak, not mvitational.



