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Club News Sheet – No. 112
      24/12/2004         (  (
Monday 20/12/04
N-S winners
E-W winners 
   
 

1st  Kenneth/David
61 %
1st  
Gerard/Derek
61 %


2nd 
Knut/Olav

60 %
2nd 
Mike(Can)/Kees
56 %

Wednesday 22/12/04
N-S winners
E-W winners 
   
 

1st  Clive/Terry
62 %
1st  
Gerard/Derek
66 %


2nd Bjorn/Kees
54 %
2nd 
Jeff/Perry
57 %

Friday 24/12/04
1st 
Ursula/David
58 %
2nd 
Gerard/Derek
56 %


Looks like Ursula/David prevented Gerard/Derek from getting the grand slam trophy.
Bidding Quiz
            Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated.
Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A partner opens 1( and you bid 1(. Partner then 


bids 2(, what do you do?

( K872
( 9863




( J97
( K1094


( QJ654
( 83
With Hand B partner opens 1NT, what do you do? 


 

( 6
( Q96

Hand C
Hand D

With Hand C RHO opens 1(, what do you do?

( KQ108
( KJ5
What do you open with Hand D?


( K5
( 52



( KJ984
( QJ4



( 65
( AKJ42
With Hand E LHO opens 1( and partner bids 1(, what


do you do?

Hand E
Hand F



(a) What do you open with Hand F?

( A542
( Q
Suppose you open 1(, then what do you rebid if …


( Q762
( AQ82 
(b)
Partner responds 1(?

( Q3
( AK3
(c)
Partner responds 1(?

( Q74
( A8742
(d)
Partner responds 1(?

Hand G
Hand H
Do you open Hand G?

( Q72
( KQJ104


( AJ763
( A5
Do you open in 2nd seat with Hand H?

( A1062
( 43


( 5
( 8542



With Hand J you open 1NT and partner responds 3(. Your 

Hand J
Hand K
partnership plays this as a good 6+ card ( suit, with slam



interest. So what do you bid? 

( KJ52
( A84




( A94
( K82
With Hand K partner opens 1NT, what do you bid.


( AK105
( QJ6





( Q5
( 10643   




Never deny a 4 card major


Board 14 from Wednesday 15th 

Dealer:
( KQ108



East
( K5
West 

North (C)
East 
South (E) 

Love all 
( KJ984
-

-



pass

pass


( 65
1(

1(
(1)
pass

1NT
(2)


all pass

( 763
 N
( J9



( A8
   W    E
( J10943




( A102
 S
( 765

‘Expert Table’

( A10983
( KJ2

West 


North 

East 
South (E)


( A542


-



-


pass
pass


( Q762
 

1(



1(
(1)
pass
1(
(2)


( Q3


pass

1(


pass
2(
(3)


( Q74
all pass

(1)
What did you do with this North Hand C in this week’s quiz? Double is wrong because you cannot cope with a 1( response from partner – a 1( rebid would then show a much better hand, one that was too strong to simply overcall 1(. A 1( overcall is correct, this does not deny a 4 card major. 

(2)
And what did you do with this South Hand E in this week’s quiz? You have enough to bid and should bid 1(. A 1NT bid is incorrect as it denies a 4 card major.

(3)
When partner bids (’s this hand is worth another bid.

And what happened? 1NT made exactly (of course it should go one down on the ‘obvious’ ( lead) but scored badly anyway as 2( was either making or making +1 at other tables.

The bottom lines: -

-
An overcall does not deny a 4 card major.

-
If partner overcalls and you wish to bid, do not deny an unbid major.

Don’t pre-empt and then bid again
Board 8 from Friday 17th 

How many times do I say the same thing over and over again in the news-sheets? And the culprit here most certainly reads them – shame it’s in one ear (eye) and out the other.
Dealer:
( AKQ985



West
( AK953
West
 
North 
East 
South


Love all 
( 9
4(
(1)
4(
(2)

pass

pass 



( 8
5(
(3)
5(
(4)
all pass



( 4
 N
( J652



( 4
   W    E
( 1072




( AQJ106532
 S
( 87



( A73
( QJ54




( 107





( QJ86
 




( K4





( K10962


(1) 
What would you open with this West Hand ? It’s a matter of style but 5( is probably best. I would not argue with 4(, 1( or even a strong 2(. 

