Our website is www.pattayabridge.com Club News Sheet – No. 470
Our blogsite is www.pattayabridge.wordpress.com
My mobile phone number is 083 6066880 20th Nov 2011
My e-mail is firstname.lastname@example.org or email@example.com
My Windows Live Messenger is firstname.lastname@example.org
Mon 14th N-S 1st Hans V & Johan 60% 2nd Jean & Fred-Arne 55%
E-W 1st Bob S & Gus 59% 2nd Gerard & Derek 58%
Wed 16th N-S 1st Peter L & Dino 60% 2nd Dave C & Paul Sc 54%
E-W 1st Alan K & Jan 62% 2nd Jeremy & Sigurd 60%
Fri 18th N-S 1st Jean & Claus 60% 2nd Bob S & Robbie 60%
E-W 1st Svein & Arnt 59% 2nd Paul Sc & Gus 58%
Bidding Quiz Standard American (short ♣) bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.
Hand A Hand B With Hand A you open 1♣ and partner bids 1♥, what is your rebid?
♠ QJ4 ♠ QJ4
♥ 3 ♥ 3 With Hand B (here you have the ♦A instead of the ♦Q) you open
♦ Q43 ♦ A43 1♣ and partner bids 1♥, what is your rebid this time?
♣ AKQJ64 ♣ AKQJ64
Bidding Sequence Quiz
C 1♣ pass 1♥ pass
3♣ Is the jump to 3♣ forcing?
Current club championship standings
Gold Cup = Best 30
Silver Plate = Best 10
Bronze Medal = Best 5
1874.6 Hans Vikman
658.0 Hans Vikman
335.5 Bob Short
Another look at this board from last week Board 27 from Friday 11th Nov
Dealer: ♠ 106 Table A
South ♥ KQ72 West North East South(A)
Love all ♦ AK5 - - - 1♣
♣ 10985 pass 1♥ pass 3♣ (1)
pass 3♦ (2) pass 3NT (3)
♠ A8732 N ♠ K95 pass 4♣ (4) pass 5♣ (5)
♥ 1098 W E ♥ AJ654 pass 6♣ (6) all pass
♦ 1082 S ♦ J976
♣ 73 ♣ 2
Table A: (1) What did you bid with this South hand A in this week’s quiz? To me this jump
to 3♣ is so obvious that I did not even bother to mention it last week. But read on…
(2) This North, a very experienced player, found the 3♦ bid that I mentioned last week.
(3) And of course South was delighted to bid 3NT.
(4) But North was ‘looking’ for slam!
(5) What the hell is going on?
(6) So it looks like North was bidding slam regardless.
And what happened? 6♣-2 was a total bottom, 3NT+1 three times was the joint top.
The bottom lines:
♠ 109853 Bidding
♥ K1052 West North East South
♦ 1052 2NT pass 3NT dbl
♣ 9 all pass
You are North, what does partner’s double mean and what do you lead?
Dave’s Column Answer Board 4 from Wednesday 16th Nov
Dealer: ♠ 109853 Bidding
West ♥ K1052 West North East South
Both vul ♦ 1052 2NT pass 3NT dbl
♣ 9 all pass
♠ AK2 N ♠ QJ7
♥ AQ6 W E ♥ J87
♦ KQJ9 S ♦ 8764
♣ K52 ♣ 764
What the author says:
When partner doubles 3NT with no suits bid, nine times out of ten partner has a solid suit, usually a major, and is asking you to lead that suit. Partner is also allowed to double 3NT with a strong one loser suit plus an outside entry, such as the South hand here. The question is, can you work out from the North hand which suit to lead?
♥’s are out, your ♥’s are too strong. Although it is possible that partner has five solid ♠’s, it is unlikely as South would probably run from the double with nothing in ♠’s.
You are reduced to ♣’s and ♦’s and the rule of thumb is to lead the shorter suit.
What others say:
To me (Terry) this is a somewhat manufactures problem (with a North hand that ‘makes it easy’) and, not surprisingly, nobody at the club doubled. It is not that easy to research this topic on the internet but this is what Eric Crowhurst says: Some play that the double demands a ♠ lead; probably there is a slight improvement in showing either ♥’s or ♠’s as the opponents have denied interest in a major, and partner should lead his weakest major.
I did find this on the internet: ‘Chemla, a former world team champion, doubled to ask for a heart lead and was not pleased when his partner produced the spade ace.’
Also, there is no guarantee that a ♣ lead will set the contract, declarer may well have 8 tricks plus the ♣K.
So it seems to me (Terry) that all of the club got it right – it is far too dangerous to double 3NT in the hope that partner can find your suit and that you can set the contract.
Dave’s 2nd Column
♥ 6 West North East South
♦ 765 - - - 1♠
♣AQ43 pass 2♦ 2♥ ?
You are South, what do you bid?
Dave’s 2nd Column Answer Board 7 from Wednesday 16th Nov.
Dealer: ♠ 92 Bidding
South ♥ KQ105 West North East South
both vul ♦ AQ1092 - - - 1♠
♣ 97 pass 2♦ 2♥ ?
♠ 86 N ♠ QJ74
♥ 84 W E ♥ AJ9732
♦ K843 S ♦ J
♣ J10652 ♣ K8
Partner’s change of suit is forcing but if there is interference, you are no longer obliged to bid. You are also not obliged to pass. If you have a sound descriptive action, you may take it even with minimum values.
South’s rational choices include pass, 3♦ or double (if used for take-out). A 3♣ bid is definitely an overbid as it indicates 16+ points and is forcing to game.
In my (the author’s) opinion the best of these actions is double…
… the author then goes on in a verbose way to say how well this works…
Terry note: This is another dubious problem as I, and I believe the majority of players, play that the double here sitting over the overcaller is penalties. So the choices are between pass, 3♦, and 3♣ (if you play that as not showing extras over a two-level response - as some do).
Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A: 3♣. This was the bid found by everybody, I believe, and is fairly clear unless you think the hand is worth 3NT.
Hand B: 3NT. With a little more and a stop in the two unbid suits, most players these days bid 3NT when holding a long solid minor.
Bidding Sequence Quiz Answers
C 1♣ pass 1♥ pass
3♣ 3♣ here is invitational of course.