(2)
The pre-empt has made it difficult for North. He did not wish to double in case partner passed and so had little choice but 4(.

(3)
This 5( bid is ridiculous, especially with me leaning over your shoulder. If you think it’s worth 5( (I won’t argue) then bid it first go. This 2nd bid allows N-S to find the best contract.

(4) And that they did.

And what happened? 5( made exactly (as would 4( which thus scores less). Some West’s did not pre-empt and so N-S played in just 4( at three tables.

The bottom lines: -

-
Pre-empt to the limit first go.

-
Do not bid again having pre-empted.

-
4( (and 4() are rarely used as pre-empts and I prefer to play Namyats.

Regular Psyching
Board 17 from Wednesday 22nd, love all

We all know the club rules – no psyching please. Now you may recall that Thorlief was banned from the club partly because of his repeated psyching (he maintains that he can bid whatever he likes whenever he likes – not at my club). He was actually evicted when he punched somebody in the club. Now the Wednesday club is not strictly under my control and he has made an unwelcome appearance. Instead of keeping a low profile, he again psyches!

North (J)
South (K)


Table A

West
North

East
South 
( KJ52
( A84


-

1NT

pass

3NT
(1)

( A94
( K82

all pass

( AK105
( QJ6





( Q5
( 10643
Table B


West
North
East

South


-
1NT
pass
3(
(1)


pass
3NT
all pass




Table A:
Pretty obvious bidding, and that at most tables playing a strong NT.

Table B:
But not at Thorlief’s table, he found a 3( bid at (1). Now East held (AJ952 and asked North what the 3( bid was, North replied that it was a long (6+) strong suit, with slam aspirations. This, indeed, is probably the most common meaning of the bid. The bid here had the intended effect of inhibiting the otherwise obvious ( lead and East was understandably peeved when he saw dummy. He asked South for an explanation and South rudely said that he refused to say anything. East correctly reported the incident to me.

And what happened? E-W were awarded the extra trick that was obtained at other tables when a ( was led. N-S were given a zero on the board.

The bottom lines: -

-
Many players at the club are inexperienced and cannot cope with psyches. Psyching is discouraged. Repeated Psyches will always receive a zero score.

-
Players who repeatedly psyche will be barred from the Monday/Friday club and I will also use my (considerable) influence to get them banned from the Wednesday club.

-
Alex’s partners should heed this.

Cheating again?

Now let’s look into this incident a little deeper and consider the North Hand J. What did you bid in this week’s quiz? It is maximum with an excellent card in partner’s 6+ card suit and should most certainly cooperate in the search for slam. So why did this North not bid, say, a 3( cue bid? 3NT is the weakest possible bid, there is no logical explanation from an experienced player unless he knows that his partner psyches in these situations?

If this latter hypothesis is true then that is cheating and is most certainly not allowed in any club; the pair (Alex/Thorlief) will be closely monitored and will members please report dubious tactics to me (psyching, bidding after partner’s long pause etc. - also by Alex/Jeff).

The bottom line. You are not allowed to make an inferior bid because you think that partner may be psyching. This is ‘fielding’ the psyche and is against the rules.

An Easy game missed
Board 6 from Wednesday 22nd, E-W vul

North 
South (H)


Table A

West
North

East
South 
( 8765
( KQJ104


-

-

pass

pass
(1)

( K92
( A5

pass

1(


pass

1(
( AQJ2
( 43


pass

2(
(2)
pass


pass
(3)

( K7
( 8542



Table B


West
North
East

South (me)


-
-
pass
1(
(1)


pass
2NT (3)
pass
4(
(4) 


all pass



Table A:
Fairly obvious up to (3). Now when the hand was over (making 10 tricks) South 

apparently criticized North’s 2( bid, saying he should bid 3(. Obviously total nonsense, North’s bidding is beyond reproach; with this great suit South should simply bid 4( at (3).

Table B:
So did you open this South Hand H in this week’s quiz? I did. If you simply add up the points it’s ten and so totals just 19 for the rule of 20. But (KQJ10x is not 6 points, it’s more like 8. A comfortable opener in my book.


2NT (3) is the Jacoby 2NT and 4( (4) shows a minimum opener with no shortage.

And what happened? 4( was bid at 4 tables out of six and easily made. 

The bottom line.  KQJ10x is more than 6 points!

The Jacoby 2NT

The Jacoby 2NT convention is used primarily in 5 card major systems when partner has opened 1(/(. Traditionally a 2NT bid is a balanced 11-12, but this can always be bid after first bidding something else and so the direct 2NT bid is free as a conventional bid.

The Jacoby 2NT bid promises 4 card support for partner’s major and is generally around 13-16 points. It asks partner to describe his hand further. There are various versions of responses to this artificial 2NT bid, probably the best (and most popular) is : -

After 1( - 2NT
After 1( - 2NT

3(
=
( shortage

3(
=
( shortage

3(
=
( shortage

3(

=
( shortage

3(
=
good hand with no shortage

3(

=
( shortage

3(
=
( shortage

3(

=
good hand with no shortage

3NT
=
average hand with no shortage

3NT
=
average hand with no shortage

4(
=
a 5 card ( suit

4(

=
a 5 card ( suit

4(
=
a 5 card ( suit

4(

=
a 5 card ( suit

4(
=
poor hand with no shortage 

4(

=
a 5 card ( suit


(fast arrival)

4(
=
poor hand with no shortage


(fast arrival)

All subsequent sequences are game forcing, a suit bid being be a cue bid. A shortage bid may be a singleton or void. A subsequent cue bid of a shortage suit would show a void. A good 5 card 2nd suit is bid in preference to showing a singleton.

2( by whom?

Board 10 from Friday 24th 

Dealer:
( KJ5

Table A
East
( 52
West (G)
 North (D) 
East 
South (B)

both vul 
( QJ4
-

-



pass

pass


( AKJ42
pass
(1)
1NT
 (2)
pass

2(
(3)


pass

2(

pass
pass
(4)

( Q72
 N
( A104

pass

( AJ763
   W    E
( Q8




( A1062
 S
( K975

Table B

( 5
( 10873

West
 

North 
 
East 
South 


( 9863


-



-


pass
pass


( K1094
 

1(

(1)
2(
(5)
2(
(6)
pass


( 83


pass
(7)
pass 


( Q96


Table A:
(1) Did you open this West hand G in this week’s quiz? It’s a borderline opener, 

pass is OK but it conforms with the rule of 20. I would open 1( as there is an easy 2( rebid, and 3rd seat is an additional incentive to open ‘light’.

(2)
What did you open with this North hand D in this week’s quiz? 1NT is best, if you open 1( then you have no sensible rebid (other than a rather unsatisfactory 2() over partner’s expected 1(.

(3) And what did you bid with this South hand B in this week’s quiz? Obviously you must pass; if you bid 2( Stayman then that will work out fine if partner responds 2( or 2(, but what if he bids 2(? …

(4)
See what I mean. A silly 3-2 fit and it could have been worse (2-2). To bid 2( or 2( here is weak but promises a 5 card suit.

Table B:
(1)
This West chose to open, so would I.


(5)
A 2( overcall is best with this North hand.

(6)
Sometimes you have to stretch when there is interference and I think that 2( here is OK from a passed hand.

(7)
And opposite a passed partner West can happily pass.

And what happened? 2( by North went two down for a virtual bottom. 2( by East made or made +2 at other tables.

The bottom lines: -

-
Generally speaking you need invitational values (so 8+) to bid Stayman.

-
There are just two exceptions when you can bid Stayman with less: -

(a)
weak 4441 type hands (short (’s) when you pass any response.
(b)
weak hands 5-4 or 4-5 in the majors, when you pass a 2(/( response and convert a 2( response into your 5 card major.

Is a reverse forcing?

Board 24 from Friday 24th 

Dealer:
( 109543

Table A
West
( 4
West
 
North 
East (F)
South 

Love all 
( 10875
pass

pass



1(

pass


( K105
1(
(1)
pass

2( (2)
pass


2NT
(3)
pass

3NT
all pass


( K872
 N
( Q



( J975
   W    E
( AQ82




( QJ64
 S
( AK3

Table B

( 6
( A8742

West
 

North 
 
East 
South 


( AJ6


pass


pass
1(

pass


( K1063
 

1(

(1)
pass

2(
(4)
pass


( 92


3(
(5)
pass 

4(
(6)
all pass


( QJ93


Table A:
(1) It’s a matter of style/system if you respond 1( or 1( here.

(2)
A reverse. Again, it’s a matter of style/system if you play a reverse as forcing after a one level response. In Standard American it is forcing.

(3)
This 2NT bid is obviously wrong, what happened is that West had his hand mis-sorted and was looking at (K872 ( J97 ( QJ654 (6 (Hand A in this week’s quiz). So what did you bid with Hand A in the quiz at (3)? I would still bid 3(! A Moysian fit should play well when you can ruff (’s with the short trump hand.

Table B:
(1)
This West chose to respond 1(, fine.

(4)
What an underbid! I would bid 4( or else a 3( splinter.

(5)
Pass is a very real option here. Luckily for East this player chose to bid on.

(6)
And East finally bid the game.

And what happened? 3NT went two down. 4( was bid at most tables; it should make despite the bad break and (K offside. It made plus one at one table but went minus one at others.

The bottom lines: -

-
A 19 point hand with 4 card support for partner’s major is worth more than a simple raise, jump to game if there is no shortage to splinter.

Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
3( or 2NT. Whether or not you play partner’s reverse as forcing this hand is worth another bid. Partner has just 4 (’s but with a singleton ( and thus the possibility of ruffing (’s in the short trump hand the Moysian fit should play well. Thus I would bid 3(, but 2NT is obviously very reasonable and is what I suspect most of you chose?

Hand B:
Pass. You cannot cope with a 2( response if you try Stayman.

Hand C
1(. Double is a poor option as you are fixed over a 1( response. A 1( overcall here is not denying a 4 card major.

Hand D:
1NT. If you open 1( then what do you rebid over a 1( reply? A 2( rebid is possible but does not show the strength/shape of the hand. A good rule is that if you can describe your hand accurately with one bid – do so.

Hand E:
1(. You certainly have enough to bid and partner’s overcall does not deny a 4 card major. 1NT is a very poor bid as the ( ‘stop’ is poor and you may miss a major suit fit.

Hand F:
(a)
1(. It’s not good enough for a strong opening.


(b)
2(. A reverse and showing a good 16+ points. This is a very good hand and 


partner’s 1( response has improved it, so bidding 2( is risky if partner may pass it; but a reverse is forcing in Standard American.


(c)
4( or a 3( splinter. This hand is certainly worth game after a 4-4 ( fit is 
discovered.


(d)
2NT. This shows 18-19 points, fine. 2( would be a (forcing) reverse but is 

pointless as partner has (generally) denied (’s. 3NT is ‘incorrect’ as most experienced pairs play this as showing a good hand with a long (semi)solid  ( suit.

Hand G:
1(. It conforms with the rule of 20 and with an easy 2( rebid is a sound 1( opener
 
in 1st, 2nd or 3rd seat. I may pass in 4th seat.

Hand H:
1(. If you add up the ‘points’ and two longest suits it’s only 19 and so does not conform to the rule of 20. But (KQJ10x is not just six points, it’s well worth an opener in any seat.

Hand J:
3(. Partner’s bid shows an excellent 6+ card ( suit, you are maximum with an excellent card in (’s and should cue bid the (A in search of the best slam. 3NT is not correct as it shows a minimum and/or very weak (’s.

Hand K:
3NT, of course.
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